Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > Riviera 11'6" by Riviera Paddlesurf > Reviews Add A Review

Add a Review - WIN a SUP Boards

Reviews for Riviera 11'6" by Riviera Paddlesurf



Riviera Paddlesurf Riviera 11'64 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: SLA on 2014-10-16
Summary: I am paddling the soft-top version of this board. I am 5'8" tall and about 155lbs. I am relatively new to paddle boarding but a strong paddlers coming from a white water canoe background. This board is super stable underfoot and inspires confidence with the kids I instruct. The soft-top version is super durable and stands up to the demands of beginner paddlers.

Pros: Stability and durability in the soft-top version.
Cons: Some of the quality control in manufacture is not the best. We have 9 Riviera Sups and some of the fin boxes are tighter than others
Usage: Flatwater beginner instruction.



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Doug on 2014-08-05
Summary: AVOID these boards! I bought mine 2 months ago. After two surf sessions in the ocean the fin box was completely cracked around the fin! Whats worse is Riviera and the dealer would not stand by the product even though I was within the warranty period. Total hack company with zero customer support. Same response from Glacier Bay in Northport Long Island. Dealer and manufacture should be avoided. Go buy a Hobie, they last forever!

Pros: Bay Cruising
Cons: Poor quality -



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Handsome Robb on 2014-06-10
Summary: Riviera does NOT stand behind there product. My fin box broke without being dropping or misused.

Pros: Stable
Cons: Cheaply made!!!
Usage: Surf/touring



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Mateo Masellones on 2014-04-19
Summary: All around SUP surf and flatwater board.

Pros: Nice stable board, easy to cruise around and still race with the 12'6" sup catagory.
Cons: Recessed grab hold is nice but difficult to hold onto on long treks from vehicle to water.
Usage: mostly recreational touring and for a weekly local race's that are technical, multi bouy turns.



3 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: PV on 2014-03-30
Summary: Really nice all-around board. Good for beginners because of how stable it is. With a classic surf style it is fun on the waves. Not ideal for competitive racing but fine for the recreational paddler. Sturdy too, haven't had any issue with dings.

Pros: Sturdy, stable, nice glide in the waves
Cons: Slow
Usage: Recreational racing, surf, exercise, some touring (shorter distances)



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: rebeccaco on 2014-03-28
Summary: Great Recreational Board

Pros: Tracks very well, Deck is fully padded, Wide and stable for a tall person, Can easily load on to my 4Runner with practice
Cons: Inherent SUP problems: dings, bulky
Usage: I've only been paddling for a year, so I've only used it for touring and exercise. This one is probably no a good racing board.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: eclecticsun on 2014-03-19
Summary: The Riviera 11'6" Paddleboard is a great all around board. Super for beginners to experts due to its classic smooth design.

Pros: Light, well designed, functional maneuverability.
Cons: Does not fend well with rocks.
Usage: I use this board as my own personal touring board on Lake Jocassee. I also rent these boards to customers who expect a higher standard of board due to their experience.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Pebblekeeper on 2013-05-17
Summary: This is a perfect beginner board. A very stable board that makes it simple for beginners to pop up for the first time. The pad is large and very soft and does not hurt the feet. The handle is perfectly balanced and the board is light enough to pick up with one hand using the handle.

Pros: Stable. I have rocked it to a 45 degree angle and have been able to push down to stay up. I have never fallen off. Large areas to attach a life jacket/supply bag. Smooth paint allows for the use of suction cups. Glides straight and smooth. Able to use in large swell and calm lakes. I have had several experiences where I should have fallen off, and the board was easy to push back into the water. It rides on it's rails well.
Cons: It is a slow board. The bottom is flat, and I'm wondering if that is part of it. When the swell kicks up the waves wash over the nose of the board. Adustments to standing balance helps correct this, standing further back on the board. The large size makes it a bit harder to quickly flip on top of car racks, but I can do it by myself. The grey band shows every time my paddle has hit the rim.
Usage: I live on a lake and use it for daily exercise. I paddle about a mile and a half a day the lake is 3.5 miles long, and have taken it a couple of times on 6-7 mile trips. I have taken it into the bay and up the river with surf swells coming across the bay. We have not had it out in the surf yet, but plan to do so this week. I carry quite a bit of gear on the board, and would consider it for touring. I am learning Yoga moves/stretching and use the board for that on the lake.















Win a SUP
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.