Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > Touring by Kitson Boards, LLC > Reviews Add A Review


Reviews for Touring by Kitson Boards, LLC



Kitson Boards, LLC Touring photo5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: John M on 2014-07-26
Summary: Very fun, fast and stable. I paddle 2-3 times a week on Puget Sound, Wa. So far this year, I haven't put my kayak in the water. The only thing I miss is rolling the kayak, haven't figured out this trick on a SUP yet. So much more to see when standing above the water than when sitting on the water particularly at low tide. I've even used it to pull crab pots. At approximately 30 lbs and the pop up handle it's easy to carry.

Pros: Fast, stable and lightweight
Cons: No big deal but shouldn't sit out in the direct Sun for extended periods without loosening the vent plug
Usage: Excercise, touring, crabbing



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Sam Caruso on 2014-07-16
Summary: The best thing about Kitson boards is the people. I highly recommend calling in and asking any question regarding SUPs. If possible stop by. I was impressed with a factory tour and a 25 minute demo with Logan. Logan is super informed on the sport of SUP and Kitson boards. Pretty fun. I purchased two touring boards and am looking forward to a surf model in a couple weeks.

Pros: I enjoy the endurance aspect of the sport. The MT30 is perfect for longer flat water tours. It rides low in the water and is super fast. I now own 5 SUPs, one nice fiberglass, one really nice poly board and a couple foam boards for the kids to thrash. To own a Carbon Fiber SUP at such an affordable price is truly a gift. Watching the water displace off the front of the board is awesome. The MT30 has a Vshape comparable to my boat, it shreds through the water.
Cons: The MT30 is slightly more narrow than what i was used to. At first it felt a little tippy. After two or three tours i became comfortable on the board and realized with a little forward motion the board becomes much more stable..(as any board)
Usage: 3 to 6 mile tours on the river, I like going for at least an hour when possible. I am working toward longer tours. I would feel comfortable on this board for several hours.



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: bm on 2014-06-25
Summary: wow this guy is in the wrong business. having been introduced to this company by a fellow professional boarder who mentioned this guy gleaned the SUP idea from his brother, I became curious when having the opportunity to use one. first thing is this board appears to be manufactured in two different facilities. stock must be coming from elsewhere and these guys appear to be slowly learning about plastics and lamination. when I first looked at it I thought very crude and poorly built. it was coming apart and was apparently overpriced. this thing after four uses of maybe an hour total, literally began to peel apart. in addition to this it steered like a tank. cant even explain how much water it took on as well, like seriously dangerous! glad my kid didn't use it. we then thought that we would try to get a repair or replacement we were totally ignored by both the owner and the office staff. thinking oh damn we have a shyster in our mist! not surprised after hearing a bit of the story further from my buddy. this guy apparently has an office in a makeshift garage of his home and primarily imports Chinese materials and presents an "all American" persona when in fact he likes to import and make minor modifications to "customize". the funny thing is that this guy is a Canadian who can't get citizenship! it looks like he operates online business with limited staff and experience and has some kid from local college and board enthusiast do his "design". if you are looking for a good board stick to the real pros and do not be fooled by nonsense.

Manufacturer's Response:
Upon reading this review I asked Paddling.net to ask the author to contact me. I was deeply concerned that we may have produced a substandard board and not handled the customer properly. According to Paddling.net the author refused to talk to me about their complaint. Briefly, lets go through this post. It is true that we contacted many engineers and material scientists about making the boards. None of which were my brother. Kitson Boards factory is located on Marine Drive, which is on the waterfront of Olympia, WA. The research and development was completed elsewhere in Olympia, WA. There are lots of pictures which validate and show the complete manufacturing process of our carbon fiber paddleboards on www.kitsonboards.com and if you need more we can easily provide them. There will be a video of the factory, soon on the site as well. If a person wanted to come to the factory we offer tours to educate and show the process. Pure and simple 98% of the board is made from American components and 100% of the labor. Our paddleboards are designed by engineers of various ages. We guarantee our paddle boards against manufacturing defect for one year. I don't recall ever having a report of someone being put into danger, as I take this business very seriously, as well as the safety of our customers. We have had all ages of individuals very happy with our product. Virtually everyone that demos our paddleboards buys them. It is true I am a Canadian, I have a Green Card and will be a US Citizen in one year and have lived in the United States for over 20 years. If you have any comments or suggestions please contact me. Mike Kitson 360-878-9526

Cons: poor quality and takes on water!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: DW on 2014-05-23
Summary: Good stable board that seems to handle conditions well. I have taken this board out in some pretty strong winds with decent chop and it has tracked well. Light weight and durable, easy to paddle, and fun to ride.

Pros: Light weight, hollow body, good stability
Usage: Exercise, touring



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Kurtis on 2014-05-22
Summary: rented paddle boards a few times and ended up buying one of these bad boys and have been very satisfied!

Pros: stability and relatively fast. Holds enough gear for my touring needs. Light weight and durability!
Cons: Would like more color but carbon fiber looks flashy by itself!
Usage: exercise/touring



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Susan K on 2014-05-19
Summary: I decided to purchase a paddleboard for my daughter who has balance problems to help her with this issue. We were able to order one in with her favorite color pink for the logo. She was thrilled to get it and thinks it is awesome. We both love that it is complete made here in US. My experience getting the board was so amazing that I bought one for myself. Since my purchase I was offered a job at Kitson Boards. Not only are the paddleboards top of the line and light weight, but they are made in Olympia WA. I am so happy to recommend them as they are Employing Americans!

Pros: Customization colors are available. They are super stable and so light that my daughter can lift it up easily.
Usage: Recreational. Great exercise!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Cousin Vinny on 2014-05-17
Summary: This was a lovely experience like walking on the water. Surprisingly easy to get started. Very stable platform. Easy to see how mastering the maneuvering of the board comes with very little experience. Look forward to long enjoyable experience of ownership.

Pros: Stability. Can carry two 12'6" boards at once with little effort. Easy to turn and glides great.
Cons: Would love to have water tight compartment.
Usage: Exercise and touring



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Ginny on 2014-05-16
Summary: I went paddling at the Kitson Boards factory. It was amazing! Extremely easy to paddle as it was very stable. Much easier and faster than any other board I have tried.

Pros: The carbon fiber looked neat.
Cons: Nothing
Usage: Paddling on the weekends with family and friends.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: AT on 2014-05-07
Summary: I had the pleasure of trying out the MT30 at Kitson's factory in Olympia. The board was really stable and I was able to quickly get paddling around the marina. There was a light chop, but the displacement hull sliced right through it. The board's weight is also pretty wonderful as I didn't have any difficulty walking down to the dock with it. Construction also appeared pretty solid and the white finish on seam looks really cool.

Pros: Size and weight, carbon fiber looks cool but is way better about not dinging than fiberglass. Cost.
Cons: Would love to see painted models in the future. Apparently they aren't painted to save weight, but I wouldn't mind some color.
Usage: exercise, adventure!



2 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: jk on 2014-01-12
Summary: Not quite what I expected. As with the other reviews I ordered in May and got board at the end of August after initially being told 3-4 weeks! I too was told "another week" several times. The surface of the board had some scratches and lots of dimples and imperfections on the surface. It looks like a factory second. My thinking is that they only use a minimum of resin which saves weight. Although the board looks crude it is fast and very stable.

Pros: It is fast and stable and reasonably light for a 14' board
Cons: Crude finish, cost
Usage: excercise and touring



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Calvin on 2013-10-07
Summary: I ordered the Touring after 6 weeks still have not seen any shipping as the company posted up to 4 weeks, talked to Mike the owner a couple of times on his cell, he seems to be a nice guy, don't know why this company start falling apart by their bad reputation. I already file a dispute with my credit card company. My business ends here forever with this company.

Pros: Great communication with the owner when taking order, but no reputation on time for the order, not sure about the quality.
Cons: very bad reputation. Does not keep up with their promises.
Usage: touring



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: R c on 2013-09-16
Summary: I ordered an MT 30 . On my receipt it state' s. " ships in under 3 weeks ". I have waited 9 weeks ,! When you call to get a status on your board they add a week , I can understand but don't give me an attitude like your doing me a favor . When I ordered, I talk to Mr Kitson . he didn't know what kind of hull he was selling ask him if it was a displacement hull didn't have the slightest idea what I asked . I should have listen to my little voice hang up hang up ! Know I'am tring to get a refund on a board I never got . No answer !

Pros: None
Usage: Can't ,never got the board



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: JD on 2013-06-22
Summary: i'm not surprised by the review with problems. i know all about this company. this is a local Washington company that sells wine racks. there have been a bunch of articles about how they decided to get into building boards. their whole staff is from the wine business. the local word is that they're a big time marketing company that don't have a clue about how to design boards. the designer is the guy who designs their custom wine racks. he doesn't have any board experience. after testing one there was no way i'd ever buy it. i know a lot of people who've tested these boards and they all agree that theyre not worth buying. most of what i've heard is that they are poor quality and the design is old. the one i tried was junk. i don't know anyone who has tested one of these and actually bought it. they're considered a joke around here and we've all been wondering how long it will take before they go out of business. until they hire a real designer and builder i woundnt touch one.

Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Usage: tested one and it was bad



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Jeffrey Larson on 2013-06-21
Summary: I purchased a 12' 6" Kitson Touring Paddle board last fall. The item was poorly packaged and arrived covered in scratches. I was disappointed when I took a good look at the board and saw how wavy the planes were, and how crudely the deck pad had been cut. It looked like someone built this in their garage. The first time I took it out the deck pad started bubbling and peeling off and water was leaking in around the center hole of the board. It took several emails to receive a response from the company, which was, basically, to remove the deck pad. Their representative stated that a lot of people were removing the pad. The performance of the board was poor as well. It's extremely unstable for a Touring board. I also own a 12' 6" Bark race board and it's much more stable than the Kitson board. I have half a dozen experienced paddleboarding friends and they all commented on how unstable the board was. The carbon fiber began delaminating after about the second or third time out. It wasn't distorting, but I could feel the skin move when I pushed against it. I'm not sure if this was caused by poor layup or the water that was leaking in around the center hole. On my last ride I could visually see water bubbling out from around the center hole, so instead of immediately putting it back in the bag, I left the board leaning against a tree, in partial sun, in an attempt to drain as much water as possible. An hour later I noticed the entire skin was deforming. Granted it was a 90 degree day, but there were several other boards laying out (Brockfish, Endless SUP & a couple entry level boards), some in more sun, but none of those had any issues. I've emailed the company multiple times & called. Their customer service is virtually non-existent. In my experience, they generally just don't respond. Calling didn't work either. I called to order an additional fin and provided my credit card information and everything, but never received the fin or any other correspondence from the company. In conclusion, I would not recommend a Kitson Board to anybody. The design & quality of construction are dated and poor. Their claims of the carbon fiber being more durable than fiberglass is ridiculous and the black color is a magnet for delamination problems. Scientifically, carbon is stronger than fiberglass, but the poor construction of their boards lends it to be much less so. I got 6-8 rides on this board and now it's complete junk. This is the worst board I've ever been on.

Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor design Poor construction Extremely fragile-This is not more durable than a fiberglass model Dark color is extremely prone to sun delamination
Usage: I'm not sure what this is designed for. While Kitson markets this as a touring board, is significantly less stable then my Bark race board. The carbon fiber might look cool hanging on a wall, if you're lucky enough to get a well-made board.















    Sign up for our FREE Stand Up Newsletter!
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.