Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > Nalu 12.5 by Ocean Kayak > Reviews Add A Review


Reviews for Nalu 12.5 by Ocean Kayak



Ocean Kayak Nalu 12.5 photo5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Kathy on 2014-07-09
Summary: This is a very versatile board. I am 56 years old and haven't lost my sense of play. I love this board to use in the lake to surf the waves and to float happily down the river with our labador retriever. The stability of this boat allows me to feel young again. I have been 100% successful!

Pros: this board is light, tracks very well, stable
Usage: I use it for recreation only. I enjoy surfing the waves in the lake and floating down the river.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: eriecanalboatcompany on 2014-06-30
Summary: It is bay far one of the most useful SUP's we have in the fleet. Stable, comfortable for beginners to intermediate Supers. Moves very well for its weight.

Pros: movement, stability
Cons: Weight
Usage: great recreational SUP



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: karen on 2014-06-17
Summary: I tried this out at demo days and I really liked it. It is versatile for both standing and sitting. I would like to see more standing area as another reviewer stated. I thought straight tracking was good and the board was fast but turning was slower than other boards I tried.

Pros: Fast,versatile,tracks straight while paddeling on one side
Cons: Heavy
Usage: Lake play



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: pamela on 2014-06-17
Summary: I recently tried this sup. I always start on my knees and found the surface material to be too hard for kneeling. I was able to stand easily in the foot tracks and the board was stable. It tracked well on the lake.

Pros: Stable,tracks well
Cons: Too hard to kneel
Usage: Lake, recreation



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: pianoartiste on 2014-06-13
Summary: The Nalu 12.5, by Ocean Kayak, is a good board for the money if you are a recreational paddler.

Pros: The board has 2 long grooves for your feet, and has a higher middle section. The grooves are cushioned with a comfortable fam material that helps prevent slippage. The grooves are great for beginners because they help the paddler maintain balance. I like fact that the boat can serve as a SUP, or can be a sit on top kayak. Some SUP paddles come with a paddle that snaps on the handle end. It can be stored in the roomy hatch. The SUP also has a storage on the back for additional gear.
Cons: My SUP did not come with a seat, and I had to purchase one separately. It is great to be able to sit and paddle after a lot of stand up, but it would be nice if a seat was included.
Usage: I use this board in the Florida Keys, and the water is relatively smooth. I share the board with family and friends, and first timers have been able to stand and paddle fairly quickly. This is a great board for kids, beginner adults, and even heavier adults, because it is stable.



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: knudson on 2014-03-28
Summary: This is a plastic molded paddleboard, making it lightweight and easy to carry. It sits high on the water and handles a good amount of weight. I am 250 lbs, but it is a bit narrower than other boards so it is not quite as stable with tall riders. Has a storage compartment. Shorter riders would have no problems at all.

Pros: Light, and tracks well on the water. Good for calm water. Great beginner to intermediate board. Fast in the water.
Cons: A tall rider might find this less stable than wider models.
Usage: Use on lakes and reservoirs where water is calmer.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: shirlann on 2013-04-09
Summary: One can stand up, lay down on your tummy, or sit and paddle as an SOT. You can go from a good full body stand up workout or a relaxing cruise as a sit-on-top, should you tire from standing. I really enjoy the versatility of this boat.




4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: cbnkhouse on 2012-08-03
Summary: Great paddleboard for the price. This is not a typical SUP but it is really fun to use. This is "roto-molded" and has a dry storage compartment built in. The SUP came with a removable seat that we have never used although it looks to be well made and comfortable. Even though it came with a seat it is indeed a stand up board. We use it a couple times a week at least on lakes and rivers. It is considerably more stable than our friendsí 11 foot inflatable board which may be due to the weight of this one, 45+ pounds. The dry storage is large enough to accommodate my paddle without having to break it down as well as our kids fishing poles and a small dry bag. This board is also large enough and strong enough for me to take my two kids along for the ride and they total about 110 pounds. My 8 year old is easily able to take this out on his own and keep up with anyone. The board tracks extremely well yet turns on a dime with the proper weight shift. I have been able to ride the small wake of ski boats passing by which makes me think this would be a great SUP for the ocean. I think it would be nice to have a flat top as opposed to the recessed (about 2 inches) foot wells in the mid section of the board.

Pros: Stability. Ability to go quite fast withouth much effort. Cost compared to typical SUP's. Storage space. Built in carry handles.
Cons: Weight.
Usage: We use the board for exercise, touring and just cruising around.















    Sign up for our FREE Stand Up Newsletter!
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.