Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Wilderness Systems > Bandit Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Bandit Kayak by Wilderness Systems


Rated: 9.6/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



03-31-2011
Submitted by: joshSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This kayak is the best for my use. I live in Alaska and I needed a kayak that would serve me well in the ocean. I've caught many fish out of this little yak. I've also hunted black tail deer out of it and have gotten some dandies. The best time I ever had with it was when I hooked a 50 pound halibut and landed the damn thing. I highly recommend this kayak to everyone, super safe, super stable and has the potential to pack quite a load.
Submit your own review!

03-28-2003
Submitted by: Kayak KrazySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have only been paddling for about a year and had a Kiwi to start out. The Bandit is AWESOME in comparison. I have taken it on everything from lakes to rivers to Class II+ rapids and this thing is unstoppable. My friends with more experience than I were very impressed when we shot the rapids on the upper Russian River. Yee Haw! Great boat, great price!
Submit your own review!

11-21-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     I found the Bandit to be very comfortable and ultra-stable, even in choppy water. Would be a great boat for a beginner who freaks in a tippy boat, because this thing is like sitting on your living-room couch! Decent tracking for such a short yak, too. Unfortunately, the depth of the boat would not allow someone with legs any bigger than mine (I'm 230 lbs and stocky, with legs like tree trunks..) to sit in it very well. It's plenty wide, but not deep enough. Nice little beginner boat, but I didn't buy it because I suspect my skills would outgrow it in a matter of months.
Submit your own review!

08-29-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought the Bandit in January and have used it for lake paddling. This boat fits my needs perfectly. The Phase 3 seat (standard equipment) is adjustable for backrest height and thigh support (I often get envious comments from other kayakers). Compared to my sit-on-top, this boat is a breeze to carry and load - two longitudinal channels on the hull are for tracking but also provide a great handhold for carrying. I can easily carry the boat the two blocks from my cabin to the lake.

If you want a fast boat, get one that is longer and narrower than the Bandit. If you want a small boat that tracks pretty well and provides a comfortable way to get some exercise and scenery on the lake, this is a great choice.

Submit your own review!

07-03-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just bought my Bandit from CampMor in NJ for $369. It's a delight to take out on our small lake - very stable and comfortable, especially for my petite-ish frame (5' 2" and 130 lbs.). One of the lovelier aspects is that it is easy to get in and out of; the seat is also terrific! I'm delighted with my first kayak. If only they made it in purple!
Submit your own review!

04-24-2002
Submitted by: MKSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After buying a popular sit-on-top kayak, I promptly took it back after one time out and exchanged it for a Bandit (Wilderness Systems). The Rascal is considered their better "small" kayak, but I opted for the Bandit due to its open cockpit (which allows you to put your knees up, and put a tackle box between your legs), and its hull design (while the Rascal has a more keel-like design, which is better for paddling down the rivers, the Bandit has a flat bottom with two channels that help it track, and allow it to clear in 3 inches of water). It tracks well for a kayak under 10 feet, is quite stable, is faster than the sit-on-top models I tried, and it even fits in my 2-door Explorer (without any passengers :)
Submit your own review!

03-26-2002
Submitted by: MontanaSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is my first kayak purchase. I've used other borrowed kayaks, mainly whitewater style with limited initial stability. I chose the Bandit because I don't really plan on going above class 2 waters. The boat is extremely stable and the seating system is a god-send for a 40 year man who has punished his body in outdoor sports. Felt comfortable in both rapids and on flat water. I've never been a fisherman, but this may turn me into one. I'm 6 feet tall and 185, and had no problem with the fit. At 42 pounds, portaging for long distance can be tiring, so if you to go a bit I highly recommend a set of portage wheels. Great kayak!
Submit your own review!

09-10-2001
Submitted by: KAYAKPADDLER
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great little boat! It can do more than the brochure for it says it can. I'm 5' 9" 225 pounds and I was surfing class 2 waves in the Mohawk River with it! Right along side my 2 partners Dagger WW boats .The brochure said its for lakes and flat river paddling . Only my 3rd time in a kayak, this boat is extremely stable. Handled those class 2 rapids with no problem. I'm sure it could handle bigger water! Was gonna get a white water boat in the spring but now I'm not so sure I think this boat is all I'm gonna need. Did a 15 mile paddle on the Schroon River and it wasn't too taxing a boat to paddle.
Submit your own review!

09-10-2001
Submitted by: KAYAKPADDLERSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great little boat! It can do more than the brochure for it says it can. I'm 5' 9" 225 pounds and I was surfing class 2 waves in the Mohawk River with it! Right along side my 2 partners Dagger WW boats .The brochure said its for lakes and flat river paddling . Only my 3rd time in a kayak, this boat is extremely stable. Handled those class 2 rapids with no problem. I'm sure it could handle bigger water! Was gonna get a white water boat in the spring but now I'm not so sure I think this boat is all I'm gonna need. Did a 15 mile paddle on the Schroon River and it wasn't too taxing a boat to paddle.
Submit your own review!

04-09-2001
Submitted by: kayaker75Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I Purchased the 'Bandit' after quite a bit of research but, because it was a new model and I had to order it without actually seeing it, did not paddle it before I took delivery. I was sold on it just by studying catalogs from 5 different boat manufacturers. I figured at 9'4" and with a paddler weight rating of 250 pounds, I could fit my 6'0" 220 pound frame into it. WRONG! I absolutely loved the boat. I took it on the water for about 20 to 30 minutes and found that it was unbelievably stable, tracked great, had good speed, awesome maneuverability, was good looking, and an all around great boat. But defintely NOT for paddlers my size. There was no way I could spend a whole day crammed into that boat. But, it truly broke my heart to have to return it. I was lucky that I went through a great outfitter who gave me a full store credit and allowed me to trade up to a bigger boat. Larger paddlers should look elsewhere, but for smaller paddlers I heartily endorse and highly recommed the 'Bandit'.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt