Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Pyranha > Inazone 220 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Inazone 220 Kayak by Pyranha


Rated: 9.6/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-19-2008
Submitted by: jacob K
Rating: 10 of 10

     As a fairly new but expersed kayaker I purchased a 220 and LOVE it. I have run the Deshutes, Northsaniam, Willamette and McKenzzie in a number of differnt Kayaks, but the Pyranha Inazone220 is by far the best.
Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
09-06-2008
Submitted by: Linda Lou~Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I started paddling 10 years ago. I knew I wanted a small, fun, whitewater kayak but since I live in Michigan, the small, fun whitewater kayaks weren't so easily available to find for demos so I went to forums to get some opinions. I asked for opinions on the Pyranha Inazone 220 - some told me it was too aggressive for a beginner while others told me I'd quickly grow into it (learning experience) and have a kayak I could paddle for years. Well, I did buy an Inazone... and I've never looked back.

It's rare that I get to let anyone else 'demo' my kayak because it is the smallest version of the Inazone, being a 220, other options are 230 and 240. It was a little big for me but nothing some minicell glued into the sides near the seat couldn't fix. I am 5'3" tall and weigh 108 pounds. I can paddle this kayak for as much as 8 hours a day, without any discomfort. I have taken it to West Virginia on the New River 4X and all I can say is 'this kayak loves whitewater'! The roll is effortless and the control is incredible - it turns on a dime! My only complaint is that on flat water, when picking up speed, the nose tends to want to pearl. Even so, it's been an incredible 10 years, I've learned a lot not only with this kayak, but from it! I'd recommend it to anyone who can squeeze into it!

Submit your own review!

07-13-2005
Submitted by: jamesSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is my first boat and I love it. Iím 5.3 and about 110 pounds. I take it down the river with my parents and 2 little girls, so itís kind of boring, but weíre working up. Itís a tight squeeze but very nice.
Submit your own review!

07-08-2004
Submitted by: JPMSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've only tried a handful of boats. Both nonplaning and planing type hulls. While I can hit my roll with this, the 220 is not as easy as the Dagger rpm. As for surfing, it's maneuverable and forgiving. Front enders are a breeze. The boat is comfortable even with the Inazone outfitting but only for 3 to hrs. I've found in big pushy water that I don't have as much control and a bigger volume boat would be the better choice. All around it's good for play and river running and would recommend the 220 for anyone up to 160lbs but no more. Also it's not meant for speed, especially attaining, it tends to pearl on the bow.
Submit your own review!

01-14-2004
Submitted by: Dave
Rating: 10 of 10

     The first playboat i went in was the S6, but i found this too big. So the next week i tried the 220 and found this to be better. After 1 or 2 attemps of stern dips in the eddy line i was almot goin vertical. After about an hour of paddling i found a fun wave and tried a blunt but bounced off a rock. the only problem with this boat is that i found it quite hard to get in but when i got out i found it had inch thick foam blocks in the bottom.
Submit your own review!

10-01-2002
Submitted by: G. BaldwinSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We recently purchased one of these 2001 boats new for my fiance, who - like moyself - is new to WW kayaking. We both want to learn WW to surf in the Atlantic off Ft. Lauderdale this Winter then the rivers of NC next Summer. The InaZone 220 rolls easily and is a peach to maneuver, with good stability from its planing hull shape. After an hour's rolling practice, my fiance took the boat out into very choppy water with about 3' waves, with NO practice whatsoever, and within 5 minutes was surfing waves with confidence and glee. Only got dumped once, by a wave that caught her from behind, by surprise. We are completely hooked on this boat for her! The only reason for the "9" rating is the backband is not easily adjustable and provides minimal support. We will be replacing it shortly. The rest of the boat is a solid 10 out of 10, and a real steal for the "going rate" for these two year old boats. Hey, when you add a $60 backband to less than $600 for an InaZone 220, you're still way ahead of the game with a fun boat!
Submit your own review!

02-01-2002
Submitted by: JZDSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I think that the inazone 220 is a very good kayak for people who are begginers at playboating and river running, it is a boat that has very manageble stability, and plays very well at Hurley! DrEdZx
Submit your own review!

10-11-2000
Submitted by: Tom WalkerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This boat is great. I have just bought one and it takes a lot of getting used to as I have been paddling a pyranha blade which is a LOT LONGER and not as flat. If you keep it perfectly flat, rather than edging it like in round boats, it's flat spining potential is great, And the boat will go vertical forwards in the smallest of holes, you barely need to lean forwards once the front is in, but if you lean back you can carry on surfing. I can't cartwheel myself, but I'm learning, I have seen it carwheel and have been told it is very easy to do I this boat.
Submit your own review!

04-18-2000
Submitted by: JeffSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Inazone 220 does what it was intended to do very well -- it is a rodeo boat that can be used for river running too. For me, at 140 lbs., it's the first boat that I feel I can really throw around like a playboat should be. However, it is also very forgiving and surprisingly easy to roll. I love it! Now if I can just locate a used one at a decent price.
Submit your own review!

04-13-2000
Submitted by: J.R.C.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Since my parents own a kayak shop in Saline MI I get the chance to paddle a variety of boats, at first I did not think that much about kayaking, but when I sqeezed into Pyranha's Inazone 220 I practically fell in love with kayaking, playboating opened up a whole new way of kayaking. I am impressed with the 220 to say the least, it's just my size and it paddle's in a pretty strait line (for a playboat), it spin on a dime and has an awsome body. I can't give much of a review about how it dwonderfully is performes cartweels, endos, kickflips, etc. because I don't know how to do any of that (although I aim to learn). But it performs what I do know how to do with ease (though I haven't rolled it yet because the water is too cold up here). For anyone who is smaller, loves to play in the water, and appreciates the sport of kayaking, I would recommend to you this boat. P.S. I would love to rate this boat a 10, but my inexperiance keeps me from doing so,otherwise I would rate is a 10.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers


Talic:



Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale