Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Mad River Canoe > Explorer 15 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Explorer 15 Canoe by Mad River Canoe


Rated: 9.71/10 Based On: 7 Reviews


Explorer 15 Canoe by Mad River Canoe

Length: 14' 9" - Width: 35.8" - Starting at: $1699.00
See More Details about this Canoe
Mad River Canoe Logo



09-19-2010
Submitted by: EvSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My wife and I bought the 15rx (don't think they make that model anymore) about 9 years ago. I use it all the time to trout fish the Caney Fork (Middle TN), and a lot of other small creeks and big lakes in the State. It's a great boat and plan on buying another as our family is growing. Best canoe there is by far. I stand up (not for beginners) while I fly fish if alone. Also have taken it on long over night trips with old college buddies. We have loaded it down to max cap. and she does fine. It cost a little more than most but well worth it if you have paddle other canoes you will realize. Get the royalex if you like light weight and your river is abusive. Can't say enough but I had better. Can't wait til I buy the 16rx.
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
05-12-2008
Submitted by: CoyoteSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My main attributes for a canoe were: decent solo paddling boat, light touring boat, easy to handle (portage) solo, good for the small streams and rivers in Georgia, and the occasional lake. I have to say that this boat fits well and covers my needs. It paddles well kneeling in the middle, in front of the bow seat (turned around). Very stable for polling and fishing, with good initial and secondary stability. My boat is not IQ equipped. I would definitely buy again.
Submit your own review!

08-29-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     One year later...
I'm still in love with my boat. It's proved to be everything I wanted for both solo and tandem paddling. Anyone looking for a good all-arounder, this is it. Also the IQ System is great, although I have had trouble finding a dealer to purchase accessories from, but that's just a regional thing. I'd buy another one if I needed it!

Submit your own review!

08-25-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Mad River Explorer 15 from Appomattox River Company in Farmville, Virginia based on their recommendation of a good all around river boat for up to Class II rivers I paddle here in Central Virginia. My Explorer is Royalex, with the IQ system and I couldn't be happier with the choice all the way around. The movable seats are a joy for getting just the right trim, it only takes seconds to move the seats, and can even be done while in the canoe and on the river. It is especially useful when I switch from tandem to solo at lunch break and go play in the rapids. I've added the front spray skirt to handle the bigger wave trains on Class II and Class III rapids, along with air bags and lacing system and padded carry yoke. The IQ system is very well thought out and performs flawlessly once you get the hang of hooking the attachments in the proper slots. I also added kevlar skid plates to bow and stern because of the sharp ledges I paddle in. At first I was surprised at the amount of oil canning in the floor in rapids, but others tell me that Royalex canoes are prone to do that, and it doesn't seem to interfere with performance at all. I bought the 15-foot instead of the 16-foot Explorer for ease of handling solo on the twisted little rivers I paddle and for car topping. I've had two 225# paddlers in this boat and still plenty of freeboard for gear. I rate it a 10 and the IQ system an 11. Well done to Mad River Canoe, they have done a really good job with this boat.
Submit your own review!

08-24-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've bought an Explorer 15RX with IQ system and I love it. After I picked it up from my outfitter, we attended a family reunion on Guntersville Lake. It really proved it's worth because everyone wanted a "ride". Adjusting the seats forward or backward made it easy to keep it trim. I agree with the other reviewers - it tracks well and is very responsive. Big step up from my old Coleman. It only needs one add on - anyone know a good yoke?:)
Submit your own review!

08-20-2004
Submitted by: PBBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have demo'd 5 other boats before I settled on this one. It tracks pretty good for a 15'er on flat water, but in rougher water is where this boat stands out above the rest, I use it to paddle the coastline and it provides a very smooth, predictable ride in waves and wind. The only other boat that I found to be as good is the Swift Dumoine, but costs $500 more than the Explorer. It holds me and my partner along with lots of camping gear with no problem. I think this is the most versitile canoe on the market for under $1000.
Submit your own review!

10-24-2000
Submitted by: John S.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have been paddling a Bule Hole Starburst, great boat for tandam whitewater. However not a good boat for flatwater, or solo paddling. I wanted a boat that would handle nicely on flatwater and up to class II whitewater, wanted the flexibility to solo or tandam paddle. The Explorer 15 fits my needs. Mine is Royalex with Ash, looks as good as it paddles. This is a brand new boat for Mad Rivers lineup. Even though this is a new boat I can tell that it is a winner for me. Handles great in all water that its been in so far! Only concern is that it is a little small for an extended tandam camping trip. Will review again when I have done more with it. GREAT SO FAR!!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt