Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Dagger > Legend 16 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Legend 16 Canoe by Dagger


Rated: 8.91/10 Based On: 11 Reviews

 



09-01-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great heavy load boat that is very stable especially when loaded. This handles well in swift fast currents with lots of navigation. The extra wideness of this canoe allows for a lot of gear. We recently used it as a support boat for 6 paddlers so we carried heavy coolers, camp boxes and the boat was totally full and we kept up with solo kayak paddlers even though boat was probably 400lbs of gear. It handles big waves too well. Such a great tripping boat or just to be used for the day.
Submit your own review!

07-05-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently bought this canoe. It was a little warped due to someone laying it on its side with a snow load. It still paddles great. This is not ideal for lakes or a lot fast trips but with its wide beam, rocker, it handles great in rough water. Recently took it down the Smith River in Montana....one has to dodge a lot of rocks and do a lot of manuvering. It handled great. We carried a lot of gear in the boat, coolers, folding table, etc etc...plenty of room even in the very front and rear to put dry bags.

It's make of Royal Ex so it can take a beating. It's a bit heavy and awkward to load onto a canoe rack on your car but with two fairly strong people its not a big issue. I like how it responds in the crazy currents. I like how stable it feels especially when carrying a lot of gear.

Submit your own review!

07-03-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Dagger canoe 2 years ago, second hand. It was only my 2nd canoe, the first was 17' and was bought when I was much younger, and this was the first that I thought I could handle by myself. There is an old quote that says it takes a licking and .... well this one does.

I started using it in rapids, my first mistake (not enough training), and if it hadn't been for the rock sturdy Dagger under me I could have been really been in bad shape. I pulled it out and put it on the rack to closely examine the cumulative damage from rocks and sand, and was really surprised at how little the damage was. As for speed, I guess not, but it carries more weight than I need, and I found out that I really can handle it by my self.

Submit your own review!

02-01-2011
Submitted by: DSP
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought this boat after owning the Legend version and I am completely satisfied with every aspect of this canoe's performance. Initial and secondary stability are spot on! My wife and I have used this boat on the St. Frances, White and Black Rivers in Arkansas; the Mighty Mississippi; Ocoee River and Indian Boundary Lake in Tennessee; Blackwater, Big Coldwater, Yellow, Perdido Rivers in Florida; Okeefenokee Swamp in Georgia with alligators bumping the bottom of the boat. The royalex lay up on this boat is bomb proof. We have paddled countless lakes and rivers in Alabama and never come close to flipping.

Mad River has done an excellent job of reproducing this LEGENDary design that Dagger had so much success with. I recommend this boat and if it wears out within the next 100 years, I will be buying another one; but I am sure it will outlast me.

Submit your own review!

01-29-2009
Submitted by: Poling PeteSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have owned my Legend for about 15 years. I bought it as a boat for poling, paddling tandem whitewater and general rec use. It is a good whitewater tandem boat. It is an absolute pig in flat water, like paddling a baby pool across a lake. For whitewater poling it is pretty good because it has plenty of rocker so its great going up in rapids but it is a slug in slower water. My old Tripper was a much better all around boat. But for tandem whitewater, it is very nice.
Submit your own review!

01-03-2006
Submitted by: ArtSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned a green Dagger 16' Legend since the mid 80's. It's an outstanding performer. Its large volume supports the load of larger canoes (17'1" Trippers, eg) while retaining the maneuverability of the shorter canoe. Initial stability is very good allowing a great stand-up-and-cast boat. My son has paddled his Legend (not mine) solo through Grand Canyon, losing it only once at Lava falls.
Submit your own review!

08-07-2005
Submitted by: Jud WeaverSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My Legend 16 is 16 years old this year. The outer hull finally wore through in one place this July while we were doing the low water John Day, but it has left literally thousands of miles of red streaks on rocks.

We're addicted to solitude and rivers, two things that seem to go together less every year. But if you're willing to hit a few rocks, there are still week long trips where you won't see another soul.

The Legend is the perfect boat for this kind of stuff. I've watched my friends destroy their Explorers and Trippers, and finally buy Legends. It is a pig in flat water, but I've paddled hundreds of hours into the wind, (and much less with the wind) and it keeps right up with the faster boats.

Submit your own review!

12-01-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     In 2003, I purchased this boat slightly used, fully outfitted for river-tripping (D-rings, thigh-straps, knee-pads/braces, floatation, in red Royalex). Although I would agree it is not designed for lakes or slow rivers, it is capable of flatwater paddling. I don't have a problem loading it by myself, or portaging it (I think the more recent versions are actually lighter than older ones - mine's about 75 pounds). Where it excels is on faster moving rivers, particularly grade II-III. It turns very easily and quickly, which makes it amazing for moving through eddies. This boat is ideal for river tripping up to Grade III. If you're planning on consistently running Grade III (or higher), you should be looking at specialty tandem whitewater canoes. Before buying the Legend, I also looked at an Old Town Appalachian and Mad River Explorer, which are quite similar (compare the specs). Overall, I am very happy with my Legend, and would buy it again in a heartbeat.
Submit your own review!

10-09-2003
Submitted by: SJR
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've owned my Legend since the early 90s and find it a great canoe for rivers with rapids and some current, but it has it's limitations. The Legend 16 turns very well, is very durable and is very stable. The very round nose and full width makes paddling on flat water for long distances or against a headwind on a slow moving river hard work. When Dagger designed the Legend their focus was primarily whitewater and while they considered the Legend to be their all around canoe, the hull design is best suited for whitewater. The heavy layup of the Royalex (85 lb) also makes it more difficult to cartop. A friend has an Old Town Discover 164 and it is a much better all around canoe and it weighs less. If you need a canoe for Class II, III and occasional IV rapids the Legend is ideal, otherwise a another canoe may be a better all around canoe. My paddling experience includes Class IV rapids to week long canoe trips in Canada.
Submit your own review!

07-29-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Have 2 Dagger 16 ft. canoes - one green and one red. Both are tandem canoes and we purchased snap in center seats for the grandkids and godchildren. We love them. We usually paddle the Coosa River in Wetumpka, AL and use Southern Trails in Montgomery, AL as out outfitter. We also belong to the Coosa River Paddling Club for shuttles.
Submit your own review!

07-29-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned a Dagger Legend 16 with wood gunwales for several years. The boat is well made and the Legend 16 is a versatile, high volume hull design. It paddles easily and is responsive. In my opinion, the boat is best suited for people who want to paddle a variey of situations from flat water to moderate white water and/or for river tripping.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale