Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > 10SIX by California Board Company > Reviews Add A Review

Add a Review - WIN a SUP Boards

Reviews for 10SIX by California Board Company




California Board Company 10SIX photo
Manufacturer's
Description:

  • Heat Laminated High Density 100% Waterproof EPS Core
  • Custom Molded Shape
  • 3 Multi-Layered (Molded-In) Laminated Wood Stringers Coat ...
    read more & see specs
 3 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: NDB on 2014-11-05
Summary: This board is my first SUP and I love it. I have not paddled a kayak since I got it. Very comfortable for starter board.

Pros: Easy to learn on, and is very stable platform.
Cons: Paint wears off if wearing any type of shoes. Soft top gets a few dings and strap marks
Usage: I paddle mostly on the local salt and KY rivers, but if I spot a body of water while driving somewhere I will often explore it in street clothes except for bare feet or booties.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: ronapurple on 2014-10-08
Summary: I am just learning to SUP, and I ordered this a few months ago,and it is so stable and makes me feel secure.

Pros: I am still learning to stand up on it, but I have paddled around the lake sitting on it, on my knees, etc., and I feel very secure with it's balance, and the fact that it stays well above the water with me.
Cons: It didn't come with pads to stand on, and the board is very slick and easy to slide off of. I ordered some pads that I haven't applied to my SUP yet, but hopefully that will resolve the issue.
Usage: I got it to use for exercise, to get a good core workout as I paddle. I use it on South Holston Lake, and I look forward to buying a wetsuit and continuing to learn to stand up and get in fit.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: GES on 2014-10-06
Summary: Great for beginners apart from the slip and sliding but the pad can be bought seperatly.good size, not hard to move around, all around nice board.

Pros: Great to learn on and continue using and gorgeous design
Cons: A bit fragile
Usage: Exercise, touring



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: DRW on 2014-07-16
Summary: Great Starter Board! Lightweight and relatively durable.

Pros: Stable and able to carry a large passenger id required.
Cons: Can be damaged if strapped down incorrectly or with too much force.
Usage: Mostly flat water.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Rick Christy on 2014-07-10
Summary: The CBC 10'6" is an eceptional value for the novice to intermidiate paddler . It is a very stable board that handles well on the open water as well as in small surf . The paddle is of durable material and its a plus that it comes with car racks

Pros: Looks and handles well
Cons: Seems to pinch sort top under pressure
Usage: Surf



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Rick on 2014-07-06
Summary: Great all around board for beginners. Nice stability and I like the design.

Pros: very stable, easy to carry
Cons: doesn't have soft foot pad
Usage: flat water, inland lakes



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Jake on 2014-07-03
Summary: Just picked up this board from Sports Authority. My first board so my only frame of reference is the rentals I've used. Nice and lightweight, super wide so balance is easy. Gets a little slick so I may try some wax. Had it out on the river today and gonna try the surf this weekend. Great price point, cool looks, and an awesome workout. Looking forward to using it as often as I can!

Pros: Good price. Easy to handle
Cons: slippery when wet
Usage: Cruising, exercise, surf



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Charles fox on 2014-06-08
Summary: Nice paddle board great price point

Pros: Offset Handel is nice and the price point is nice
Cons: I would prefer a paddle that was a stiff blade
Usage: Exercise,touring ,fishing



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: gc on 2014-04-25
Summary: great beginner board, stable but fast too! nice look and feel did well in light ocean surf and lagoon

Pros: sleek, light
Cons: would a a no slip pad
Usage: relaxing along river edge, racing



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Thomas on 2013-06-03
Summary: Great board for the price I paid! I little slippery, but if you have balance, you'll be fine! I used on the Gulf of Mexico and I hadent surfed in over a year, so I had to get to the sound side and get used to it. Once I was, it is AMAZING!! There is nothing else I would by for this price! The foam top dents when you strap it down to tight (which I do because I'm afraid of losing it.

Pros: Big, cheap, comes with everything you need, easy to ride
Cons: A little slippery, would've liked to see a pad on it, but for the price can't say anything bad about that!
Usage: Everything. I've raced (not as fast as some), Surfed (doesn't cut through the waves as well as some), and just paddled across flat water



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: idoitl8r on 2012-08-28
Summary: As a first time SUP'er this inexpensive board was our first choice. We looked at several boards & decided for our family of 5 getting multiple boards was important & we were able to get 2 of these for the cost of 1 typical board. It had a list price of $599, but we were able to work the price down to $450 each from our local Play It Again sports store. The boards were brand new in the box and included the leash, paddle, and an inexpensive roof rack system (that we dont use). Because these boards were priced so reasonably it allowed us to see if this sport was something we would be interested in doing without too much of a financial commitment. FYI, this board will hold my 210#'s plus my daughters 80#'s at the same time. If I continue in the sport theses 2 boards will be my kids & I will purchase a higher end board.

Pros: Light, stable, inexpensive, overall a good beginner board I believe. In calm to very moderate chop the board performs very well. However, in white cap chop it is not as stable as I would like.
Cons: easily damaged. 1 board already has a large nick down to core & began taking on water. I filled hole with marine epoxy & it seems to be holding up so far. Very slippery deck since its just foam so I use wax. Unfortunately the wax has caused 1 of the boards top coat of paint to crackle & fleck off where the wax was applied.
Usage: saltwater touring at the beach in light FL surf, and have used in a calm bayou. Have also used on flat fresh water lake.















Win a SUP
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.