Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Mohawk Canoes > Odyssey 15T Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Odyssey 15T Canoe by Mohawk Canoes


Rated: 7.7/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



07-29-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned my Odyssey since 2002 and absolutely love it. Very versatile boat. I paddle mainly on the National scenic Riverways here in Missouri. I've paddled solo and tandem, on multi day camping trips and class 2 day trips.

Excellent secondary stability, good turning ability, Perfect for 1 person and gear a little cramped for two people and gear, but we don't normally travel very light on these trips. Not real fast but fairly quick and responsive.

Overall a great boat that has held up well over the years (and I paddle a lot!) My next boat will probably be a Mohawk also..

Submit your own review!

04-15-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     About Me: I am 5'11" 280 lbs. I consider myself an avid paddler with advanced experience and a beginners budget. I mainly fish, bird watch, and camp out of my Odyssey 15T. I mainly paddle on my knees. I mostly paddle solo from the rear seat facing backwards (this helps balance the boat). I have paddled many small creeks to the Mississippi River, closed mangrove swamps to open reservoirs, and even participated in several 10 mile plus races (usually finishing toward the rear). This is my fourth canoe, second Mohawk. I bought this boat mainly to paddle solo with my kid up front as ballast.

About my Odyssey 15T: This boat is six years old, Royalex, tandem setup. What I love about this boat is it is light and easy to get on and off the water all by myself. When I get home from work I can toss it on the car at a whim and be fishing in 30min. It has very good secondary stability which scares newbies but gives me confidence in sketchy situations. It has never flipped (honestly). It has enough room for me, my fishing gear, and liberal comforts on camping trips with the kid. On rare occasions when the wife does come along I have the tandem option which keeps her happy. This boat is very quiet for birdwatching and wildlife viewing. It excels in sloughs and mangroves hidden from the wind, stalking Redfish or Ivory Bill Woodpeckers. The nylon weave seats are very durable and comfortable facing either direction.

At $900 new this boat was a good buy. This boat is not fast! In flat water I average 2.8 mph. It tracks a little on the poor side so you spend a lot of time correcting course. A J-Stroke just isn't enough, you will have to crossover if you want to go any distance fast. It also has some flex in the hull that absorbs the energy of your stroke rather than pushing your boat forward.

This boat is "tippy" to the inexperienced paddler. A friend of mine got out of her Old Town Discovery 169 and was scared to death at the lack of primary stability in the Odyssey 15T. My biggest complaint is that, after six years, the outer layer of Royalex cracked. I have decided to live with it. It does not track as straight as a 17' speed demon, nor does it have the stability of a fat 14' sportster. If you have a low budget and want one boat that does a good job at everything then this is good choice. I have not regretted my purchase.

Submit your own review!

04-01-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought the 15' Odyssey set up for solo. I'm approx. 230 lbs. and use it primarily for fishing and camping and its great for that. I also use it in the spring after ice out in the local river and it is fantastic. I can keep up with the tandems I paddle with. The stability is pretty good. I like to paddle healed and feel very comfortable. Its a little on the slow side, but its not designed for speed. It's royalex, it's a tough, safe feeling boat that does most things good.
Submit your own review!

07-28-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Don't just take my word for it! I took it out yesterday with a canoe instructor friend who has been on the water for about 50 years. We paddled tandem & solo in my new Mohawk 15T, and we were both thrilled. Stability -- initial & secondary -- was excellent, it turned on a dime, tracked beautifully. We were on a slow river, put her to the lean test in a huge eddy, then ventured into and ferried across some fairly turbulent crosscurrents in a Class I-II rapid. I had considered about 1/2 dozen other craft in my search for a solo/tandem, flat/moving water, lightweight boat under $1000. This is IT!
Submit your own review!

02-02-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased a Odessy 15 solo as my second canoe - I mistakenly had purchased the most idestructable & stable boat I could find (Old town 160K)for my first boat & had tired of the limitations it's 42"witdth & 90 lbs placed on me. I use a canoe to fish - mostely in Northern Ontario & am 300lbs The Odessy handles my load perfectly - The initial instability is a bit more than I like but the secondary stability has always prevented a tip over no mater how carless I get with a fish on or letting it turn sidways to the waves. My only real regrets is in the speed & handling. while better by far than the Old town it still makes more than a few miles into real work. this limits how far I venture away from base on a outing. It does cut into the wind well but I would not be comfortable tripping in it.For less than a grand this is as good as it gets I believe. -If you are lighter than 250 think of the 14ft model the 15ft rides high even with me & 50lbs og gear.
Submit your own review!

03-07-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     Like one of the other reviewers, I bought this boat without paddling it first based on another's recommendation. It is the first and only time I have ever done this and, man, did I learn my lesson. Its too big and clunky to be a decent solo boat. As a tandem, it's small and cramped. And it paddles like a pig...the canoe version of a John Deere plowing through water. And it won't go straight, J-stroke, stern-pry, nothing works. If you plan on doing low to moderate whitewater it will be fine. Otherwise, forget it.
Submit your own review!

09-30-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Mohawk 15T last January (2002) and couldn't be happier. I wanted a canoe I could both solo and tandem with. I am a big guy (230#) with long arms (34"sleeve). I bought their demo which already had a center seat installed. Indispensable!!! It is also so stable, that I now will stand sometimes to cast when I fish.The bow seat acts as a table. It tracks very well for it's size, 2-3 strokes per side before switching ( I don't do J-strokes - totally inefficient). With 2 full size guys,and being fairly narrow, it's initial stability of course is less than the normal aluminum rental canoe, but secondary stability is great, and after a half hour, every partner has commented what a difference it is to paddle a "real" canoe. I couldn't be happier.
Submit your own review!

05-10-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     This will be my third season paddling a royalex odyssey 15. I use mine for a wide variety of purposes but most often for solo transportation hunt or fishing on class 1 and 2 type wide rivers. I come from a ww background so for me this boat tracks and glides as well as any canoe I have paddled. I frequently cross a large lake on exercise runes and it stays dry and I can keep mu heading even in the strongest of winds. It responds well to a J stroke. It does fine on moving water although on serious ww it does not turn like a high rockered boat. For class 2 and even a occasional 3 shoal she does fine as long as it is not s highly technical run. It does have a tendency to be a little loose on initial stability but that is the type boat I like. I am 6'1" 240 and it handles me well I can easily lean over to the gunnels... Nice job on design I wish she was 10 lbs lighter but hey its royalex...
Submit your own review!

05-22-2001
Submitted by: waterdogSend Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     I bought the Royalex version, in a solo seat set up. Unfortunately I bought this factory direct, without paddling it first (SHAME ON ME!) and ignored a recommendation from another paddler. I wanted a solo to futz around in, go fishing, bird watching and take my dog along (dog + I = 300#). I contacted Mohawk for "expert" advice regarding whether the Solo 13 or 14 would be most appropriate for me. They directed me into the Odyssey 15 Solo because of weight (also most expensive of those considered). Unfortunately, I took thier advice, because of knowing people that are quite pleased with the Mohawk brand. This is more canoe than I wanted, the initial stability is shaky, especially with a dog, although the secondary stability seems to be fine. Lightly loaded, as it usually is, it is too squirrelly to be fully fun and controllable/comfortable. The control I desire is not there. To put this in perspective, I have owned and used canoes since the '70s, currently have 3 cano! es and a kayak that all get used for different purposes. Needless to say I am quite disappointed in my failing to heed that most important adage of equipment buying - "TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!". I should not have heeded the advice of a company which is in business to make money, which I know they must do in order to stay in business. Oh, btw, the "Odyssey 15 Solo" that I ordered came from the factory with the decals attached for "Odyssey 15 Twin" on it. When I emailed them regarding whether I had a Twin or Solo, the response was "You have the right boat, we will send you the correct decals if you want." But they didn't answer me back when I asked for instructions for how to best remove the decal I did not want. At this time I am trying to figure how to dispose of this canoe without losing too much money. It is a well made canoe, just not right for my purposes.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2000
Submitted by: PJDSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This makes an excellent solo/tandem combination canoe. I ordered it factory direct with a center seat installed, in Royalex, for $785. The canoe has great secondary stability, so you can easily lean it to the gunnels without tipping over. It tracked and glided very well in the tandem mode, although it does not carry a lot of extra gear. As a solo, it seemed to track a bit less well, which was probably due to the lack of weight in the canoe (just me, a life perserver, and a paddle), although I had no problem paddling it solo for several miles on flat water, so the effort isn't excrutiating, merely a compromise judging a tandem canoe by solo performance. It is the easiest tandem canoe for paddling solo that I've experienced, although I've never tried the Dagger Reflection 15, which supposedly is a good tandem canoe for paddling solo. The center section is sufficiently narrow to permit easy paddling from the optional center seat, or you can just paddle from the bow seat in reverse -- I don't know whether I really need the center seat or not -- although it probably will come in handy for faster moving water.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.