Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Dagger > Savannah Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Savannah Kayak by Dagger


Rated: 9.18/10 Based On: 38 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-05-2013
Submitted by: techammerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love, love, love this boat. It's the version with bulkheads but no rudder, and it tracks straight even in wind, but turns nicely with an outside lean. The cockpit and seat are a nice fit (I'm 6'1", 235). The footpegs are easy to adjust and stay where you put them.
For some reason, cupholders seem to be important to some, so I will point out that this machine has none, but the forward deck bungees are close enough that you can slip a water bottle under the rigging and keep it within easy reach.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
07-19-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Ok, so what, I'm late to the game.....
I have been paddling/ kayaking for the past 10 years and I have totally been wanting a kayak of my own.. One of the first kayaks I paddled was my friends Perception Carolina, which was a great kayak. Then years later I bought two 12' Old Town Dirigos, great stable boats for doing lots of short day trips, but I wanted a more efficient and faster boat that I could fit my 6' 3" 220 lb frame into. I also wanted a touring boat that would have a fairly large amount of storage space to sustain me when out on longer trips.

After long hours of research and trying out multiple kayaks, most of which I could not fit into and were very uncomfortable due to my very long legs. A friend of mine who is an Kayak instructor and kayaking expert had the perfect kayak for me.

A Dagger Savannah.
I fell in love with this kayak immediately, great initial stability, tracks true, holds lots of gear, very accommodating to my size. What else can I say? 10/10 for me. After paddling it for several times I did make some minor adjustments, like more the seat back and 1" or so, redo the seat tension strap to make it more custom to my body... I love this kayak, I will one day upgrade at some point in the future, but I will never get rid of this kayak.

Submit your own review!

09-16-2010
Submitted by: TMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been Kayaking for 3 years now and just purchased a Used 2001 Dagger Savannah. I was ready to make the move to a Touring Yak and wished I had done it sooner!

I started with a $250.00 Perception Sundance 9.5... great beginner yak, then moved to a $625.00 Old Town Dirigo 106... nice storage and good seat. Next was a $825.00 Wilderness Pungo 120 with the legendary phase 3 seat and now the Dagger at $420.00.

The Dagger has great initial stability and excellent secondary. Tracks great and is very comfortable! I added a Obus ultra forme car seat from Menard's and am now in the lap of Luxury! It feels as comfortable as the Phase 3 seat, and at half the price of the Pungo, I am very pleased. Now I am ready to hit Lake Superior and really enjoy the outdoors!
Highly recommend a Dagger Savannah!

Submit your own review!

06-08-2010
Submitted by: Melanie F.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Savannah used in 2003. Since I primarily paddle lakes (some with high motor boat activity) and easy rivers, I have found it to be superb in all conditions. It is stable yet glides easily, and I don't hesitate to let a beginner try it out. At 5'2", I have no trouble adjusting the foot pedals for my short legs, and although I haven't tried to roll it, I think it would be very agreeable to just about anything you do want to do with it. The rugged plastic construction also is a relief because it can handle the battering it sometimes gets. My only drawback is the weight. I can get it on top of my car, but usually need someone else to help me transport it from the car to the lake/river. This is a great all around kayak for anyone and I highly recommend it.
Submit your own review!

07-16-2007
Submitted by: timberwolf
Rating: 10 of 10

     Good boat. Moved the foot pedals for rudder with snap links/carabiners just add 1 or two etc. to move them forward.
I'm 6'3" 235lbs, size 13 feet, and it's just a little tight on feet, but ya can work with it. Been out on big lakes, storms, rivers; the more ya learn about kayaks the better I like this one. paddle on!!!! And be safe.

Submit your own review!

06-29-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had my Savannah for one year. Have paddled many times. Also own(ed): Dagger Cortez and Crossover, OT Loon 111 and a Perception Swifty. I added mini-cell bulkheads and Dagger touring thigh braces. It is rudder-less. As others have said, the Savannah tracks very well and turns easily. A very manageable boat. Use it on Class I-II rivers also. Just punches right through the fun stuff. Out in the ocean, it handled as well as the Cortez in confused 4' swells and 2' wind waves; but without the rudder! This boat rolls easily too. Except that it is 2 feet shorter than the Cortez, and thus a bit slower, this is my favorite boat.
Submit your own review!

05-19-2003
Submitted by: Jarred P.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This kayak is amazing! It tracks better than any other kayak I have paddled. I recently had it in some pretty heavy chop in some pretty strong wind and it still was tracking like a dream. The bulkheads are welded very nicely and the seat is very comfortable (*note* I have the expedition model, the normal model doesn't come w/bulkheads or the padded seat) The boat is not at all tippy. The boat glides very well. I am 6'3" tall and this boat is very comfortable for me, even at my height. Due to the formation of the hull, when ever I hit a wave, it didn't get at all close to the cockpit; I do however suggest a spray skirt. The kayak also turns w/ease, even w/out the rudder. This kayak should have an 11 and is a great buy.
Submit your own review!

09-09-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The boat gets a 10, Dagger get 1. My Savannah exp/rud kept get water in the rear. The plastic around the rudder pin did not form right and had a hole in it. Last time I used it had about 30 oz of water. The boat was sent back to the factory two weeks later. Its been 8 weeks and still no boat, all the dealer and I get is stonewall by Dagger. They said at first they were going to make a new boat, but never arrived with order of boats to the dealer. Then they wouldn't talk to the dealer for two weeks. Now we were told the mold for the Savannah has been taken part to be use on other boats. The dealer gave one of his to use all the time.
Submit your own review!

07-10-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Had my Savannah a year now. Originally needed the larger design as I take my Cairn Terrior with me and he sits in the forward part of the cockpit. It handles well, but when I am alone, it feels more like a boat in the water. Looking to switching into a kevlar boat. Would definatley recommend to anyone who is a first timer or needs more stability in the water.
Submit your own review!

07-03-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am 6', 200lbs. The Sahannah (Exp w/rudder) was one of the few that I fit into comfortably. It seems very light for its size. This is my first boat. I have had it out 4 times now. Once on a Lagoon, once on the DesPlaines river, and twice on Lake Michigan. It handles great. Easy to control with or without the rudder. It moves straight effortlessly. It is more stable than the other kayaks I have tried, almost to the point where you have to force it to capsize. It is reasonably fast too, even in rougher water on Lake Michigan... For once I seem to have made a great choice!
Submit your own review!

06-19-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     My First Kayak. I am 5'10 185 pounds. I have taken it to Galveston and the rivers/lakes around Austin. The Savannah is excellent for me for now but I can already tell that I will be wanting another boat in the future for surf-something longer for heading way out and a surf kayak for playing. On a lakes/rivers, though, the Savannah is nothing less than impressive because it is great for cruising along quickly or relaxing with a lazy, slow, effortless, stroke. The rudder takes away problems with sidewinds and is necessary when coming towards shore on the ocean. I positively recommend it at as a first boat or to anyone who will be sticking to slow water.
Submit your own review!

05-09-2002
Submitted by: DWSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Just purchased a polyetheline savannah ( expedition model with rudder ) and have used twice on relatively calm water. Seems to handle perfectly.I am 6' 175lbs. Cockpit fits me like a glove, ample leg room. Seems stable, have'nt been in rough water yet. Great looking boat, well designed. Comfortabe seat. Best value for the money. (Rudder recommended.)

UPDATE 05/29/02 -- ave made a few more excursions in the Savannagh and each time returned with partially wet shorts. Surprised to discover 8 ( Eight ) loose deck bolts / nuts, securing plastic seat and rigging to deck. Water was seeping into the cockpit and onto me past these bolts. Problem solved by tightening them. Go's to prove that if any water can get in, it will. This is an excellent boat, very stable and fairly fast, however, a rating of 8 seems more realistic.

Submit your own review!

09-05-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     (male 145 lbs. 5'7" beginer) just purchased the savannah and have been in it twice. Once on village creek, then toledo lake for labor day. I have nothing to compare the boat to exept a canoe, perception acadia and my girlfreinds looksha sport LV, but it rides like a dream. Very stable and i can already roll in it, though it will fill with water whithout a sprayskirt. (duhh) It is not quite as responsive as the looksha sport but I have no problem turning it I have not even used the rudder even crossing the lake. don't know the distance but it probly took 20-30 min. at an easy pace. the jet skis and fishing boats did not phase the boat. The only complant I have is the savannah feels too big for me. (wanted a baja but it was about two feet longer, and a little extra. Of course the looksha sport LV would be to small. Knowing what i did not know then. I would love to trade it in for a baja. Now I will have to wait a while though. I give the boat an 8 because of the fit and because I already lust for a skinnier longer model. Can't wait to get a sprayskirt and head to the beach.
Submit your own review!

08-20-2001
Submitted by: Two DimesSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     First of all, my rant on the numbers: A boat you dislike so much that you plan on getting rid of is not an "8". If "5" or "6" represents the fat part of the bell curve, that boat should be rated a "3" or "4". If someone gives a boat a "10", I don't expect to read "shoulda" or "coulda" remarks. For a "10" we expect you to describe perfection. Period.

O.K. I've calmed down. Now on to the Savannah: This is my second kayak, moving up from the Pungo; my previous experience being with open boats. I was looking for something with better sea-keeping characteristics, more speed, the ability to carry some gear, and yet still be able to do mild river paddling. I set my sights on boats in the 14' to 15' class. I didn't want a keel or keelson, didn't want a flat bottom, and I wanted a more rigid plastic formula.

I was surprised at how many boats I eliminated on the showroom floor. If my size 10s touch top and bottom in the space between the foot braces, I'm not thinking this is going to be a boat I'll enjoy spending a long day in. Then based on the narrative reviews here (forget those useless numbers) I focused on the Savannah since expedition- and rudder-rigged it just cleared $1,000. It felt good in the showroom, and after a drive to Annapolis for spin around the harbor, a little plastic moved from my wallet to the salesman, and big piece of plastic ended up on my roof rack.

My first water test was on the Potomac between Noland's Ferry and Point of Rocks. It seemed to hold a line well, turned well for a non-rockered boat, and was noticeably faster than the Pungo. It doesn't seem to have bad habits. The narratives seem not in total agreement regarding the initial vs. secondary stability. (My point of comparison for secondary stability is my 18.5' Lincoln Kevlar canoe, which rolls 15 degrees one side or the other almost instantly, and then holds like it was Velcroed to the carpet.)

The next weekend the weather gods didn't cooperate, but I got to drill 24 holes in the deck and install deck lines. That helps you get over the "new boat" thing.

The second test was off Mason Neck in the tidal Potomac. On real flat water, you can pick a speed and just hold it there. Frankly, I didn't see much difference between leaning in and out of turns - this hull is a soft semi-multi-chine, and I don't think it has such specific turning characteristics. I didn't use the rudder until I got into some more open water and was dealing with mild confused chop. There was a stretch, with the predominant sea off the rear quarter, when the rudder really helped - I need to do some more experiments in some different sea states, and also some timings with the GPS.

The seatback is just fine. Any higher and it will interfere with ingress and egress (one of the advantages of a plastic boat with a decent sized cockpit is that you CAN pull onto the beach and hop out to see neat stuff), and higher would interfere with the PFD. I can scrunch down with my feet on the front bulkhead and do a lazy lowrider, if so moved. The padding for the thigh braces is fine…There when you need it, but not intrusive.

Things to improve: The vexing thing (Do you hear the masses, Dagger?) is this foot brace/rudder pedals issue. At just under 5'10' and with size 10 shoes, I'm smack in the middle of the North American male demographic. With the foot braces in their last detent, they are just a little short of where I want to be. This doesn't make sense. (One thing you can do is put a split ring on each of the rudder cables where they attach to the quadrants.) A little more bow flare would also be nice.

Summary: This was a good boat to move up to. The Pungo will still be around as a guest boat, when I know I'll be in and out a lot, or when I need a more open cockpit for things like photography. (The Savannah probably rates a solid "7", but in keeping with the inflation around here, I had to move it up one notch.)

Submit your own review!

08-17-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I like this boat a lot - but certainly don't love it! Shortly after I spent any significant time in it, I knew it would definitely be sold/traded in for another, more "seaworthy" model. All in all - this is a great boat for flat water, but I notice it off-track with even a medium wind/wave. At 54 pounds, it's great for transporting (I'm only 5'3" and have no problem loading it on the car). However, I can't say that I'm as crazy about this boat as some of the other reviewers. Maybe it's a good 1st boat, but in my opinion, not a keeper. Happy Paddling!
Submit your own review!

08-07-2001
Submitted by: NLD
Rating: 9 of 10

     After trying out a large number of Kayaks I finally narrowed my choices down to the Carolina and Savannah. Each time you gain some length the boat goes a little faster and tracks better. I figured that if I could get a 100' kayak....well you get the picture. There is a point where you need to decide what your budget can take, what type of paddling you plan on doing and choose the boat that you find to be the best for the money. I narrowed my choices down to the Carolina and Savannah. Both considered Lt. Touring boats....Sort of between recreational and Sea Kayaks. Also there seemed to be a significant $$$ jump between these boats and Touring Kayaks. I chose the Savannah because it seemed to fit me a little better, had a few options that I liked (padded seat), and taking the advice of many paddlers I bought the boat that seemed a bit more tippy to me as a novice. This proved to be good advice in the long run as I now find that the Savannah is maneuverable yet tracks well too (with the rudder down extremely well). Of course, this could also be attributed to my gaining more paddling experience.

So, I went out and bought a Savannah. After taking it out for about an hour I came home and couldn't help but notice water coming out from around the hole where the rudder goes (Also brought water out around my eyes!). This brings me to the REAL reason that I feel obligated to write an opinion and review. Dagger's warranty department is second to none. Within a week my NEW Savannah was being shipped out to me. My emails were answered promptly, my phone calls taken and returned as needed, and, my problem was Dagger's problem. On a scale of 1-10, I give Dagger an 11 for their warranty service.

I have had my boat now for a few months and have taken it out primarily on small lakes. I still enjoy the boat very much. It glides, tracks, and maneuvers well. I recently purchased an add-on thigh brace which gives me even more control. I would have liked to see this as a standard feature. Another thing that needs some attention is the bungee cord that holds the rudder down. This bungee goes over the top of the rudder and gets in the way when you raise the rudder preventing it from "seating" in the molded slot.

Other than these very minor complaints I am happy very with my Dagger. I also would like to reiterate how pleased and impressed I was with the Warranty Departments handling of my claim. A 9/10 rating for the boat and an 11 for customer service. Guess I'll give it a 10.

Submit your own review!

07-30-2001
Submitted by: EvanSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     A great kayak for the money. After using it on both open ocean and flatwater conditions I found that it is everything you could want for its size. It has excellent secondary stability, and I had no trouble tracking or maneuvering at all (of course, this was with a rudder). For a 14'6" boat, it's everything you could want.
Submit your own review!

07-25-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a Savannah after tip a Perception Carolina with a mild sweep at a demo day. Love the Dagger. Haven't had an unintended wet exit in hours on lakes, rivers and harbors. Best thing is that my likes it enough that I'll be able to move up to a 16 ft boat soon.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2001
Submitted by: Kevin W.
Rating: 9 of 10

     After not having enough forward leg room, I e-mailed "sjlg" from the review earlier, and his idea worked perfectly-- I have plenty of legroom now without any permanent modification-- took only ten minutes! Thanks!!!
Submit your own review!

07-17-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is an update to the report below. I took my Savannah to the Adirondacks for a week long trek, with side trips, from Saranac Lake, the town, to Floodwood Pond. My GPS said that the total trip was 57.8 miles. The trip was made from 1 July to 6 July, during some very stiff breezes from the west. The yak handled up to 40mph winds and 4ft waves on Lower, Middle, and Upper Saranac Lakes. It tracked straighter than I expected, and was very quick when it had to go fast. It is the smallest boat that I would want to be in for the type of weather I had to put up with though. The trip was up stream all the way and almost into the wind the whole time. I really love this boat now. If I lived near the ocean or near larger bodies of water such as Saranac Lakes, I might want a boat that was about a foot or 2 longer, but, I don't.
Submit your own review!

07-17-2001
Submitted by: SJLGSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     To add to my previous review. I know how to move the footbraces forward, with no permanent mod's. (no holes!!) I actually e-mailed John at Dagger and told him about it, and he said it would work fine--- adding almost five inches of forward adjustment to the footbraces, making it more than ample for me at 6'-- I now have to move them back to reach them! Just e-mail me and I will give you detailed instructions on how to do it. All you need is two 10 inch plastic wire ties!!!
Submit your own review!

06-28-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just bought my Savannah Expedition about 3 weeks ago. I've been out in it twice. LOVE it!! Only negative thing are the foot pedals. I'm 6 ft and it is a tight fit for my knees. I'm going to try moving the seat back like the tech said. Other than that I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Submit your own review!

06-21-2001
Submitted by: GTSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just do it. The Savanah is a winner in all respects. Stable, fast, solid tracker, excellent capacity for its size, a comfortable fit. Nice workmanship.

Hours of research and testing paid off in a great purchase.

We live in Central New York and paddle Lake Ontatio marshes and feeders daily. We also spend most weekends on Adirondack ponds, rivers, and reservoirs. The paddling alternaives are wonderful and the Savanah is a great ride in all flat water environments.

If your in the area, drop me a line.

Submit your own review!

06-02-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I got my Savannah in September of last year, but, did not really get to paddle it much until the last of April of this year. So far, I've had her on ponds, small streams, larger lakes, and rivers. Once I learned to adjust my pedals so that my legs were against the bulkheads, I had no trouble with waves or class 2 rapids. The one thing that I was surprised about, was the way it seems to plow through the wake of motorboats as opposed to lifting over waves from wind on lakes or rapids on rivers. It seems very fast, I raced it with some other kayaks and canoes on a small lake, and had no trouble smoking the competition. I haven't has this boat out on the ocean or any salt water yet, but, will this summer. I'll try to redo this report then. It seems to handle big water very well and I love to paddle it as fast as I can. I don't kow if I can roll it yet, I haven't tried that yet either. Looks like I have some classes to go to. I really like this boat.
Submit your own review!

04-18-2001
Submitted by: JRO
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Savannah is my first kayak, but I tried several others before I decided this one was for me. First keep in mind that I'm 5'10" and 240 LBs. I tried a friends Edisto, and it was OK, but only 1 sealed bulkhead and very small front hatch (not to mention no longer produced). The tracking, when compared to my boat was night and day. Once the Savannah is pointed in one direction it will stay true with little effort, but it isn't hard to turn with a lean and sweep. It's very forgiving for a newbie. The other boat I could compare it with is the Perception Carolina. It tracks as good as my boat and the hatches are OK( a bit hard to reseal after opening though). I prefer the Savannah over this one because the deck on the Savannah is a bit taller and provided a bit more knee room. I also didn't care much for the foam bulkheads in the Carolina since the one my dad has will leak around the foam ever so slightly. This is nothing a little Marine sealant won't fix, but it's a brand new boat, and should not leak. The Savannah has perfectly fit plastice bulkheads, which are welded in place, and have never leaked. As my first Kayak I'm very impressed with the speed, tracking, manuverability, and most importantly(FUN) that the Savannah provides, and I think I made the right choice. Highly recommended.
Submit your own review!

03-16-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Follow-up to my earlier review.

I contacted Dagger about the techdoc on "Need more leg room in Savannah w/ rudder".

Here is the response from John W. of the Dagger Tech Team: "You are not the first to mention this alleged tech document to us via e-mail. But I am sorry to inform you that no such document exists! I saw the same review text you're referring to (Paddling.net) and I think someone thought they saw something they didn't.

We have heard of some customers who have moved the footbraces. That is really a negligible modification in an expedition outfitted Savannah because the bulkhead limits appreciable forward adjustment. The current placement is determined to achieve the necessary movement for the rudder pivot capability with the brace adjusted to maximum forward extension.

Alternatively the seat can be moved toward the stern about an inch to an inch and a half. This is the more reliable way to achieve extra room. The seat can be run back to maximum (ensuring there is still room to recline the backrest for sufficient comfort) without an adverse effect on the trim. The easiest way to accomplish this is to "bolt hop". Remove all four seat bolts, save all parts and slide the seat back until the original forward set of holes in the seat line up with the rear set of holes in the boat. Replace the bolts through these holes. Use a 3/16" drill bit and tap two new holes in the seat through the existing front set of holes in the boat. This means there are no new holes in your boat and you have moved your seat back about an inch.

So there you have it (long-winded and drawn out!) Incidentally, when customers need special fit considerations and speak with their dealers about it when ordering a boat we try to accommodate whenever possible. Hopefully the information provided above will help."

John also mentioned the Dagger Tech Team are very approachable via the phone or email so feel free to contact them with any questions).

Submit your own review!

03-13-2001
Submitted by: Brad MayesSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     We rented numerous boats before making our decisions - My girl friend chose the Perception Catalina. It is smaller, lighter, more maneuverable, and less expensive. The Savannah was more comfortable for me. I am 5'10" and 180 pounds. She is 5'2" 135. The Savannah tracks better, handles wind chop easier, and is an over all drier/roomier ride. The Perception comes better equipped.

We spend an equal amount of time on small inland lakes/swamps and flowing rivers. This past weekend we took a trip on the Frio river. This is a spring fed river in central Texas with lots of ones, a couple of two's (depending upon the flow), with nice breaks of smooth clear water.

The Perception was the clear winner any time a quick cut was necessary. In the open water and against the wind the Dagger pulls away with ease. I am considering buying a Dagger Crossover as a second boat - only because the Perception Catalina is such a tight fit.

The Savannah is a nice boat. The best all around boat I have been around for my size. It just seems the majority of the time my paddling favors more maneuverable craft. The Catalina seems to be a better "all around" boat for smaller paddlers. I just didn't fit well. The Crossover was dropped from consideration because of how poorly it performed in wind chop.

It seems that us average paddlers need two boats, while the smaller folk can buy just one…. I know they are owned by the same company. But the Perception seems to be MUCH better outfitted for the price.

Submit your own review!

03-12-2001
Submitted by: SJLGSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am 6' and 220lbs.--After trying many different boats at a local shop, I went with the Savannah Expedition with the rudder. This is one awesome boat! It actually tracks better than some of the 16' boats that I paddled. It did not seem to windcock at all in a breeze and offered a very dry ride. Hull & fitting quality was second to none. Yesterday on a winding river it turned effortlessly, with one good sweep stroke you can turn the bow probably a foot or more without slowing down(unless you have the rudder down, then it does not want to turn at all...a good thing). Stability is rock solid, secondary is moderate to high. On a large local lake, I had a very large boat pass and wanted to check how it could handle rough water & wake, so I paddled right across the wake, 10 feet behind the boat. The bow rode over the first wave then plunged into the second one, putting the deck awash, but no water entered the cockpit, and the boat popped up like a cork. Even going over wakes sideways inspired confidence in this boat. The boat handled rough water very steadily and predictably. I would recommend this boat to anyone looking for a boat that truly does everything well, with the speed and tracking of a longer craft, with the agility of a 10 footer! --Paddle On--
Submit your own review!

02-23-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Last spring, tried out the Savannah (and several other kayaks) at a local Open House Kayak weekend. It just seemed so comfortable for me compared to the rest (I'm 6'4", 210 pounds). Rented one (without rudder) for a week during the summer and tried it out on a fairly big lake. Loved it. Very stable, responsive and fast. Bought the model with rudder late-fall so have only tried it out a few times. Sure is a tight squeeze for me to use the footpedals and fit my knees under the deck. Will have to check out "Need more leg room in Savannah w/ rudder" techdoc from Dagger mentioned in one of the other reviews. Can't wait for the snow to disappear.
Submit your own review!

02-09-2001
Submitted by: Marty
Rating: 10 of 10

     My first boat, Savannah. Love it. Tested 6 different boats, always came back to it. Heading this summer for a 145 mile river ride. Go away snow.
Submit your own review!

12-31-2000
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I got rid of my Wilderness Systems Manteo after just a few paddles and went with the Savannah after trying it out on the water (paddle before buying). Immediately fell in love with it. Took it up to Lake Superior and did a killer trip and it did wonderfully, it is a little slower do to it's shorter length but still was great. This boat works great for me because it does a good job on the big water and does great locally for me on the rivers and reservoirs. Note to Dagger: add more deck lashings.
Submit your own review!

10-04-2000
Submitted by: DavidSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a Savannah to hit Lake Superior and the pictured rocks. What a great buy, I love my Savannah. Great tracking and she's fast.
Submit your own review!

08-16-2000
Submitted by: RFLSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I was all set to buy the Savannah with rudder until I tried one on for size. How Dagger can claim on their website that the Savannah is for average to large paddlers if someone with a 34" inseam (6'1" tall) can only touch the foot pegs by bending their knees to the top of the deck is beyond me. Dagger has a tech doc describing how to move the footbrace assembly forward ("Need more leg room in Savannah w/ rudder") so it appears I am not alone in this.
Submit your own review!

07-12-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just bought a savanah and I am very happy with it. I used these product reviews to make my final choice. The price was unbeatable. I have had the boat out once so far and I paddled for miles. The boat tracks well and is five times faster than my zydeco. At 50 lbs I was able to put the boat on top of my truck by myself. I think every kayaker should buy hulley rollers and mako saddles, they make lifting the boat on your roof much easier by yourself. Go out and buy a savanah you will love it.
Submit your own review!

06-26-2000
Submitted by: ChrisSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have been paddling my Savannah for about 3 weeks and absolutely love it. I had it on a small river where it handled beautifully and in the Milwaukee Harbor with very heavy boat traffic and waves. The Savannah handdled both with ease.
Submit your own review!

05-16-2000
Submitted by: MikeSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Love my Savannah, tracks great, does not wind cock, turns on a dime with no rudder, just lean she turns, plenty of room for gear for a week of camping. My Sealution may not see water for the rest of the summer.
Submit your own review!

05-07-2000
Submitted by: SeanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Follow-up to my earlier review. Like the boat even better now that I've had it out a dozen or so times. One suggestion - order Dagger thighbraces. Easy retrofit (if you let thighbrace sit in the sun to soften a bit) and make a world of difference. Savannah tracks very well and seems totally unaffected by wind. Deck height is a touch low for my size 12 feet, but I'm coming to grips with it and have found a workable position. I've mostly had it out on rivers and small inland lakes -- truly a multipurpose boat. Probably won't get on Lake Superior until June or July.
Submit your own review!

04-17-2000
Submitted by: SeanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just bought a Savannah Expedition model. Love it -- fast, stable, tracks beautifully. Great fit for me. Paddle some rivers, some lakes, some of Great Lakes. When I demo'd 5 other boats the Savannah was the hands-down winner. Surprisingly light (53 lbs.) for it's size. Purchased from CanoeSport in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Great folks -- can't say enough good things about them.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale