Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > ACE-TEC WING Touring 12'6 by BIC SUP > Reviews Add A Review

Add a Review - WIN a SUP Boards

Reviews for ACE-TEC WING Touring 12'6 by BIC SUP



BIC SUP ACE-TEC WING Touring 12'6  photo
Manufacturer's
Description:

The new 12'6 WING is a Touring SUP designed for fitness paddling, riding on flat water or open ocean touring, and recreational racing. It's aimed at r ...
read more & see specs
 5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Ethan on 2014-04-15
Summary: Great all around board even in the Rockies!

Pros: Stability
Cons: I couldn't keep my lab on the board for very long!
Usage: Seeing the mountains. Running camp to camp to see my freinds



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: lf on 2014-04-05
Summary: great all around touring board- bomber construction! quick and responsive

Pros: indistructable
Cons: bit on the heavy side- i would not use it in an open category for racing
Usage: tour- training- guiding



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Pete on 2014-04-02
Summary: I've owned this board for two years now and it works perfectly for what it is supposed to be, an all (nearly indestructible) around touring board.

Pros: Tracks well, goes fast, (as long as you are providing it with steady power) takes a beating and for a touring board you can still surf it a bit.
Cons: Heavy, doesn't downwind very well (it's very hard to keep it on glide unless you are continually powering it)
Usage: Mostly for exercise on flat days, a little bit of downwinding when the conditions allow.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Chris on 2014-03-28
Summary: The Bic Wing 12'6 is a good around board for touring and racing. It has a thin plastic shell that makes it durable. The board is stable in the chop and fast in the flats. You can be rough on it and not worry about it. This board would be good for all around paddling and touring. Much more durable than a race board, not that much slower. If you have kids, are rough on your stuff, and still want a board you can beat the pack in, the wing is your board. The cons, it's a Bic. Not as sexy as a 404 or a SIC board, but not as fragile. Think of it as a Honda or a Huffy. Not as sleek as a vette, but it will serve its purpose and do it well. Think of the Bic Wing as your everyday board. It's priced good and paddles great.

Pros: Good board at a great price
Cons: Not as sexy as some other board makers.
Usage: Touring, race



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: TL on 2014-03-28
Summary: After demoing many different paddleboards over the last couple of years and owning a fiberglass(brittle) and a polyethylene(very heavy) that both had their good and bad features I ending up selling those boards and buying this Bic Ace Tec wing 12.6. It has all the great features of a real deal SUP with a thermoformed tough skin to keep it from getting damaged. I simply strap it down in the back of my truck with a T-bone hitch extender and it shows no damage or wear on the board.

Pros: Very stable, great volume to float big paddlers, good glide, great recurved carry handle, very very durable, lots of bungee attachments, tracks great, feels lighter than claimed weight, big enough to carry a child or dog with the paddler
Cons: The price is high but all good paddleboards are but otherwise it's awesome
Usage: Exercise and fun exploring any waterway I can , lakes, rivers ocean, canals, intercoastal ect.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Joe Henry on 2014-03-23
Summary: At 12'6" and 30" wide with a recessed deck this board is stable. Shaped with a displacement hull this board moves right along. Not just a "race board", this board has five tie down points to add carrying capacity.

Pros: Great price for a displacement hull, Ace-tec makes it reasonable light but also very durable. Good for the recreational racer or as a pretty fast touring board.
Cons: Deck pad is a little harsh, the "Edge guard" or "Rail bumper" makes the board look cheap.
Usage: Racing, Exercise, Touring



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Jessica on 2014-03-19
Summary: This is a fantastic board from beginner to advanced. It significantly changed the way I paddled from the moment I stepped on it. I absolutely love this board and would recommend this to anyone!

Pros: The ability to cut through waves and the stability
Cons: I would like more colors.
Usage: Touring and exercise mainly



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Stephan on 2013-07-21
Summary: Great board, stabile, and super durable. Great price. My second sup and i love it.

Pros: Durable, fast, stable, even does a wave quite well for a displacement board.
Cons: Tiny bit heavier than classic fiber glass but the durability of the outer shell is well worth it.
Usage: Racing , touring fitness















Win a SUP
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.