Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)             Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
 FREE SUP Newsletter!  
standup.paddling.net SUP logo
Enter to Win

Reviews for Flow 106 by Pelican International




Pelican International Flow 106 photo
Manufacturer's
Description:

This easy-to-paddle flat water and light surf SUP is designed for superior stability. Ding-resistant Ram-X construction offers exceptional durability ...
read more & see specs
 
Pelican International Flow 106 photo
Manufacturer's
Description:

This easy-to-paddle flat water and light surf SUP is designed for superior stability. Ding-resistant Ram-X construction offers exceptional durability ...
read more & see specs
 
4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: vince walczak on 2015-04-17
Summary: this is a great touring paddle board, bought 2 for myself and my wife , use it many times in the intercoastal waters of central Florida, this is a great board if you are just getting started , very stable , have had other paddlers with more expensive boards come to me and comment about how nice my board is and well it handles choppy water, would definitely recommend this board for someone on a budget and looking for a reliable board

Pros: very stable in calm and mild choppy waters, sits up high on the water, carrying handles are great as well as the tie downs for gear
Cons: only con I have is it is a little on heavy side(39 to 45 lbs) to carry, but once in water it is very easy to manuever
Usage: touring / exercise
Submit your own review!



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: billcanoes on 2015-02-17
Summary: I borrowed this board, so this review is based on 1 use on a lake. The board didn't track well, and was pretty slow. I think if you want a board for kids to play on this is perfect. But my perception is if you are looking for a board to see if you like to paddleboard, this board wont push you into the sport. Besides a lake toy for kids, it might be a decent board to use downstream on a slow moving river.

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: slow
Usage: child's lake toy- downriver
Submit your own review!



2 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Shirlann on 2015-01-05
Summary: Heavy, low quality.

Pros: It's an SUP.
Cons: Too heavy for small, short people and due to length doesn't track well.
Usage: Exercise
Submit your own review!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Franklin Klock on 2014-12-05
Summary: Great board for those looking for a super tough SUP for lake, flat water, and light river use.

Pros: Super stable, maneuverable, durable (tough as a kayak) can't ding it, lots of built in handles and deck lashing, rubber fin bends, not breaks, if you hit a rock. super affordable.
Cons: Some say it's heavy at 48 pounds, but I don't think it's hard to handle. The handles make it really easy to carry and car-top.
Usage: lake/flat water, Interpretive tours.
Submit your own review!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: perezmerino on 2014-11-21
Summary: It's very well constructed of a very hard type of plastic;it is very stable on the water. I learned to paddleboard on a different one which was much more difficult; Anyone can do it on this.

Usage: touring
Submit your own review!



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: RMC on 2014-11-12
Summary: You get what you pay for. This board feels cheap and flimsy. It's like a hollow plastic kayak without the seat. That tiny flexible fin is a joke. This thing does not handle well and it won't go straight; it's very wobbly, but it's wide, so you won't fall. I rented this board for one hour and it was the worst paddling experience!

Pros: very cheap
Cons: poor maneuverability, unstable, extremely slow
Usage: flatwater cruising
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: rmblaber on 2014-10-08
Summary: This is a great introductory board. Low cost, very stable for novice users & quite maneuverable. All around fun board.

Pros: Durable, stable, deck rigging, price.
Cons: A little on the heavy side.
Usage: Recreation & short tours.
Submit your own review!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Patrick on 2014-07-20
Summary: Bought it for my wife and kids. They love it!!! Very stable, and easy to get use to. Wife and kids can ride together, as it has a high volume.

Pros: Stability, float, and deck space.
Cons: For me not an issue, but many struggle with its near 50lb weight.
Usage: Exercise, touring, recreation.
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: B.B. on 2014-07-07
Summary: What a great board! Especially for beginners! This was a surprise 60th birthday present (I just mentioned I would like to try it some day.) I had never been on one and stood up on it from the dock. After just a short time I was confident to adjust my feet position plus drop to my knees to make sure I could get back up. It was even easier than I thought it would be. The storage rigging is nice for taking a picnic lunch or anything in a waterproof container. I would highly recommend this board even though it is a bit on the heavy side for one person (older) to manage. Have fun and enjoy! :) Oh, and it's a great upper body workout...keep those abs tight and your core will strengthen! Would buy again and recommend!

Pros: Price is right! Very stable! Great for beginners! Seems to track well and respond quickly. Versatile, but have not used with a seat...yet. Deck rigging for storing. Comfortable to kneel or sit if you tire of standing. Padded deck (see cons also) Amazing blazing color!
Cons: Heavy to haul up on dock for me (husband does fine with it)/cumbersome, but hey, it's big! Padding isn't soft but have only been on 2 boards, this one and another that was smoother; was told you just get used to it or wear water shoes. It would have gotten 5 stars if it was a bit lighter and the padding was smoother.
Usage: Touring on lakes and ponds, exercise, enjoying the outdoors, and family fun!
Submit your own review!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: SuziS on 2014-07-05
Summary: We purchased 2 of these one for me and for my daughter and this board is perfect for a beginner. Everyone who has tried has no trouble getting up. I love the versatility of it...you can stand up, sit and use it as a kayak or just lie on it and float. We are have a blast with them!! I did by some wheels to make it easier to get them around.

Pros: Great price, easy to use. The mat makes it comfortable to use. Also very fun.
Cons: A little heavy and awkward to carry.
Usage: On the lakes for touring and exercise.
Submit your own review!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: koradogger on 2014-07-01
Summary: I bought this as my first paddle board to see if it was something I would like. I have had it for almost a year and really like it. I use it on ponds and lakes in both calm and choppy water. It is very stable and easy to stand up on.

Pros: Large padded area to stand on. Bungee cords for storage. Stable enough to take my dog along.
Cons: It's a bit heavy and cumbersome to carry long distances, but not too bad if you don't have to carry it far.
Usage: I use it for exercise and touring around local lakes.
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: pamela on 2014-05-29
Summary: Easy to sit down and kneel while paddling. I wobbled a lot and never felt stable while standing. This is probably a better board for intermediate paddlers.

Pros: Price. Flexible surface for kneeling. A nice amount of deck rigging for storage.
Cons: The deck is convex and your feet are not flat if you have a wide stance
Usage: Lake
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Sarah on 2014-05-26
Summary: Bought this board for some SUP fun to start with. It is a great board and very stable. It was pretty cheap which is a plus, and I enjoy it for the most part.

Pros: Cheap! Stable!
Cons: Heavy
Usage: Touring, exercise
Submit your own review!



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: karen on 2014-05-24
Summary: I am very happy with this board. I have added a snap in kayak seat and with it on I can sit down and paddle with my kayak paddle then switch to kneeling down, then grab the stand up paddle from the deck rigging and stand up paddle...all without removing the seat! I like the versatility. It is pretty stable and tracks pretty well too. I like the ram-x material, seems like it is very durable. I've taken it out twice so far and no scratches so I don't need to baby it.

Pros: versatility,durability,color, price,4 handles and the center carry handle seems plenty deep
Cons: 48 lbs.
Usage: Playing on the lake
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Denny S on 2014-05-20
Summary: I purchased this board, being a beginner to stand up paddle boarding. I found that the board is very stable and navigates both flat and choppy water very well. I am a larger guy (225 lbs) and this is the only board I could find locally that would accommodate my weight. This allows me to tour our lake and enjoy our summer months so much more.

Pros: It's easy to get on the board and you can also purchase a snap in seat to use it as a kayak if need be.
Cons: The board is heavy and awkward to carry but if the finger grooves were a little bit deeper it would probably be easier to carry around.
Usage: Flat water, for exercise and leisure tours around the lake. Very good core workout.
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Becky on 2014-05-19
Summary: I'm a beginner and wanted to see if it's something I would like to do for fun and exercise. This is a good Board for just starting out! It's stable and easy to maneuver around the lake.

Pros: The price is right (for now!) Easy to do!
Cons: It's relatively heavy...48 lbs.
Usage: I use it for exercise and touring around our lake. great for the core!!
Submit your own review!



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: shirlann on 2012-09-07
Summary: Low Cost entry product, I have used this board several time in on flat and choppy. It is stable and paddles okay, tracking is okay but not great but that is combination of skeg size and design. We also use it for my son that is 8 yrs old to play with in waves that are up to 3 ft he like to try and surf it and also see how far he can go on the board before getting tossed. My wife is also able to paddle the board and stand on it with no problem.

Pros: Like the price, durablity, and the fact my son can use it and i don't worry about getting damaged as i would with a higher end product
Cons: not a great tracking board, and a little slow.
Usage: touring lakes and rivers, and a platform for my son to play around with in the waves or as a swim platform in a lake
Submit your own review!




Enter to Win
 Follow us on:
Copyright © Paddling.net 2015      Contact Us