Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Sea Eagle > 380x Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for 380x Kayak by Sea Eagle


Rated: 8.18/10 Based On: 17 Reviews


Length: 12' 6" - Width: 39.00" - Starting at: $999.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Sea Eagle Logo



09-23-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     What a great inflatable kayak. I have been kayaking for over 20 years in a variety of hard shell kayaks. Being of age now and having had several surgeries, my legs just aren't what they used to be, so I have been searching for a solution to getting out of our kayaks with my weakened legs. I fitted it with a seat similar to the optional fishing seat, and what a dream come true. It is so stable and easy to get in and out of now. I can keep up with my wife in her 13' Perception America except in strong wind. Sitting higher in the fishing seat as opposed to the Deluxe or Pro Highback seats makes paddling a breeze.
I highly recommend this kayak fitted with or without the optional fishing seat.

Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
07-20-2012
Submitted by: PHSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     We purchased one a few years back and had used it a few times...performance was so-so. The kayak isn't very steady, always feeling like its going to tip over, even on a calm lake. Material does feel very thick and durable but after using it about 4 or 5 times we put it away for some time, and when we re-inflated it had stains all over. We contacted sea eagle to see what to do about and sent them pictures, but nothing. They recommended simple green and said that would probably not work and would not affect the performance of the boat...I wish I would have gone with a hardshell, even a cheap hardshell would have been better.
Submit your own review!

08-18-2010
Submitted by: WessSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We purchased this boat this spring as a whitewater tandem since my wife was wary of paddling alone. We intended on running the upper New in WV. The boat is great in mild whitewater...with the valves closed. We ran the Lower Yough in SW PA this weekend. A much smaller river that packs a big punch with most of the rapids rated III/IV. We still ran with the valves closed because if the rear paddler is a little larger, he sits in about 2 inches of water that slows quick moves required on this river to a great extent. Getting hung up on a rock can spell disaster as the boat quickly fills with water and made it like trying to turn a battleship. I have contacted Sea Eagle to find if an additional floor can be added or a thicker floor installed to displace the water that enters when the valves are open.

I still like the boat but with the design as it is, the floor needs to be thicker to displace the water so the rear paddler sits at or above the water level and the self bailing feature really works, because as it is now, it really isn't a self-bailer, at least not with the high back seats.
I can attest to the fact that even filled to the brim, it still CAN be paddled.

Submit your own review!

07-20-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is my first kayak. I've rented hard shells for flat water paddling. I've been on commercial rafting trips through class IV.
My first impression of the 380X is the rugged construction. I took it out in the San Francisco Bay the day I received it in 30 knot winds. I really couldn't control the direction or make any headway by myself. On a lake the next day with little wind the boat was great.

I have the optional fixed rudder and I think it helps the tracking. I ordered the thigh straps and took it to South Fork American Fork to run the Gorge. It was flowing 1500 cps. With two people first time, self guiding, class II rapids blind, the boat forgave our many mistakes. For the class III section we had an experienced guide showing us the lines. We flipped in a scary place but I was able to dolphin kick myself back in kayak in calmer waters. The guide we met was impressed with the boat's capabilities and the boat really forgave our many mistakes.

Submit your own review!

09-15-2009
Submitted by: DWCSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've been padding solo canoe and kayak (hard shell) for nine years. Just got my 380X last of August. Outfitted it for W.W. Got the optional bow float and made a custom foot rest. Added a set of thigh straps. These two elements are key for W.W. First 3 times on the lake. Did 6 miles on a narrow dam controlled river. Class I high 2's. Had to get technical with some moves. With drains open the boat looses performance because all the water doesn't exit the boat. At the end of the run it was holding quite a bit of water under the floor. This makes the boat handle sluggish. Thinking of retrofitting the floor with foam. With the rib shape of air floor water has a place to accumulate.
Submit your own review!

09-15-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After a lot of online research, I picked up a Sea Eagle Explorer 380 in June. Spent the summer fishing the Cannon and Mississippi river from the Explorer. This is one well put together boat, very tough and stable. My son and I did a run down the Porneuf river through Lava Hot Springs, many rapids and small waterfalls. At not time during all my trips I have I felt unstable like a regular kayak. The boat does not track like a regular kayak, but some practice in rowing and the rear stabilizer helps (think quick shallow strokes). I works well for two people to fish out of. My recommendation would be skip the tall back seats and go with the deluxe kayak seats, much better back support and comfort. They also let you sit 4 inches higher for easier fishing. The deluxe foot pump allows me to fill up the kayak in 5 minutes or less. Yes the Sea Eagle Explorer is more expensive but I look forward to many years of kayaking without it wearing out.
Submit your own review!

09-09-2008
Submitted by: QuigleySend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

      Paddled at the Bay of Quinte in Ontario.

With the directional stabilizer boat tracks straight & moves slower than a kayak but faster than a canoe.

Paddling into a strong headwind requires effort but this is really a great boat that will handle open water & for some reason is easier paddled sitting up front as possible, & even easier when there is some weight behind you as the boat will carry it's momentum better.

Big waves & boat wake are easily handled & still water is surprisingly fast.

Tandem paddling gets you moving at a brisk pace & there is lots of room for two people to sit comfortably with some gear.

The Deluxe seat will put you higher up than the Pro seat & is also a good platform for fishing. You can jump from the dock into the boat without worrying about tipping.

This is a very fun boat & it will do everything from solo to tandem paddling with relative ease. The 380X was faster than the 340X solo. See my 340X review.

Submit your own review!

06-19-2008
Submitted by: KenSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've been fishing lakes in a Sea Eagle 420X for the past week. Most days in pretty high winds. ANY inflatable watercraft is going to be lumbering on flat water and catch wind like a sail. Nature of the beast. But the SE 420X was BY FAR the best inflatable I have ever used...AND my absolute favorite fly fishing boat of all time. I ordered a 380X after the 2nd day. I don't need the extra length of the 420X.

I paddled this boat for hours in 30 mph wind on an East Texas lake, transiting open water and along shoreline structure while fishing. I have no qualms with the way it handles. Does it handle as well as a hard boat? Yes... a canoe. But not a kayak. But for an inflatable kayak, that's as good as it gets! I even paddled the boat for an hour while my brother fished where I was sitting in the bow and he was fishing from the stern. 290 lbs of former football lineman sitting over the skeg and 30 mph winds...and I had no problem keeping him in position for fishing the shoreline we were covering.

But my favorite things about this boat are that it is ultimately comfortable and it has nothing on it to foul a fly line when fishing. These are the two most important ingredients for any fishing boat in my world.

Submit your own review!

01-29-2008
Submitted by: JPSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     We purchased a 340x and a 380X one each for my spouse and I in 2007. We are experienced paddlers with canoes and hard shell sea kayaks. While the Sea Eagles are sold as kayaks, they are really more like an inflatable Canoes (in terms of load carrying) that you paddle like a kayak, and which behaves like a raft.

In flatwater any substantial wind will seriously affect your progress and while this may be true of all water craft the effects are really serious with the sea eagle. We purchased the boats for long (read 7+ days) treks in rivers of Canadian wilderness. The boats are great for that. Have taken them in Class 3 rapids fully loaded, while you do get wet, the boat rides the rapids just like a raft. No more long portages. One benefit of these inflating crafts is that they load on aircraft at a fraction of the cost (or impossible for) hard shell watercraft. They pack inside your vehicle and no wind drag. We plan more river trips in 2008.

I agree with most other positive comments on this site (regarding comfort, paddling, skeg etc). When loaded with equipment in flat water with chop the self bailing plugs usually do not work very well.

Submit your own review!

08-31-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I first reviewed my 14 foot Sea Eagle in 2004 & thought I would add a couple of observations. I have used the boat in a wide variety of conditions & I still enjoy the boat's versatility. She excells at camping & load carrying. We took her to Baja Sur Mexico & was a comfortable day long fishing craft during an extended camping trip. Also discovered that she was perfect for birding & approaching wildlife - very quiet - you can't make noise if you bump your paddle into the side. Can be a bear in the Sea of Cortez winds, but all the paddlers I saw were working hard. Now that I have a home, I plan to buy a hard boat that I can throw onto the roof of my truck & go. The ritual of inflating, deflating, & wrestling her into a packable unit grows tiresome for casual paddles around the area. I could leave her ready to go, but fear the elements would get to her. Still, she has been a great boat & I will hang on to her for road trips & other suitable adventures.
Submit your own review!

08-19-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought the 380 two years ago as a go anywhere boat. Nope this won't give you a hard shell's performance on flat water but if you are looking for quality, load capacity and at an economical price, this is a great boat. The skeg will really help out in flat water as will not carrying your stroke past 90 degrees otherwise you get that left/right fishtail go nowhere movement. The hull is rugged raft type material. This is a great multi purpose boat which will find itself at home in an apt closet.
Submit your own review!

07-22-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought the boat 2 years ago because my wife insisted on a tandem. As it turns out, this boat is a perfect starting out boat for newbys. With the skeg mounted, the tracking is good on flat water, I think this boat may be impossible to capsize, we have paddled the Puget Sound and many lakes between there and Los Angeles. It handles ocean as well as lakes. I haven't tryed witewater yet in it but plan to next month. I strongly recommend this boat if you are thinking about giving Kayaks a try for the first time. I also own hard kayaks but we keep coming back to the Sea Eagle because it is stress free and holds everything you could want.
Submit your own review!

07-05-2004
Submitted by: JTRSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     First, this kayak is not comparable to a "hard" kayak, but it will fit in the backseat or trunk of the smallest car when deflated. I purchased the boat to be used as a fishing craft in swift river situations. I have now owned this craft for 2 years. It handles well and performs admirably up to class III (I have not had to brave anything higher so far). The optional stablizer is almost necessary for flat water paddling. It is certainly a tough craft. I have bounced off many rocks and often suspend the craft on rocks to fish. I have even stood up in this kayak but this is definitely not recommended nor safe. The 380 is a good stable IK for fishing or fun in moderate white water. By the way, the fly fisherman's optional seat will raise your seated position about 3 inches--very helpful when fishing.
Submit your own review!

06-01-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I puchased the 380x because I have no place to keep a hard boat right now. I have been very pleased with craft, accepting its limitations. It is broad & doesn't have the speed of a sleek hard boat, but you gain a ton of comfort. For camping it's hard to beat its gear carrying capacity (850 lbs) and it's by far the most stable boat I've owned. The removable skeg permits very straight tracking & it can be removed for whitewater. I've paddled the California coast, Lake Mead, Kern River & lower Colorado river & the boats versatility has been exceptional. If you accept the craft for what she is, you have a versatile workhorse that will handle a variety of conditions.
Submit your own review!

05-02-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     Not bad for an inflatable kayak. Though it is a very hard boat to paddle in flat water (maybe due to the large surface area in contact with the water) VERY VERY poor tracking for beginners in flat water. This is contrary to what they state on their web site .I think on their site they stated that there could be "hours and hours of flat water paddling enjoyment". Well, for beginners, it's going to be hours and hours of paddling in circles. That was my only major disappointment. (According to their website though, an optional stablizer is suppose to help improve tracking greatly. Another 40 bucks US) I haven't tried the boat yet in white water but from the looks of it, it's built to last so when I get better I'm definitely going to take her down a class 2 or 3. Prepare to get WET! because of the boats width, the water dripping from the paddles tend to drip on the pontoons and splash back into your lap or your seat. I will be upgrading my paddles as the flat ones that came with the boat weigh a ton. Other than those few things, this boat is good price wise and is pretty portable. I hope that with enough time and experience, maybe the boat will prove itself to me.
Submit your own review!

05-14-2002
Submitted by: MSTSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Been paddling the 380x for one full season in whitewater. This boat can handle up to class IV- pretty well. It is made of a hard WW Raft-like material, Denier 1100. The boat is 12' long and about 36" wide. Tracks well in moving water, tracks poor flatwater.

The only drawback is that it floods rather quickly in big water. It drains eventually, but if you get stuck in a big hole, you sure do feel like you are one with the river!

It comes with inflatable seats, but I prefer to paddle it kneeling down. It is still quite comfortable and you can see a whole lot of the river downstream.

If you are looking for an inexpensive white water "Ducky" this boat has what it takes to get you out on the river safely. I have just upgraded to a WW K1 and will not be selling this boat due to the overall amount of fun I had last whitewater season. It will always find its way back to the river.

Submit your own review!

05-02-2002
Submitted by: RTSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I know, it's not a hard shell kayak...but it never claimed to be. I just took my Sea Eagle on her maiden voyage and was satisfied with my first trip. It really only took 5-10 minutes to blow up with the foot pump. and after hooking up some seats and attaching the optional 'directional stabilizer', a friend and I paddled across a nearby lake.

Two 6' 180lb guys fit in the kayak/canoe comfortably. If I would have adjusted the straps on my seat more I could have put my legs straight out, so the interior has plenty of room. I haven't tried it without the rudder/stabilizer; with the stabilizer in place it tracked straight. I felt the 380x was a sturdy, reliable craft. Since the bottom has so much surface area you can't get moving that fast, but it turns ok and is comfortable. One negative is that it seems a bit wide for the type of strokes I wanted to do. Since you're not packed in like a sardine you've gotta pay for that comfort somehow!

I'll try to post a follow up when I do some summer paddling, but I predict this will be very enjoyable for some leisurely River Running and Class I/II action, with a little current to keep things interesting.

For someone looking for a recreational paddling solution, the 380x is a nice combination of comfort, stability, and portability.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!











Space Trailers :



GRUMMAN CANOES
FREE SHIPPING on all canoes until May 14
See Paddling.net for great reviews
www.canoeinglife.com

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale