Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > Whopper by Starboard SUP > Reviews Add A Review

Add a Review - WIN a SUP Boards

Reviews for Whopper by Starboard SUP




Starboard SUP Whopper photo
Manufacturer's
Description:

"The board famed for making life easy, just made things even simpler."

This legendary board that opened people's eyes to wide boards and set the ...
read more & see specs

 5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Wayne Simpson on 2014-10-10
Summary: I have a Starboard Whopper, and a 9'6 PSH Ripper. I find myself using the whopper more because of the smaller waves on the East coast. It is the best all round board I have ever used. Great for touring, as well as Paddle surfing. I highly recommend the Whopper for new comers into the sport, as well as veterans. Paddle boarding is also a great core workout if you want ripped abs. I lost 30 lbs. from this awesome sport in a short 6 months.

Pros: The Whopper is very stable, forgiving dropping into a wave without nose diving, and great for everyday use on lakes and river.
Cons: I personally have no cons to say about this board
Usage: I mostly use the board for paddle surfing. When the waves are not there, I go for a couple hour paddle to stay fit.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: p.h.p. on 2014-10-10
Summary: This board is designed for "all around" use, Flatwater and surfing. At 34" wide it is very stable and the volume helps it float a big guy with ease (200+ lbs.)

Pros: This board catches waves and surfs great. As a veteran surfer who was looking for a new challenge, this board is perfect for the transition from regular surfing to SUP surfing. It is light, fast and responsive.
Cons: I felt the need to change the fins out for higher performance models. As a surfer with 25 years of experience, I wanted to best performance possible. Also I would prefer the sidebites to be "Future Fins" instead of "FCS".
Usage: I use this board for surfing. It performs very well.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Cathy on 2014-05-09
Summary: Best board EVER! All around stability, performance, and durability. From surfing to flatwater...none better!

Usage: DAILY



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: wmf on 2014-04-30
Summary: very well made, light, stable, in the AST white version surface is perfect without being too slick.

Pros: really stable, tracks well, short enough to get into my truck, light, nice carry handle, tri fin, good all rounder (surfs, lakes, touring).
Cons: too slow to race, stock side fins are OK quality (easy to fix with aftermarket side fins), i stripped one screw on a side fin and i really do not know how it happened.
Usage: surfing, touring, FUN. this is as much fun as you can have on water with your clothes on.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Wayne on 2014-04-16
Summary: I have several paddle boards, and by far the whopper is the most well rounded. It is great in the surf, lakes, and rivers. It is my favorite all round board.

Pros: It is light, turns on a dime, tracks straight, fast down the face of the wave, and hard to nose dive.
Cons: None
Usage: I paddle surf with this board,tour, and exercise.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Fairul on 2014-04-05
Summary: I have 2 sup,one starboard another bought from china(aqua marina), even the size of starboard bigger n more wide than aquamarina (11x29), the starboard give wellglide onthe wwater.the moral of story, by a quality sup.

Pros: Well glide
Cons: Having problem once u facing the wind, since it have rocker edge in the front
Usage: Normally, I will hit the water 3x a week for exercise and touring



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Ck on 2014-03-31
Summary: Just got my inflatable sup... Can't wait to try it our once the weather warms up

Pros: Has excellent reviews & a great look... Good for lakes, River & yoga
Cons: Not sure yet haven't floated it yet
Usage: I'll use it on lakes, rivers & for yoga



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: SRN on 2014-03-23
Summary: After growing up in kayaks and windsurfing buying my SUP was a no-brainer. I do have a mast base to attach a windsurfing rig but use the Wopper for paddling, lakes, rivers and the ocean. The Wopper is a wide ride with plenty of stability. It is light enough to carry long distances for remote launches and glides through the water like a hot knife in soft butter.

Pros: I can attach my windsurfing rig.
Cons: It won't fit in my board bag... too wide.
Usage: Not sleek enough for racing... but it's great in the waves and touring.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: CLS on 2013-05-28
Summary: This is a great stable board. Well put togher and solid. It is sharp looking yet versatile.

Pros: This is a sharp board that is also durable. It can take a beating and whatever you throw at it. I lost a fin going down some rapids and did not realize it until the end of the 5 hour paddle. It tracked really well and I was able to get another fin quickly and off I went.
Cons: I wish it was a little faster on flat water but that was not what it was designed for.
Usage: I use this board going down river and catching rapids, cruising on a flat water lake and catching some waves at the ocean. I use this board several times a week.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: JM on 2013-04-07
Summary: Super great board. got it in the inflatable version for travel (comes in a 70 litre pack, essentially) and love it! was worried about the stiffness but it's almost as stiff as a foam board at 15psi. have bounced it off everything from razor reef to turtles and it keep comin back. a fun board, at 9' shorter than your average and pretty maneuverable even for it's width. makes a stable platform for everything, but i mostly use it for surfing! would recommend this to anyone up to 220 pounds, as a surf sup or a fishing vessel, although it is a big plow-y for cruising. I Live in tofino,B.C. and have a place on Molokai, HI.

Pros: Nimble even for it's width. Stable. Fun to surf. Portable. Stiff.
Cons: maybe not as much rocker as I would like (this is contradictory to that, but,) plows a little when paddling flatwater
Usage: Surfing- lots up to head high and hollow Fishing, spear and reel Chasing whales



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: dan on 2012-06-21
Summary: super stable, turns great, responsive, light

Pros: light, responsive
Usage: surf



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Brad Martinson on 2012-06-16
Summary: I'm riding a Whopper AST Silver. I am a longtime surfer and began paddleboarding in waves this spring. The Whopper is very responsive in the surf for a large board and very stable.

Pros: It's a great all around board.Because of the good amount of rocker, it will not nose dive, which is really nice when you are learning.
Cons: There are no cons.
Usage: I use it to surf and to cruise the lake and river,and it is also great for yoga.















Win a SUP
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.