Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > DURA-TEC 10'4 by BIC SUP > Reviews Add A Review

Add a Review - WIN a SUP Boards

Reviews for DURA-TEC 10'4 by BIC SUP



BIC SUP DURA-TEC 10'4 photo
Manufacturer's
Description:

Our all-conditions, multi-purpose SUP, ideal for riders up to 180lbs.

The 10'4" DURA-TEC inspires confidence for beginners on flat water as wel ...
read more & see specs

 4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: drab on 2014-07-19
Summary: I bought a pari of these for my daughters to use in the lake behind my parent's house. The kids take them out when they have friends over. For that situation they are great. Very durable, and just don't have to worry about it. It does get little dents in the plastic relatively easy. They are purely cosmetic. You don't have to worry about cracks and dings that might need attention. I weigh just under 180 and can use it, though it does sink down pretty low.

Pros: Durable, Not expensive
Cons: Heavy, dents
Usage: Playing around in the lake. A glorified swim toy.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Shirley on 2014-07-10
Summary: My husband and I have owned Bic Duratec boards now for a year and absolutely love them.

Pros: This board is stable (even with kids riding on the front) and durable.
Cons: I wish mine was a little lighter.
Usage: I have had it in lakes and rivers.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: IA on 2014-07-10
Summary: Bought this board to use pretty much all around. I've had it out on flat water a few times, and am hoping to take it on some slow moving water soon. It seems pretty stable, and I'm pushing the max weight limit. Had it recently at the lake for a family picnic, and it was used from the youngest kid, 8, up to a 49 year old man, and everyone in between.

Pros: Not super heavy Wide and stable Seems pretty durable, kids ran into some rocks and it didn't scratch or anything
Cons: Cargo straps in the front would be nice
Usage: Used it touring on flat water so far



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: EJS on 2014-07-06
Summary: Rented a BIC SUP paddle board at the Westin Resorts on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. It was Thursday, July 3, 2014 and a tropical storm was due in late in the evening. It turned out to be Hurricane Arthur. which ended up landing north at Hatteras and Nags Head, North Carolina.

Pros: It was very easy to get on to the board in deep water and was able to get through big waves to get out to the deeper water. It was my first time on a paddle board and I found it difficult to stand up and maintain my balance against the waves. However, I was able to kneel and paddle through very high waves without falling off.
Cons: It was difficult to handle in big waves and winds after riding ashore, but probably would have been much better with less wind and smaller waves. Also, since I spent most of my time on two knees on the board my knees started to get a little sore.
Usage: 4 hours on surf.



3 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Lou on 2014-07-02
Summary: I actually rented this board in Cozumel for a couple of hours. It was VERY heavy and hard to handle, plus it seemed a bit difficult to find the sweet spot.

Pros: It is a very durable SUP board.
Cons: Too heavy. Hard to handle, and not as buoyant as I thought it should be.
Usage: exercise and just cruising around the Cozumel lagoon



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Jim R. on 2014-06-27
Summary: I recently tried this board out. As a beginner I found it comfortable and easy to handle. It is not the fastest board out there but pretty good for flat water and rivers and for folks working on beginner technique.

Usage: Exercise and some light touring.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Joe Dickinson on 2014-06-19
Summary: SOLID board to say the least! If you are looking for a really well-rounded, versatile, and very durable board, this is the one for you! Also really good for rentals as well! You won't be dissapointed with this board if you are looking for an entry to intermediate level board. It is also surprisingly light for how durable it is!

Pros: Durable Nice price Smooth riding Stable Frame
Cons: A tiny bit heavy if compared to some other boards
Usage: Touring and Exercise!



3 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Dawnlive2travel on 2014-05-21
Summary: I rented the board while visiting the Keys, Islamarada, Florida. The board was light and easy to maneuver but when in the channel it was harder to keep it balanced especially when there was boat traffic.

Pros: I liked the storage bungee cord on the front of the board and lightness of the board.
Cons: It was unsteady in a currents and boat traffic where a wider board was not.
Usage: Touring



3 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: T Lang on 2014-05-13
Summary: This is a great board for all levels of paddlers, providing a smooth ride and a stable platform for those windy days out on the lake. I like the durable construction and overall style of the Bics

Pros: Stability, durability and balance
Cons: Foot grip pad stains easily
Usage: Recreational paddling, and exercise



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Sigh Owens on 2014-04-21
Summary: These boards are made like the traditional acs surfboards: very robust and heavy. The board is built to last and take a beating. The buoyancy is great, and this particular board has a decent rocker and well formed nose which helps when cutting trough or ridding waves. Overall, it is a decent board for the price (800 dollars or so). Like its surf predecessors, one can loan it out to a friend and not worry about the board. It is very stable and great to play around on with friends who lack an innate predilection for the water. My one complaint about the board and most all Bic acs boards is that it pressure dings way too easily, it is more of a cosmetic issue than anything else since it doesn't affect the board's performance. Good board overall.

Pros: Buoyant, somewhat maneuverable. versatile.
Cons: Heavy, pressure dings way too easily.
Usage: Ocean, lake, bay, rivers with class 1 rapids, messing around with friends on a warm lazy day.



3 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Pete on 2014-04-03
Summary: Good beginner model, good float, nearly indestructible.

Pros: Good flotation, turns quick
Cons: heavy, tracking isn't great
Usage: messing around in the surf



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: curt ryan on 2014-03-31
Summary: An ultra durable,fun and stable entry to the world of sup. The bic is as at home in the waves as it is on the flat and solid platform for the paddle out.

Pros: The bic has a sensible price tag,without feeling as delicate as other sups on the market.
Cons: Its a little on the heavy side.
Usage: Exersise,surf.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: kathy on 2014-03-20
Summary: I brought my ex demo board,it live in my hall way and just fits..I carry it to the beach via some shoulder straps,which is just manageable!

Pros: I like it because its tough and can be used by family,its a good length for us too
Cons: its heavy!
Usage: I'm using it on the sea at moment but will take to river and hopefully do a few races for fun..going to just enjoy it.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Ravenlocks on 2012-06-11
Summary: Recently purchased the BIC SUP 10'4 to get into the sport of SUP. The price was right/was marked down nearly 1/2 off the retail price due to small manufacture flaws from a local dealer-which have NOT interferred with use/performance. Have used it (2) times thus far. Once on flat water & once on a more choppy day. Was able to quickly master it/balance without falling. Able to paddle straight/lean into turns & beginning to do maneuvers such as yoga & standing on the tail to elevate the nose.

Pros: Price. Ease of use for a beginner/stability. Maneuverability. Size/weight for transport.
Cons: Found that the fin tangles while paddling in weedy bays & makes paddling difficult. Will be getting a replacement fin specifically to aid in paddling in weedy areas.
Usage: Flatwater touring. Surfing on windy days.















Win a SUP
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.