Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Suunto Orca Compass Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Suunto Orca Compass


Rated: 7.56/10 Based On: 9 Reviews

Research Safety & Rescue in the Buyers' Guide!
Safety & Rescue
View Safety & Rescue in Buyers' Guide



11-22-2013
Submitted by: JohnSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     update from Aug post. (see below)
Suunto has yet to send me a compass to replace mine. They ask for pictures and the bill of sale which I forwarded to UT address. I mailed the defective compass where they ask using USPS. After 3 weeks I call to see what happen and they tell me they don't use USPS and don't pick up at the address they told me to send it to. Then they said the RMA number is not right but it is what they gave me. They said they will look after week to see if they can find it.

They could not find it so they ask me where I sent it and they told me it was the wrong service center LOL they told me. They can't find it so I mail them the delivery conformation from USPS. They jerk me around for weeks going back and forth. Ten emails and probably over an hour on phone. Then they finally say they will for good send another one. Gee thanks they screwed up everything. After two weeks the mail one from Finland and it is different as there are lose bungees and hooks and a base plate with two screws. No clue where the bungees go as there are no holes in the plastic base like the first one. So now they what a picture of what they sent LOL I said don't you know what you sent? They want a picture of it sent. I told them no I gave them the model number on the box and described it. It is not on the USA website. I sent them a link from their website as to what I have.

So that is where I am since Aug and it is now Nov. After every email of phone call they want a survey LOL. This is the most dysfunctional company I have ever dealt with in my life. I will see what they say this week. They have to escalate it they keep telling me. You can buy it on Ebay for 39 new so what did it cost them to make less than 10 bucks? They spend on ton on time with all the BS so far. I said you need to email me a shipping label and I will send what you sent back and send me what I linked them to from there website. Now it is a matter of principle but truthfully I would rather be lost at sea.they suck

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
08-19-2013
Submitted by: JohnSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     Worked good while it worked the first year. Easy on and off the deck. One problem all the dampening fluid escaped. No clue how, I took it out of the rubber housing and don't see where it came out unless a seam but shaking it does let any come out. For just under 70 dollars I am now disappointed. I will see what the company says when I email them...
Submit your own review!

03-29-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Because I don't need to use a compass around here, the removability of the Orca is a plus. It's easy to put on for locations where I do need a compass on deck. I also like to remove everything from the deck when transporting my kayak. Aside from that, I like to place the compass closer to me than way ahead in the kayak's compass recess. It's easier to read this way.

I checked the Orca against two Silva hiker compasses, one of them purchased about 20 years ago. All three matched. Big thumbs up for this reasonably priced, flexible-use product.

Submit your own review!

08-08-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just a note on the previous review: the well for a 70P compass is exactly (by design?) the diameter of the Orca's base. In other words, the Suunto fits in there perfectly. View angle is a different matter. The Suunto spins at pretty high angles but is easier to read from above or broadside; at 45° you're looking through an unpolished distorting radius.

Soft chassis allows it to sit in a molded well, perch on a hatch cover or cling to a deck without scratching or slipping. The weakness of impermanent compasses is a lubber line that shifts if the lanyards go askew. A sticky soft base is meant to answer to that.

Submit your own review!

10-02-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I own a P & H capella RM 166 which has a built in recess for a Silva compass. I liked the location so got some sturdy black foam and cut it to 95x95mm, and 40mm high at one side down to 3mm at the other-a wedge shape. I used small velcro pieces(stick-on)and this now gives a level foam platform to put the compass on. I had to modify the bungees and used the existing deck fittings in a 3-way style but the result is pretty damn good..oh- the compass is a quality bit of kit too, my only problem is that the rubber housing is a little too soft and distorts if too much stress is placed on it (over-tight bungees etc). Suunto seem to make a plastic cleat which can be screwed to the deck, which the body of the compass can be stretched over and held in place with 4 plastic pins going through the (now clear) bungee holes, but I don't fancy doing this permanent damage, others may if they can track down the cleat!
Submit your own review!

09-13-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Suunto compass seems to be the most prevalent around (e.g. eBay), but I must say, this small oil-filled dandy is a great piece. I have GPS so thought compass what the heck, no need. Well, I use it on every trip now (even when GPS is left at home). Gives me something to start at when I am paddling away, and sort of interesting to see where north is…very confusing at times on rivers and in coves. Do I actually USE it for navigation on lakes and streams, no. Is it fun and interesting, yes.
Submit your own review!

08-22-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I'm well pleased with the Orca. It mounts quickly and easily on the deck of my Pungo with the addition of some rigging lines to the boat. It's very very easy to adjust the bungee for mounting differences...you can either retie or just twist for a temporary fit. After having dragged this compass around the wilderness for a few days, I'd say it's durable. Great product.
Submit your own review!

06-03-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I agree with the previous review. This compass is very portable and funtional. I did have a problem with my compass cracking and leaking after a minor fall from tailgate level. What impressed me was how helpful Suunto was in replacing the unit (which has a 3 year warranty). It is nice to see a large, international firm stand behind its products. Great customer service!
Submit your own review!

08-10-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I picked this compass up based on the size, price and reputation of the manufacturer. Just a couple of notes. Suunto states that the minimum spread between the hooks should be 17". This is not an absolute since all you need do is turn the compass over, untie the bungee, shorten it and tie it again. The plastic snap hooks that are supplied are just a tad bulky but they are easy to use. The only real complaint I had was the rubberized plastic housing had a little upward point molded into it in the front. this point actually obstructs the view of the graduations on the dial but a quick slice with a fresh razor blade took the nib off and now it's readable from low angles. Seems durable and can be moved from boat to boat effortlessly.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt