Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Hobie Cat Company > Mirage Pro Angler 12 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Mirage Pro Angler 12 Kayak by Hobie Cat Company


Rated: 8.75/10 Based On: 4 Reviews


Mirage Pro Angler 12 Kayak by Hobie Cat Company

Length: 12' 0" - Width: 36.00" - Starting at: $3099.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Hobie Cat Company Logo



08-08-2014
Submitted by: DVSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My husband and I bought Pro Angler yaks 4 months ago. We have saltwater fished every weekend since purchase. Tons of room! Yak has built in ice chest, 4 rod storage, hidden tackle boxes and most comfy seat ever. The H bar is another major plus.

I can stand and fish even when wind is kicking. We also have the micro power pole. I can anchor and cast in seconds.

I can honestly say this is the best purchase we ever made!!

Submit your own review!

04-02-2014
Submitted by: Mark
Rating: 10 of 10

     First off, I own a Mirage Sport, Mirage Outback, and my last purchase the Mirage Pro Angler 12. this to qualify my responce to JBM comments [2012-08-31 post] on the Mirage drive system. Once I figured out the quirks of putting the drive in correctly I have had no problems. This is my fault, didn't read the directions. I have been using a Hobie in the Yatch Harbor & ocean for 3 years, and the drive systems have held out flawlessy. I got out every day for a few hours. So I suppose JBM either works for a competing Kayak Co. or he didn't read the directions like me.

My only suggestions for Hobie concerning the Pro Angler 12 are:

  • Seat has no second adjustment for moving seat forward. This means you need to be 6ft tall to get the best comfort for pedaling.
  • Near impossible to disconnect paddle behind you. That problem is solved by using the 1/2 ore with adaptor provided & slip it up front.
  • No easy access to putting your pole forward of the seat. I build things so it was easy for me to customize my Pro Angler 12.
Even with my suggestions, I give Hobie Mirage systems a solid 10!

Submit your own review!

10-08-2012
Submitted by: yaknutzSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     A friend of mine purchased a Pro Angler 12 from Lancaster County Marine about 2 months ago. Just recently I had a chance to test it out...I was a skeptic at first that the mirage drive was going to really perform the way its advertised...NOT ANYMORE! Hobie really has a fantastic concept!

My buddy fishes just about every week in his Pro Angler 12 and raves about how many fish he catches and the places he can get into. All I can say is that I'm now a believer in the Hobies and my friend is 100% satisfied with his purchase. If you are looking for a very comfortable fishing kayak that is very stable, the Pro Angler 12 is the boat! Check out this great video that he showed me.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjdk9aHh9j8
Lancaster County Marine definitely knows their boats! Don't hesitate to buy one of these boats, you wont regret it!

Submit your own review!

08-31-2012
Submitted by: JMBSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     Caution mirage drive system is very very fragile and easy to damage
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Shop these fine Retailers





2-6 Day Kayaking Trips
San Juan Islands
Camping & Inns
www.crystalseas.com/KayakCamp

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale