Your Guide to Stand Up Paddling (SUP)              Also Canoeing and Kayaking!
SUP Buyers' Guide > Riviera 10'6 by Riviera Paddlesurf > Reviews Add A Review

Add a Review - WIN a SUP Boards

Reviews for Riviera 10'6 by Riviera Paddlesurf




Riviera Paddlesurf Riviera 10'6 photo5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Julia on 2014-12-03
Summary: Owned this board for 4 months and loved it....very stable for a beginner who is also a senior. I can lift it myself on and off the car rack. I only take it out when winds are under 10 MPH and where there isn't power boat traffic, and it has been fun for me. My daughter took it out on Lake Erie in 23MPH winds and, while it took some effort, the board handled well in the wind and waves. However, my Riviera was run over in October by a careless driver (not me) and now, it seems, I need a new board.

Pros: weight; width / stability; color (bright but with a classic appeal...no crazy pattern) length: I can maneuver it and store it easily
Cons: lack of a bungee system (but turns out this isn't a major concern); the floor matting has a texture which, after about 40 minutes, is so impressed into the bottoms of my feet that I need to take a break. However, this may also be my fault, because I don't move my feet around much on the board like I probably should.
Usage: exercise, touring and family fun



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: clsharp01 on 2014-11-12
Summary: Great all around board. you will be able to surf or tour the calm waters. This board is one anyone can utilize.

Pros: Functions well in the surf
Usage: surf, day paddles



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: SLA on 2014-10-16
Summary: I am paddling the soft-top version of this board. It is a good all-rounder. I'm just getting into the sport and this board has allowed me to explore flat water and small surf with confidence. It is one of the more affordable options especially in the soft-top incarnation and seems to be very durable.

Pros: Forgiving in the surf. Stable enough for my 155lb frame novice without feeling like a log.
Cons: Like all planing hulls it feel really slow in flatwater.
Usage: Exercise, small surf, instructing



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: clsharp01 on 2014-10-09
Summary: Great all around board.

Pros: Easy to manuver
Cons: none
Usage: beach and some surf



1 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Doug on 2014-08-05
Summary: Good for surfing and bay cruising -

Pros: quick maneuvers. stable
Cons: Fin box ripped out after 2 sessions of surfing. I've had a Hobie for 7 years and its bomb proof. Two days in the ocean on a Riviera and the fin box was cracked all around. Whats worse is the dealer and manufacturer wont honor the 3 month warranty. These boards are NOT durable, and the wont stand by them!
Usage: Bay cruiser -



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Candy on 2014-06-27
Summary: Love my board! I surf it, race it, and pretty much use it for any type of water. Plus it's stable enough that everyone can play on it and get bitten the SUP bug! :)

Pros: Love the length and width, and the way it surfs
Cons: It's very heavy
Usage: All of the above, racing, surfing, touring, playing around on the river and ocean.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: Ellen on 2014-06-26
Summary: This is my first SUP. I chose the Riviera after trying out several different boards by several different manufacturers. Being in my 40's and not in the greatest shape, I found it easy to use, carry and throw on top of my large SUV.

Pros: weight, stability, price.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: B M L on 2014-06-13
Summary: I just started boarding, and from my knowledge this is a solid beginner board. It has a soft pad, and is overall very stable. Good for flatwater and surfing.

Pros: Stable board, the pad goes all the way to the back which helps the pivoting while surfing.
Usage: Surfing, exercising, and touring.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: scott on 2013-09-01
Summary: Great board!! My favorite of the two I have.

Pros: Perfect for beginner and above.
Cons: n/a
Usage: Exercise and surf



4 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: WM_RoadRunner on 2012-10-26
Summary: Not a beginner board, but easy to learn. Not a lot of extra features like cut outs for tie down systems, coolers, etc, but 3/4 padded. Comfortable on feet and for doing yoga.

Pros: 3/4 pad included. 3 fins, not one. Not a fast board, but maneuvers easily. Priced well.
Cons: No cut outs for tie downs for a dry pack or cooler.
Usage: Leisure weekend excursions.



5 stars (out of 5) Submitted by: rpr on 2012-07-08
Summary: Good surf.paddle board and works well for a bigger guy. Supports my 230# size well. Not too many waves caught due to lack of ability to get out to where there arecreal waves but the few I have.caught were fun.

Pros: Very stable. Nice look and finish. Durable.
Cons: Tracking is poor but what do you expect on a 10'6" meant for surfing.
Usage: Exercise, surf.















Win a SUP
 
Follow us on:

Contact Us   

 ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.