Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Langford Canoe Co. > Prospector 16 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Prospector 16 Canoe by Langford Canoe Co.


Rated: 8.14/10 Based On: 7 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



04-07-2014
Submitted by: DW
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been canoeing for 35 years, first as a guide at a summer camp. I have owned 2 Swifts (still have them) a Langford and a trusty old Scott Canoe. I have never owned a better canoe than the Langford Prospector 16.6. The canoe was lighter than they claimed, and has seen me through 3 years of paddling. Since retiring I spend the entire paddling season on the water (1500 to 1800 KM a year). Great service and the young chap that manages their Dwight location knows more about what he is selling than any other sales person I have dealt with. They should clone him!
Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
03-12-2013
Submitted by: LbSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a prospector from the store in Dorset. Wanted keel protectors put on it. The woman couldn't give me a price or time it could be done. At one point I thought I was dealing with Bell Canada. So I drove up the the store, talked to the young man who managed the store, he gave me a price, got the work done....That week. I wonder how much business Langford has lost because of that woman.

Love the canoe, dealing with their office, not so much.

Submit your own review!

05-07-2010
Submitted by: WillSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     Great tripping canoe, but customer service sucks. Needed keel guards and some repairs after several seasons of wear. Quoted a price in October and left canoe at factory. Waited until Feb, so I called and was told no work had been done and the cost was three times the quote. HOW, WHY,... communicate with the customer!!! I picked it up un-repaired, and will never go there again. Pretty sad!!
Submit your own review!

09-17-2009
Submitted by: Bernard ShawSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The summer of 2008 brought me two things: my new Kevlar Prospector 16.6, and what I feel was the extension of my life and my wife's. I think I quite literally owe my wife's life and my own to my new canoe. I was caught out on Superior (a stupid move on my part) in what went from a smooth as glass calm day to the most frightening paddle of (for) my life. My heavily laden canoe carrying at least 900 pounds or more stayed dry and upright in 8 foot rollers. We were able - by the grace of god and Langford's superior boat building skills - to put into shore after a 4 hour battle to survive.
Submit your own review!

07-22-2008
Submitted by: JDHSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I purchased this canoe and picked it up on a Friday on my way to Algonquin. After just a day and a half in the water I noticed that the bottom of the canoe was bowing up between the fourth, fifth and six ribs in excess of an inch. I returned with the boat on the way home and expressed my concerns. I was told that I should expect that and that I had unrealistic expectations for the materials. The manager didn't even bother to put it in the water and see what I was talking about. He continued to belittle me and my fiancée and tell us that we should have bought a more expensive canoe. On the plus side he did refund my money. I doubt that we’ll ever buy or recommend a Langford canoe again. The customer service was dreadful... We would have accepted a replacement or even an upgrade but neither option was presented. The manager chose to be belligerent and arrogant telling us that we would never find a canoe anywhere that wouldn’t do that…
Submit your own review!

06-23-2008
Submitted by: EAGRANTSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Had this Canoe for two Years. Purchased the Kevlar model with front and back enforced keel. Great for two but love it as a Solo with the Dog. Tested many before this purchase. 49 lbs
Submit your own review!

10-26-2001
Submitted by: SRiCH
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've paddled my Langford Prospector (Kevlar) for 2 full seasons. I love this boat. At 58 lbs it is easy to portage. It tracks well yet turns quickly. I have paddled it both solo an tandem. It has good initial stability and great secondary stability. I have paddled this on Large/Small lakes and rivers and stayed dry in large wave. My family have used this for trips up to 9 days. I would not hesitate to recommend this boat.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!











Paddling.net T-Shirt Sale:



GRUMMAN CANOES
FREE SHIPPING on all canoes until May 14
See Paddling.net for great reviews
www.canoeinglife.com

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale