Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Lincoln Canoe and Kayak > Two Lights (Tandem) Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Two Lights (Tandem) Kayak by Lincoln Canoe and Kayak


Rated: 9.5/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-03-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We really like this Tandem! This is the fourth tandem we have owned, and still own a Crosswinds that we like, but we keep for friends that are having their first experience in a kayak.

We bought the kayak this spring and have only used this in the ocean. In light conditions, little wind and flat seas we leave others behind. In these conditions the rudder is not necessary, as this kayak responds well to sweep strokes for turning, while tracking very well when the intention is to go straight.

This past weekend we gave it a very good test, paddling 9 miles around Bartlett Island off MDI. Conditions were a slight breeze and a little chop in the lee of the island when we started, and we knew we would encounter rough water on the open side of the island. We paddled through 2 1/2 foot seas and 20 to 25 mph winds for 2 of our 3 hour trip, and the kayak was grand. The trip the previous week took only 2 hours. While we had to be attentive on every stroke and watch every wave, and had a lot of them coming up over our spray skirts, we had full faith in our Two Lights. I used the smart-track rudder system the whole trip, and could put the kayak where it needed to be. Most challenging paddle I've done in 40 years, and loved the way the kayak handled.

My only reason for giving a 9 and not a 10 is I wish the screws on the inside of the boat had acorn nuts on the ends, to prevent any accidental scrapes. But we car-top this kayak like we do our singles, and look forward to years of paddling. We have the fiberglass version, so it probably weighs 55 lbs. The kevlar is about 47, but out of my price range. I think this is a great value.

Submit your own review!

05-14-2014
Submitted by: GCSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have had this tandem kayak (fiberglass/Kevlar composite) for years and have enjoyed day-tripping on lakes, rivers and, of course, the ocean. Even though we practiced overturn exits, we haven't come close to an actual one even in difficult conditions.
Submit your own review!

04-21-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This kayak is one of the lightest tandems you will find on the market making it a great boat to paddle and breeze to load. At about 46 lbs. it weighs about half the Wilderness System sea-two it replaced. It has a quality rudder system which I have never found the need to use. Where the sea -two handled like an aircraft carrier the Two Lights turns and tracks like a Ferrari in all kinds of seas. Storage may be a concern for multi day trips but other than that, after 3 yrs. of paddling, I have not found anything to complain about. Love this boat!
Submit your own review!

07-27-2010
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I actually purchased the green and white Two Lites featured in the review below (2004-08-26) -- it even has the small scratches from his tacklebox adventure on the deck. I paddle with my fiancee, and our prior experience was with canoes (me) and whitewater rafting (she). Prior to this boat we paddled an Old Town 160 together, and we have since paddled a few sit-on-tops. We paddle primarily spring-fed rivers and coastal estuaries in Florida.

This boat has done everything we have asked of her and more. At 16'7" and a feather-light 40-some-odd pounds rigged, she is compact and exceptionally easy to carry. As Lincoln notes, the Two Lites is a "fast tracker." Acceleration is tremendous, and we have to go very easy paddling with our fellow Floridians, who are usually in heavier, fishing-oriented plastic SOTs. We are no athletes, but paddle easily at 4+ mph per GPS, and can hit 6 mph in a sprint. This means that turning around and paddling back upriver is barely a consideration.

She will not weathercock with the rudder down. Storage space is indeed a bit limited, but a day cooler and basic safety gear is not problem. We generally rig two deck bags -- one for each paddler, and therefore have no problem keeping camera gear, compass, GPS, sunscreen, et al at hand.

Initial stability is less than a SOT, which threw us a bit, but only on the first run. Secondary stability is strong, and we've never dumped, save for a couple of klutzy exits by yours truly that were my fault.

The boat is ideal in flat water, but shrugs off 1-2 ft. swells with ease, and our first launch into surf in the Gulf of Mexico (yes, there are waves on that coast) went well after one false start. We've taken her to the Florida Keys, Sanibel / Captiva, Clearwater Beach, and dozens of flat water river runs and can't wait to take her out again.

As for shortcomings, it's true the hatches are not perfectly watertight, but in fairness the original gaskets are due for replacement. The backband style seats are great for hours at a time, but one came unglued once on the highway. After a daring rescue, I applied the adhesive Lincoln suggested, and it's stayed stuck for more than a year since. She's not the tightest turning boat in the world, especially for her short length, but then I'm still working on edged turns.

The *feel* of this boat is tremendous. The "paddle lite" kevlar / foam sandwich layup is light, stiff, and remarkably buoyant. We routinely load the boat with 400+ lbs (including, ahem, the kayakers) with no problem, and still glide forward with little effort. When the wind or current are against us, we still move easily and just get a bit more exercise. We look like paddling heroes with just a few seasons under our belts, and never worry about reaching the limits of the boat's capabilities.

I hope Lincoln's new ownership maintains the high quality of these excellent boats, because we're already eyeing a pair of Quoddys or Chebeagues so we can try "singling" it now and then without sacrificing the incredible experience we've had in our Two Lites.

Submit your own review!

08-26-2004
Submitted by: jstlawrence
Rating: 10 of 10

     This boat has got to be the fastest tandem sea kayak i have ever paddled. It is quite lightweight (about 40-45lbs due to the paddle-lite kevlar layup) and can be carried by a single person. This boat tracks extremely well with or without the rudder. In addition, it can be paddled solo but care must be taken to put enough weight forward to keep the bow in the water; otherwise, the result is minimal glide and difficulty picking up speed. This boat is so light that it is affected by any load that is placed upon it. For example, my friend had his 10lb tackle box tied down on the centers bungie straps. And when he tried to get into the rear cockpit, he lost his balance and swamped the boat.(don't worry it was on shore). Anyway, we went to the other side of the lake and realized that the tackle box was causing our instability problems. So we decided to take all of our fishing equipment off the kayak and just enjoy a day of paddling. In short, this boat is extremely fast, stable (though can be a bit tippy when the center of Gravity is moved a bit higher and requires special entry and exit techniques to prevent swamping), comfortable (once you get the straps and pegs adujsted correctly), and has weekend long trip endurance at the most (not a expedition kayak). Oh, and the rudder is made of aluminum; top-quality for the rudder and marks for top quality of entire boat! Lincoln Canoe and Kayak did their best and came out with a product that not only looks great, it's virtually indestructible too!
Submit your own review!

07-26-2004
Submitted by: GC
Rating: 9 of 10

     We're into our 5th season with this boat and have never regretted getting it. It's perfect for our normal day-tripping and we would recommend it to any couple for this purpose.
Submit your own review!

03-04-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Nice boat.At 16'9"x29" and 55 lbs. it is probably the lightest real tandem on the market. Finish quality is good. Handling with or without the rudder is excellent. Quite responsive to leaned turns. Not an expedition boat due to limited storage space, but fine for day tripping. While open ocean paddling is certainly possible; this craft excels in tight quarters wher longer tandems are at a disadvantage. Not much larger than a single, this boat handles beautifully with a lone paddler. Adding a cockpit cover and wieght foreward produces a truly dual purpose craft.
Submit your own review!

10-31-2000
Submitted by: JPGSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Unexpedly fast for a two seater. Ideal for day tripping, limited storage for longer trips. Light, very light at 50lbs for the kevlar, slightly higher for kevlar and glass. Fit and finish was good, seating was fine. High cockpit=dry under most conditions.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt