Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Dagger > RPM Max Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for RPM Max Kayak by Dagger


Rated: 9.2/10 Based On: 15 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-17-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Excellent whitewater kayak for the beginner and advanced paddler. Easy to control, roll and maneuver.
Submit your own review!

02-28-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After studying many kayak sales books, and already owning 5 kayaks, I bought the RPM MAX... SWEET! I Love it! Got the wife the RPM. Bought them Feb 06. At 6'3" 200 lbs. I added a garden knee pad, with bungee rope to the back band and hips... very comfortable. I paddle 4 to 8 times a month I'm taking my RPM MAX! YE HAA!!!!
Submit your own review!

05-02-2007
Submitted by: JimSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is one of the easiest boats to recommend because it's design & performance is rock solid. Just think about it... why hasn't the model changed since it was introduced more than 10 years ago??? I've had mine since it was new & wouldn't change for the world. Very forgiving shape that's great for river running not to mention a little playing too! Probably one of the best all around boats EVER. If you're looking for more buoyancy to increase your safety or are a larger person this is it!
Submit your own review!

07-21-2004
Submitted by: ChrisSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     A superb boat! Good for those who need a little extra room, handles beautifully and rolls well, what more could you want?
Submit your own review!

06-08-2004
Submitted by: CSWSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I loved this boat!! It runs well for class I-IV and I've been able to manage great stern squirts. This may be one disadvantage to the boat because whenever you drop into a hole, the RPM wants to go vertical with the low volume tail. Other than this, the RPM is the best boat that I have ever had for running the water near where I live. Both big water and creeks are no problem for the RPM.
Submit your own review!

09-10-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought an RPM Max 3 months ago and it is the perfect boat for me- large, comfortable, easy to roll, and beautiful. A great beginner boat, very forgiving, and easy to manuever. The back band slips down too frequently, but that's my only complaint.
Submit your own review!

07-30-2001
Submitted by: ZofanteSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I was having trouble with my roll into I got into the Max. I am 6'3 size 13 feet and 275 lbs. The boat is great. Stable and easy to roll and quite comfortable. Throw away the back band and buy a decent one.
Submit your own review!

06-12-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is my first boat. 6'1" and 225 lbs. I fit into it easily, but can tighten up the bulkheads if necessary. The back end is a little squirrelly (as in squirrel) but this is probably due to my lack of balance and not the boat. Also, it is beautiful!
Submit your own review!

03-20-2001
Submitted by: PER
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have had my MAX for just a little over a year. I am a large lady and I love my MAX. My MAX is easy to enter and exit, roll, and manunipulate in tight places. I would be lost without my MAX.
Submit your own review!

02-27-2001
Submitted by: DHSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have owned my RPM Max for about two years. I am 6'4'' 210lbs, size 14 feet and I fit very comfertable in it. Its a great boat for the bigger paddlers. Its very comfertable allowing you to be pain free from those other cramped boats. It surfs really well, but a lot of effort is needed to flat spin. It squirts very easy. I have ran class IV waters with it. The round hull makes it easy to roll. I would recommend this boat for anybody who is large or is going on a multiday kayak trip.
Submit your own review!

11-26-2000
Submitted by: Wayne DixonSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     At 6' foot 265 lbs the Max is the Boat for me. I started last spring trying out all the large boats, I went with the Max. It is easy to handle, forgives my beginner mistakes and let's me out when I need to get out with no problem (an aspect I perticularly like). Since I am learning my roll the Max, with it's rounded chines helps with that too. As ocean wave surfing is my primary I like the way it handles, but round does not cut waves well. But I'm learning and the Max is helping.
Submit your own review!

02-28-2000
Submitted by: JL
Rating: 8 of 10

     As a short (5'8) but heavy (235) person, I'm not exactly what Dagger had in mind for this boat. I've got the bulkhead pulled so far back that I can almost get my foot past it. Even so, I am paddling 100% better in this boat than in most others I've tried. Speed is excellent, even catches pretty small waves well. I find it rolls OK (maybe some of it is me!). The sharp rail on the back is a tad grabbier than I might prefer for river running, but my river buddy can stern squirt the thing, and he's only 180 lbs, so getting vertical is not a problem. On the gripes side, the padding on the thigh grips seems to peel off if you look at it wrong, and the backband they supply is a joke.
Submit your own review!

01-16-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I got my Max shortly after they were available, about 15 monthes ago. I love it. It surfs big waves, too, and has great stability on edge. At 6'-1" and 235 lbs., this boat suits me fine, even comfortably.
Submit your own review!

09-07-1999
Submitted by: Jay
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is the first boat I have ever been able to get into. I am 185cm tall and 100kg. There is plenty of room for legs and feet and the cockpit is nice and wide. I've had to add a bit of padding for hip grabbers and pull out the foam in the thigh braces. The boat surfs well on small waves (that's all I have surfed on so far) and is stable in large waves and drop-offs. I reckon its great if you're large and want a good all round boat.
Submit your own review!

06-14-1999
Submitted by: Dave PruittSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned the Max for three months now. I have also tried every dagger, perception, and wave sport that I could fit into even though I am 200. The Max suited my need well until I started surfing the ocean. This boat is a great all around playboat but as we all know this means compromise if you want a boat that does all.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale