Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Valley Sea Kayaks > Anas Acuta Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Anas Acuta Kayak by Valley Sea Kayaks


Rated: 9.46/10 Based On: 13 Reviews


Anas Acuta Kayak by Valley Sea Kayaks

Length: ' " - Starting at: $
See More Details about this Kayak
Valley Sea Kayaks Logo



10-18-2010
Submitted by: VinceSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     In the hands of a 150-180lb paddler of moderate skills and experience, as fun & lively a day boat with near unlimited potential for Greenland skills learning as one is likely to find.

In the hands of an experienced paddler bent on close-in conditions paddling, it takes on the characteristics of a rally car, able to do anything the paddler asks of it, most often intuitively.

This is the 10yr. review of my Anas Acuta, which I had customized skeg-less with a forward moved front bulkhead (to accommodate a Henderson foot pump with my 6' ht.) for the express purpose of close-in conditions paddling. At 200lbs with a generous load of gear for day tripping, I sacrifice some speed in flatter conditions but easily make up for it when longer boats struggle in bigger conditions. Worth noting, at my weight the Anas will ram through surf instead of ride over it. 170~180lbs is about the breakpoint for what would be considered a "dry" ride.

Weathercocking in flat seas over 10kts, a skeg would make holding course easier, granted, but add waves to the mix and hybrid strokes & experience will easily keep it on course, due to its crisp chines and tremendous rocker. This extreme chine / rocker combination is as sensitive as any sea kayak as I have ever paddled to weight shifts; fore/aft as well as side/side, great for showcasing various strokes, draws, edging, etc.

Although the Anas will not surf as easily as the Pintail, the Anas will not only stay planted in confused and combining wave conditions, it will truly come alive and make clapotis fun to paddle in, even a half paddle length from rocks, sea walls, whatever – even at speed.

If pushed hard for speed or sprint, it is best paddled with a Greenland paddle as a wide Euro blade will tend to find the 1st inch or so of deck edge upon catch, due in part to the fish form design keeping much of the boat's 20" beam ahead of the knees. Though it would mess up the lines of the boat, it would be interesting to scallop the deck down to the waterline through the foot to knee region in order to accommodate power paddling with a euro blade.

To say the Anas is a joy to roll is an understatement. It inspires you to keep going further. Greenland trick rolls, hand rolling, Reenter & Roll, whatever. Just foam out the seatback, post your head on the rear deck, and you’ll be good to go. The rear deck is about as low as you’re going to find on a manufactured sea kayak and the ocean cockpit is guaranteed to provide instant rock solid stability for all skills as well as Reenter & Rolling. With size 11 1/2 feet, my solution to the low deck height has been to foam out the foot well and angle it forward from the foot arch.

Although the hatches have remained watertight through the past decade, why would anyone want to load down such a sport machine out at the ends with camp gear, etc. and strip it of its playability? That said, yes, it can be done with a minimalist weekend load – 1 1/2 man tent, warm Wx sleeping bag, food & beverage. The important thing is that the day hatch is larger than it needs to be and is easily accessible on-water.

Although easier to carry by the ends than by the toggles, the toggles and perimeter deck line will be welcomed by the swimmers if you do swim supports, and by fellow ‘rescuers’ during skills courses or practice.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
11-04-2009
Submitted by: Malcolm RoweSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Anas Acuta is a day boat, far too low volume for touring. It's slow and tracks poorly in calm conditions. So, what's good about it? It is an outstanding kayak in rough conditions. For example, steep, two meter wind waves breaking on open water in 20 knot winds. The Anas Acuta is not thrown around and handles well. I also paddle a Nordkapp, another outstanding kayak in rough conditions. If I were going to face conditions that pushed me to the limit, I'd want to be in my Anas Acuta.
Submit your own review!

11-02-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Like the other posters here, I really like this boat a lot.
My comments are on the 2008 ocean cockpit model, which is a little different from earlier ones. And for reference, I'm 5'7" & 170 lbs.

Appearance is classic - an adaptation of a real Greenland skin boat to western physiques and uses, yet not bloated beyond recognition like so many other commercial kayaks. A good compromise between the old and the new. Looks as sporty as it paddles.

Quality of construction is now on a par with many North American boats, and attention to detail has increased significantly over older models. Shining a light through the layup shows inconsistent thickness or coloring of gelcoat on the bottom of the hull, but it is not obvious looking at the inside or the outside of the boat. I was just glad to see a British kayak that wasn't 90% gelcoat. Fit and finish are very good, and I found no voids or anomalies in the layup.

Skeg slider placement is very intuitive, and works smoothly. Skeg blade is large, and very effective in keeping the boat tracking straight in winds up to 25kt. The boat balances well for a solo carry, and is not heavy - maybe 50 - 52 lbs. Hatches are watertight, and bulkheads do not leak. Deck now has a recess for a 70P compass right in front of the front hatch. And speaking of hatches - THEY ARE ACTUALLY TETHERED TO THE BOAT. I can't count how many VCP, P&H, and NDK owners that I know that have lost hatch covers in the past. A welcome upgrade! Bow and stern toggles also have tethers to keep them on the deck and out of the water while paddling.

Deckline and bungee layout is very logical, and there are more bungees than you need. Recessed fittings are very well finished. Rear deck bungees and hatches aren't optimally laid out for a Greenland storm paddle, but it works. I'd have liked to have seen reflective decklines at this price, but you can't have everything. They're easy and cheap enough to replace anytime I like.

Seat feels high until you try to put your finger between the back of the seat and the hull - it's actually pretty low in the rear - as low as you'd get sitting on a foam seat. This seat isn't for everyone, though. I find it comfortable so far after a month of owning the boat. The backband is so-so, but I'll leave it in for now.

Paddling -- Wow! More maneuverable than any other commercial sea kayak of that length that I've ever paddled, yet easy to keep on course, especially with the skeg. The boat loves rough water & breaking waves, and is reassuring while still being a lot of fun to paddle. It catches waves easily, and surfs with good control characteristics. Turns on a dime in rock gardens, too. Steep waves bigger than 1.5 feet tend to wash on the decks, but I don't mind that. Boat rolls very easily, and is well suited for G-style rolling, sculling, and balance braces. Even hand rolls aren't difficult. I can layback almost to the deck with the stock seat, which makes rolling a breeze. If I scoot forward a little in the seat, I can bang my head on the rear deck.

Top speed isn't great. However, maintaining a normal cruising pace (4 - 4.5 MPH) is easy. I topped out at just over 6 MPH on a GPS when it became more effort than it was worth for any further gain in speed.

Overall, this is an excellent low volume day/play boat for the small to medium paddler that remains fairly true to its Inuit heritage. It's also one of the oldest commercial sea kayaks, which is a testament to it's design.

Submit your own review!

05-02-2008
Submitted by: Rob BellSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I grew up paddling one of these awesome boats on the west coast of North Wales.
As a day boat, especially for the smaller paddler, this is just the ticket.

In spite of it's relatively narrow (only by the standards of most modern bathtubs) beam, the Anas is very stable, it's hard chines give it great primary and secondary stability. It maneuvers fantastically especially up on edge, so you can use it for rock hopping and close in work. Turning is also easy, there is little need for a rudder, since a gentle lean to the outside of the turn will work at least as well and with less drag.

The ocean cockpit is absolutely the way to go, ok yes, your skills need to improve, but that's a good thing right? I like the smaller opening as it's much easier to keep the water out.

The only cons with this boat, are limited space and displacement, which is not really an issue for day paddling, (I weigh 200lbs), and a slight speed deficiency compared to rounded section hulls.

Submit your own review!

04-17-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently acquired this boat to add to my quiver of kayaks. It is a lot of fun for a play boat because of the manuverability. It turns on a dime and is very stable even though it is only 20" wide. My only complaint is that the fiberglass seat is kinda high but I hear it is not all that hard to cut out and replace with closed cell foam. The front deck is low for use with a greenland style paddle. Mine has an aftermarket drop skeg which, when paddling lakes with a lot of wind chop, has proven effective. I would advise one if the option is available to you. All in all, it is a great boat.
Submit your own review!

07-01-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     This kayak is great fun. It turns and surfs very easily and is at home in rough water. Word of caution, if you get knocked out of it, its very tough to do a self rescue. The boat is very narrow and the ocean cockpit is small. Get your roll down or go out with a group if you feel conditions are above your skill level(good idea anyway!) It's very popular with my club in NJ for its ability to roll and do tricks. It does take a little extra effort to keep up with longer boats, but its worth the trade for its manuverability. Reason for 9 is the soft gelcoat and the silly backband(get rid of it!)
Submit your own review!

01-14-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought this boat after being frustrated paddling boats that were too big for me. This boat is sweet for a small woman-5'2" -very responsive, rolls very easily and is very comfortable. The back band isn't great-replace it. I LOVE this boat!
Submit your own review!

05-28-2001
Submitted by: SJOSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The low deck profile makes this boat extremely nice to paddle in windy conditions.The tradeoff is storage capacity but if you pack right you can still stuff a few days worth of provisions below decks. Quality fiberglass work throughout with attention to detail. The fiberglass bulkheads add strength and remain watertight after a rolling session.VCP hatch covers make this possible and are still the best available. The backstrap is a dissapointment in a boat at this price. You would do well to replace this rather feeble attempt at comfort. This is a boat you will never grow tired of.
Submit your own review!

04-04-2001
Submitted by: D Patterson
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is a fun boat to paddle. It is exceptionaly responsive, I have never paddled another kayak that turns so easily. It's a blast in waves; it bobs up and down and SMACKS the water (so I don't recomend it for those who are prone to sea sickness!) However, I do not like it's tendency to yaw sideways when surfing down a wave. I have an older one, so the hatches are all tiny, which can be a bit of a pain - I have to stuff my sleeping bag INTO the kayak! The skeg works well, when it actually deploys, that is. I know I am not the only one who has had problems with Valley's older skeg system (I guess that's why they changed it!). It's a great looking boat, very low windage as well. If you are looking for something with alot of room for your gear though, look for something else. Overall, I think this is a great weekender for someone who loves action-packed paddling.
Submit your own review!

03-12-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     It's lines look like a javelin - it seems to say, "fly through the wind and water". Handles well, fast, low windage, nice fit, (I'm 5'11" 155 lbs. size 11 shoe.) Well built. Easy to paddle - I use an Inuit-style blade. Wonderful boat!
Submit your own review!

12-31-1999
Submitted by: Steve LisbinSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great maneuverability (turns on a dime)and really fun to roll. Quality of construction is excellent. If your feet are larger than mine (I have size 12 (US) feet) you will have trouble fitting.
Submit your own review!

09-29-1999
Submitted by: C. Thomas
Rating: 10 of 10

     Tha Anas Acuta is the sexiest boat built. While the VCP Pintail may or may not benefit from its new keyhole cockpit, the Anas doesn't, wouldn't be, couldn't, just not, nope, won't...can't.. squeezing into the small "ocean" cockpit (and I'm 5'11", 200#)is a perfect way to begin mental preparation for paddling this boat in a way that is actually worthy of the boat itself. As the Formula I driver enters the cockpit, the Anas is a boat that should be paddled, lest it do the paddling. Valley's finish of the boat is impeccable. Strong, watertight bulkheads, with the VCP watertight hatches including the dayhatch, all top quality. Fiberglass seams, not the protruding plastic junk that some manufacturers still use. All recessed decke fittings, glassed underneath so there's no hardware showing to catch my dry bags or neoprene etc. Full length safety decklines around the perimeter of the boat so when I chase down swimmers they have something to grasp onto.
Submit your own review!

07-08-1999
Submitted by: Laura VigianoSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     22" wide fiberglass boat. Is great in waves and rolls almost by itself. Gorgeous looking boat. Never had any problems with it, eg. the skeg has never needed repair even after 3 years. Hatches are completely airtight. Fits the smaller person like a glove!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt