Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Old Town Canoe > Discovery Scout Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Discovery Scout Canoe by Old Town Canoe


Rated: 8.5/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Canoes Image Canoes Image Canoes Image
Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



10-08-2007
Submitted by: Tim DuvalSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Turns on a dime - I hear it is out of production and that is a shame - we use it tandem and solo on everything from 3 day camps (1100 lb cap) to class 3+ Zoar Gap - stays drier than any I have seen - if you have a chance to buy one and want to run rivers - get it!

I tipped my first time out in it and admittedly hated it, but this boat has taken me so many places I am glad I didn't - I wouldnt recommend it to a beginner because of its tipsy shape but would recommend to a seasoned paddler for the same reason!

Love it Love it Love it!

Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
06-12-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just sold mine after owning for 4 years because I am into yaking these days.
Great all around boat. As previously mentioned, better in moving water. It's too bad they don't make them any longer. The reason I rated a 9 instead of 10 is because it is a little heavy. However, I think a bargain for the price. The Appy would be great but just too much $ for me.

Submit your own review!

08-21-2001
Submitted by: David AdamsSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I owned the Discovery Scout for about 3 years. The boat was great when it was in the water. It felt stable enough for me to take it on day trips around the French Coast during a two-week vacation in Brittany. I finally sold it because I found it difficult to move about out of the water, even with the help of my wife it was heavy to load onto the roof of the car. I'm now on the lookout for a smaller lightweight canoe.
Submit your own review!

12-28-2000
Submitted by: W L Smith JrSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have had my Scout for almost three years now and it has been a very good boat. I use it on rivers and lakes. I think it is one of the best all around canoes you can buy for the money. It is a bit tippy at first and takes some time to gain confidence in the secondary stability. Also once you master correction strokes to counter the lack of tracking, flat water canoeing is possible. Also with the right about of ballast it not a bad solo boat. The Discovery Scout does everything I need a canoe to do and the price was right. If you can only get one boat and you will spend more time on moving water than flat but would like to enjoy both this is an excellent canoe. However it is a bit heavy on long portages but that did not bother me enough to make me part with the extra money for the Appalachian. (about $10 per lb.)
Submit your own review!

02-08-2000
Submitted by: DFPSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Poor mans Appalachian. same boat different materials. I find mine is too tippy for fishing, not comfortable standing up and casting. tough and heavy. good for class 1-3 water it stays quite dry responds well. I paddle it solo or with partners. not much of a lake boat altho it is not dangerous.
Submit your own review!

07-14-1999
Submitted by: JBS
Rating: 8 of 10

     Good boat for I-III whitewater, seems more at home on the rocks than on a peaceful, lazy stream. Can be a little tipsy if youngsters are in the boat.
Submit your own review!

06-30-1999
Submitted by: B.Harris
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great boat. Extremely durable and surprisingly maneuverable in moderate WW. Only downfall is weight, a bit heavy but well worth it! I will never get rid of mine.
Submit your own review!

06-07-1999
Submitted by: JDA
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great on the river from class I-III.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale