Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Point 65 N > Martini Tandem/Solo Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Martini Tandem/Solo Kayak by Point 65 N


Rated: 8.44/10 Based On: 9 Reviews


Martini Tandem/Solo Kayak by Point 65 N

Length: 13' 8" - Width: 27.00" - Starting at: $1399.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Point 65 N Logo



09-23-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased the tandem primarily for the use by friends as a solo, or as tandem for pets and children. The unique Lego ability to easily add and subtract cockpits make this recreational kayak a standout. Several friends with limited storage space or reduced upper body strength find the 25lb sections allow them to kayak again.

I have used in in solo and tandem configurations and find it very comfortable (6',220lbs), stable, and easy to paddle. The bulk heads and well-sealed, though somewhat awkward, hatches provide nice day trip storage and no need for flotation bags. The rudder system is not ideal, and everyone uses it as a skeg, leaving it inline. As a rec. boat it is slow but not horribly so. Front and rear built in solid grab handles are comfortable for all hand sizes. A little flex, as should be expected in a sectional, is present in chop/waves.

Unique rec. boat that more friends have purchased over all others this year.

Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
08-07-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Love the kayak. Had a problem, Point 65 was WONDERFUL in their response. I have tried a number of different kayaks and none has been as comfortable or stable as my Martini.
Submit your own review!

07-17-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Excellent kayak for a specific purpose. Fits in the back of a small SUV. Extremely simple to put together. Takes 2 minutes to assemble compared to 20 minutes for a folding kayak. Kayak is very stable and comfortable. Kayak is slow which is to be expected given its size.
Submit your own review!

03-04-2013
Submitted by: CCSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We bought this double kayak last summer and have used it nearshore ocean, on lakes and down a large river several times. Probably have used it about 20 times minimum. It really is fantastic. Not really fast - but if I want speed or ocean expedition, I can just rent a fibreglass kayak. The convenience of the Martini means it is used all the time. Plus we can use it as a single kayak and eventually turn it into a triple. We're always traveling cross country and it is really easy to take this thing anywhere. If we go into the mountains, we can just toss it in the truck and use it on whatever lake we find. Plus it is incredibly easy to store. Fantastic product.
Submit your own review!

07-26-2012
Submitted by: linkSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     Had the Martini tandem for 1 yr. Developed a 2 cracks - back of middle section. leaks a lot. Convenient but slow and tracks poorly. Thinking about the Mercury or a one piece. Great sport, love the Hudson...The company is exchanging the middle section. All and all: better than a blow-up but I'm kind of disappointed.
Submit your own review!

05-26-2012
Submitted by: BCPSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought this kayak 3 months ago and been out in it over 12 times in protected waters (estuaries). The kayak is brilliant for family use. I've acc mine for fishing and it works well. Unlike sit on top kayaks, you sit in the Martini below the water line. This makes it heaps more stable especially when there's two. Is slow but tracks really well. I also find the 3 components of the kayak work with the water so on windy days the kayak seems more stable then other large ridged kayaks. Down side: not a conventional kayak and I don't know it's limits. There are plenty of people ready to cast doubt over the kayak all of whom have never tried it. So far it's been brilliant experience and can recommend it as a good family rec unit.
Submit your own review!

03-12-2012
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Martini is made in China just like almost all kayak are now. I have had mine for a year and use it 2-3 times a week. The buckle is only needed to carry the yak to the water. There is no tension on the buckle while in the water. The rudder strings have not even begun to wear yet. The modular design is amazing both from the easy transport/storage POV but also for the hull and rudder.
More owner reviews are available at: point65.net

Submit your own review!

09-16-2011
Submitted by: fredSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

      i purchased this kayak and had the two pieces shipped to by ups. i looked at videos on utube showing super easy put together, take apart and some paddling and also rudder set up. my use was going tobe rv travel as i have other kayaks i prefer to paddle locally.Kayak has great design but was made in china Its put together by a rollarblade buckle a cheap one.hatch cover in rear is hard to get on. no seat or spray skirt as you must pay extra plastic rudder. cables from foot rudder are string. i sent my back as the quality and longevity is poor. save your money and buy something that will be around 10 years from now. i did not paddle it so i have no comment
Submit your own review!

04-28-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Very easy to transport even in a small car. well built and easy to put together even for "easily frustrated" people like me. The cockpit is large and provide an easy entry while the seats are relatively comfortable.(NATIVE CRAFT has the best seats of all!!!) I had this Kayak for over a week already and I've gone in different lakes and the Delaware river without feeling too uneasy even on strong currents.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!











Bending Branches:



GRUMMAN CANOES
FREE SHIPPING on all canoes until May 14
See Paddling.net for great reviews
www.canoeinglife.com

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Educational DVDs Shirt Sale