Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Trinity Bay > Critter Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Critter Kayak by Trinity Bay


Rated: 8.4/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-12-2008
Submitted by: gpSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I bought two Critters this spring, my first kayaks. I have mostly used them on the river but also have my two sons and nephew. The Critters have performed well for this purpose. They are very stable, lightweight and maneuverable. Best of all I can store them on my condo deck. I will probably need a spray skirt for rougher/cooler weather.
Submit your own review!

07-29-2002
Submitted by: Papa BearSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Super boat for family fun. Seat is a bit of a bother. I fish from a Micro Poke Boat but the Critter is how family members go on the water with me and we all like it!
Submit your own review!

01-15-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased this boat as my first kayak early last season and was absolutely thrilled with it. It is incredibly stable, handles my slightly larger frame nicely and the kids love it. It's perfect for lazy water and class I or II, but I wouldn't recomend anything gnarlier. It has made my kayaking experience so enjoyable, I bought an older Perception Dancer for speed and playing, but still use the Critter regularily.
Submit your own review!

09-10-2001
Submitted by: HeebeegeebeesSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just purchased a Wilderness Systems Bandit,my first kayak. (same thing as a Critter except it has a padded seat,Wilderness Systems is the parent company of Trinity Bay). Also bought a spray skirt. In my 3rd time in a kayak I was wave surfing a class 2 rapid with it, with no problem! Along side a couple of Dagger white water boats. Going down the the class 2 was even easier! I'm sure it could handle more. And i'm 5'9 225 pounds. Not exactly a lite weight. Boat handled great,and is super stable. Add a couple of thigh braces and she could roll with no problem. The week before I did a 14-15 mile trip on the Schroon River in it, and wasn't overly tired. Seems like a great all around boat, it can do alot more than the brochure says it can! I give it two thumbs up!
Submit your own review!

08-30-2001
Submitted by: Vinny Occhipinti
Rating: 5 of 10

     Actually, there are 2 reviews this kayak should get -- each based on the intended use. I like to go far and fast, and I find the Critter by Trinity Bay to be sluggish towards this end. Thus I would rate it a 5. However, I know those who are only interested in short trips, or who want to bring along a child or enable an older child to go solo. In this regard, the boat gets an 8 or a 9. As with everything, context is important. Therefore, I hand you these TWO reviews, based upon needs. You need to first determine what your needs are.
Submit your own review!

07-06-2001
Submitted by: SteveSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Good recreation boat for all around use. It is a very stable boat. This is one of four kayaks that I own. I have had this boat on about 20 trips. The boat does best in flat, calm or slow moving water. I have had it in mild chop up to class 2. The foam in the nose came out as soon as I got it home. I had to reglue it and have had no other problems. I would recommend it for someone just getting started and you can not beat the price.
Submit your own review!

05-22-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great little boat! I use mine on lakes, & lazy rivers, needs a spray skirt to keep the chop out.I would recommend it to anyone.
Submit your own review!

05-11-2001
Submitted by: ProfDonSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I needed a boat light enough to carry alone despite my COPD problems. I am delighted it has proven to be so versatile. I bought a spray skirt for it and love paddling all alone in the rain.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2001
Submitted by: Steve HSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this boat because it is small enough and stable enough for my 9 year old, 55 lb. daughter. She enjoys it; so do I! It is very easy to move around, easy entry, tracks fairly well. Could use a spray skirt to keep out the chop.
Submit your own review!

09-28-2000
Submitted by: KaroSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I like this for calm rivers or ponds to fish out of maybe another boat for ww.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale