Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Wilderness Systems > Epic Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Epic Kayak by Wilderness Systems


Rated: 8.33/10 Based On: 9 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-17-2013
Submitted by: TSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have enjoyed my Epic for multi-day trips, as well as short morning excursions. I have kayaked for almost 20 years, and I have loaned it out to beginner boaters and it is well liked at both ends of the spectrum. It tracks well, is stable, and has plenty of room without slowing me down. This year I began taking my 3 year old out with me for short trips, and he loves paddling as much as I do, so now I'm looking into a Wilderness Systems tandem. In the meantime there is plenty of room for both of us in this one so far.
Submit your own review!

06-13-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've had an Epic for years. I'm about 6'1" and I find this boat just a little low in the deck, more room for knees, and feet would be nice. On longer trips I found myself looking for an Island to jump out onto to stretch the legs. That said, you could power your way to that Island in no time, I was always running circles around a friend who had a current designs Storm... But HE was much more comfortable.

I had fun in the surf with this boat, Lean forward and paddle like Hell, making major corrective strokes, because getting sideways usually meant a wet exit and watching the kayak barrel roll away on top of the next wave! I called it the yellow submarine, the whole front end submerged as I powered it in to the beach. The extra volume at the bow kept it from pegging the sand on the bottom as I was shooting in to the beach...

Submit your own review!

09-15-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     Bought it used, loaded it down and took it down the Lumber River (Lumberton NC) to Georgetown SC while the river was at record low level a couple of winters ago. Bounced it over logs and gravel and fought it around the twistiest turniest river there ever was for a hard week. No it doesn't turn easily but it carries a load and runs fast and is very durable over oyster beds, etc. It can be beat and gouged but it won't complain. I wouldn't trade it.
Submit your own review!

06-10-2002
Submitted by: AMFREESend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased my Epic used from a dealer; As it waqs my first kayak, I didn't know what to expect. Instantly I became hooked on kayaking... The speed of it! I love the ease of paddling this thing... It may be long, but it has the tracking and speed that make it all worthwhile. The boat also stands up to the abuse inflicted upon it from all sorts of water environments.
Submit your own review!

02-20-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I was saddened to learn the Epic has been discontinued by Wilderness Systems. According to an email from the company, the Cape Horn replaces it. I have paddled many miles in my Epic in the Allegheny River system, including the reservoir, and I love the boat. It is fast, tracks well, and has plenty of room. If you find one for sale, you won't regret purchasing it.
Submit your own review!

11-13-2000
Submitted by: GNDSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My search for the smallest volume, narrow, as traditional as possible looking rotomolded sea canoe that I could fit my 6'2",230lb.,size 13 foot deminsions into ended with the Epic. I'dd like better tracking without the rudder but it certainly solves that. I also detest spongy footbraces but retro-fitting Seaward Lockout butterfly style models addressed this problem. This boat is nice in strong winds. With 60lbs. of gear aboard and the boats low profile I was impressed with its headway on a return trip from False Cape Landing in southeast VA. this past Feb. 25 knots and gusting and still I made decent progress against the wind. Rolls with either my Cricket Inuit or Werner Camano are easy. Be prepared to seal the day-hatch with Lexan. It has leaked on my boat,a friends,and the demo boat I first tried. I consider it a nusince. Just another hole for water to come in. If your interested in this one, start shopping, my latest visit to the Wildsys. website didn't list it as a offering anymore.
Submit your own review!

09-18-2000
Submitted by: MRSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The EPIC is my first boat but I can compare it to the many boats I have rented in the past. The boat has medium/low primary stability but high secondary stability. The boat tracks extremely well and it is fast for a plastic boat - the fastest plastic I have paddled. On the downside it is somewhat heavy and does not turn easily. The cockpit could be a bit higher to accomodate larger feet. Overall a good plastic boat for the intermediate paddler since the low primary stability may scare an inexperienced paddler. *(to e-mail remove all underscores _ from address).
Submit your own review!

11-14-1999
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     The EPIC is my second kayak and a very comfortable boat for larger paddlers (6'1"- 210) with large feet. The deck height and cockpit opening provide ample room while providing enough support for a variety of conventional and traditional rolls and braces. At 59lbs it is not the lightest, but its clean lines good secondary stability and wet area makes this an excellent kayak with traditional styling. Can be paddled easily with either a European or Traditional paddle.
Submit your own review!

07-20-1999
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     The epic is a nice boat overall. I had a Prijon Seayak before (16') and wanted a longer boat. The epic is fast and tracks well but it is fairly heavy and is not easily maneuvered. The plastic also is not as stiff as some other rotomolded boats.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale