Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Tahe Marine > Greenland T Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Greenland T Kayak by Tahe Marine


Rated: 9.13/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-08-2014
Submitted by: JCorrSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Ok, seriously guys. 10/10? This is why no one trusts Padnet reviews! You need to be more realistic. I love this boat. It is my favorite boat not on the market. I love how it paddles, looks, and how others are drawn to it as well. But 10/10? Does it wipe my ass and dispense whisky?

The first thing that you're going to notice about this kayak are it's great lines. The Greenland influences that Johan Wirsen used to design the Greenland T are equally beautiful to Greenland paddlers and uninitiated passersby. The Zegul rip off (yes, they did rip it off) completely ruins the design by softening the boat's hard angles. Even Johan's new boat, the Rebel Greenland kayak, doesn't match the beauty of the original Greenland and Greenland T.

If you are trying to decide between the Greenland T and the Greenland, consider this - the T will roll with ease and finesse, more so than any non-Greenland specialty boat. With the Greenland, you gain a small amount of rolling capability, and lose a lot of rough and open water capability. You will also notice a detriment to boat handling as well, due to the low freeboard.

The Greenland T is a very comfortable boat. The bucket seat and low backband are very comfortable, even on long paddles (3-4 hours or more). It uses a nice foot peg system that doesn't force you to lean into the cockpit to adjust. I have modified by foot pegs to hold a foam bulkhead in place, that can be adjusted fore and aft along the foot peg track. Some have complained that the T's seat is too far back, too close to the coaming. This is true. The coaming cuts into the back of the paddler when lying on the rear deck. However, I have never noticed this in a roll. You can move the seat forward, but it then goes from having five points of attachment to having only two (and it get creaky). If the seat were further forward, you could also install your bilge behind it (as the bulkhead and seat pan are touching). I would suggest a Redfish kayaks seat if you are hoping to move the seat forward.

Bulkheads and Kajak Sport hatch covers are absolutely water tight (and you can imagine that the boat is getting pretty wet). I have drilled four holes in the forward bulkhead to accommodate an auto bilge pump, and it is still water tight. However, the skeg box does have a small leak (as others have noticed, to varying degrees). The leak has developed at the joint between two walls of the skeg box. Not a hard fix. The slider is nice and partially recessed, although not as much so as I'd like. The painted hull interior is a nice touch. It is much nicer to look at than raw composite weave.

The cockpit is plenty large for any "average" paddler. I'm 6'2" 160# and I fit with room. I wouldn't recommend exceeding 180# though. ceiling height at the coaming is 13". Near the forward bulkhead it is more like 10". I wear a size 11 US shoe, and I find that I have to paddle this boat without booties. I wear neoprene socks over my drysuit socks. The flanges of the keyhole cockpit grip my thighs well enough that I do not long for an ocean cockpit of masiq.

The rear deck is low enough that layback rolls and balance braces require little arching of the back or much thought at all, really. This is nice when doing fancy, slow rolls, as well as violent storm rolls. Or when goofing off and walking the kayak's deck. However, the Greenland T suffers from something I have dubbed "water-noise." The T's hard chines allow it to carve effortlessly. When edged hard enough, however, the rear deck begins collecting water directly behind the paddler. You will notice the sound of turbulent water behind you, and your bow rudder or low brace turn will turn into a slow sideways drift, as your boat loses efficiency like a sinking ship. As a result, I have adjusted my paddling style, and done away with the aggressive edging I'm used to using in soft shined or round hulled boats like the NDK Romany.

The T has AMPLE storage space for one, two, three night camping trips. Depending on the availability of fresh water and food along the way, you could go longer, easily. The only piece of gear that I have not been able to pack away is my massive sleeping pad (REI XL self inflating pad, 2.5' thickness). I also suggest carrying liquor of a high proof, as beer will quickly deplete your space and raise your water line.

During fully-loaded expeditions I noticed that the T needed about 1/4 skeg deployment in order to keep the boat tracking straight. However, I did not notice much difference in water line. I did paddle in quite rough conditions (3-5' swells, current, wind) while fully loaded. Windage was next to none, and the bow had no problem taking commend of oncoming waves, despite its low volume.

The T's hull surfs excellently, despite it's low volume bow and stern. While waiting for a wave, or paddling backwards through the surf, the paddler is battered terribly, due to the stern's lack of buoyancy. I found myself being slammed in the shoulders and the back of the head by 3-4' swells. However, on the right side of a wave, the T handles excellently. Leaning about 30% of my weight onto the back deck allows the boat to take off, and it will more likely outrun the wave it surfs than broach or pitch pole.

Overall I rate the Greenland T a 7/10. This is a good score! A kayak is not a math test that can perfectly filled out. When we find a kayak that is truly a 10/10, no kayak will be a 10/10.

Submit your own review!

03-25-2014
Submitted by: Don
Rating: 9 of 10

     I'm 6', 160 lbs. and enjoy paddling in rough conditions and Greenland rolling. The Tahe Greenland T has the TCI lite layup and weighs 42 lbs. The layup is both carbon fiber and kevlar. Very light and stiff. The kayak fits me great as a rough water kayak with plenty of free board above the the waterline.

I have paddled many kayaks in these conditions and have never had a kayak that is so neutral in both waves and wind. The kayak tracks well, is very responsive to every paddle stroke and requires very minimal corrective strokes in any condition compared to anything else I've paddled. Any experienced paddler has to paddle this kayak to see what they are missing.

I moved the seat forward a couple inches to accommodate lay back rolls better and it didn't seem to effect the handling at all. I removed the backband and installed a piece of foam which works well and is very comfortable. The primary and secondary stability are moderate for someone my weight. Because my weight doesn't set the kayak low in the water it isn't optimal for Greenland technique, although it does roll very easily. The thigh braces did need some additional foam for a better grip. The kayak surfs well but I haven't tried any large steep waves.

The kayak is very sexy looking and gets a lot compliments. For the conditions I paddle in I couldn't be happier. It's a very rewarding kayak to paddle.

Submit your own review!

03-14-2014
Submitted by: MSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am the third owner of a Greenlander Touring although it is probably only two years old. I can understand that this is not a first boat as it is a specialized boat probably bought as an addition to the fleet for an experienced kayaker as a day fun and rolling boat. It may be just one of the fleet and not always be the preferred one for long paddles.

I have owned a number of kayaks and am very experienced in paddling time although perhaps not as skilled as many with the same hours up.

My impressions of this kayak are:
A very well built kayak that attracts attention for its racy good looks. It is not as racy on the water but is effortless to paddle at its cruising speed. Additional effort is not rewarded by much additional speed. I would not regard it as extra fast except downwind when it will surf well and remain downwind and stable with the skeg down. In cross winds and beam seas it is more comfortable than most with the feel of stability and lack of windcocking because of the very low profile.

The skeg works extra well and controls direction effortlessly in side winds with minimal deployment.
The very low back to the cockpit makes laying back easy but I put a bit of foam behind the backrest for a bit of extra support during longer paddles.
The boat is very low in the water and my fellow paddlers comment on how much of my boat is under water in rougher seas. However it feels very stable and easy to brace probably because it sits so low in the water and has reasonable rocker.

I think this is the best kayak I have owned because of the high quality of construction, the fun element, the ability to roll while still being able to keep up with the larger expedition kayaks, although with a little more effort.

This is a very low volume Greenland style kayak and your legs will be lower and straighter and back support minimal compared to higher volume expedition types. Because I am a large paddler I need to twist my body to wet exit easily from this low volume boat. I have never had to wet exit unless doing so in practice.

If it fits it will be fun. I am 188cm tall, 100kg and well past retirement age. I enjoy this Greenlander T and would recommend it for its quality build, fun factor and amazing looks.

Submit your own review!

01-21-2014
Submitted by: Nels
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had my Tahe Greenland T for a year. I have wanted to do a review on this kayak after I have had a little more experience paddling it. I am 56 years old, 5 ft. 11 in. and 170 lbs. I am an experienced kayaker but at my age I am not doing the extreme stuff anymore.

The thing that first caught my eye about this kayak is it is a beauty to look at and I get the same comments from others. The boat is a lighter (composite)construction. It is not built super strong but adequate. It is very light. As mentioned in the other review the bolt heads are capped to keep a flush deck for cargo etc. It is fairly well finished both inside and out but not to the extent of the British kayaks I have owned.

I have changed the seat because it bothered my back after a couple hours paddling. I have a higher back pad set up because I wanted to do more touring. I have also replaced the toggle cords with heavier cord as the other reviewer said he did.

It is an easy cockpit to get in and out of. I liked the knee braces after I added extra padding but that is a personal preference for the paddler. It has good initial stability as I have found other chined hull kayaks and excellent secondary stability. Chined hull kayaks are typically very easy to edge. It is also easy to roll.

It is a relatively fast for a kayak that is very maneuverable. The kayak doesn't have much windcocking but if necessary I can always deploy the skeg. I have had the kayak in 2 to 3 ft. chop and larger ocean swells and it is very seaworthy and a proven Greenland design. Because of the kayak's light weight it is easy for loading on the SUV. I have found four day tours with gear not a problem.

I also have a Valley Skerray XL which has a lot more cargo capacity but I still think this kayak is adequate for touring. There were no signs of water leaks on cargo when touring. I am not taking anything away from the Greenland T but I do use my Skerray more in the winter months. That is mainly because it is a drier boat in windy weather and bigger seas. I actually love the playfulness of this boat and that is where it gets it's highest marks. This is definitely a unique kayak that I would recommend to at least demo.

Submit your own review!

04-28-2013
Submitted by: tiggerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     First of all big respect to paddling.net for hosting these reviews. Whilst it has been commented that posters here are generally 'for' their boats and are more likely to submit positive comment because of that I still feel that this site represents honest opinions. Given that I'll move onto the Tahe Greenland T (Tour, GT).

I am a 175cm 95kg male who has paddled the T for three years, alongside a semi carbon standard Greenland, a Tahe Reval, and an S&G angmagssalik as well as several other popular sea kayaks. What strikes me most about the Greenland T is the fun factor combined with my ability to tour in the boat. I have toured/camped from the boat for in excess of a week, restocking water and supplies en route very successfully, with a good average touring speed (4knts). I have giggled through 15ft swell in bF7, albeit without much prospect of making forward distance into the wind, surfed the self same swells home with perfect control.

The boat rolls like a dream and really is the preferred option over the stock Tahe Greenland if you are 85+kg; seriously. The construction is very good for the weight (mine has a kevlar layer) and is tough enough for heavy surf and the odd rock conflict. The gelcoat seems 'soft' compared to others and whilst it is easy with trad. design boats to confuse speed with stealth the Greenland T offers decent speed and excellent maneuverability when heeled and driven through the water properly (ie; edging and appropriate strokes). Low decks make for a wet boat and the large touring type hatches and large cockpit do allow for some water ingress (I use a Reed deck) but for me this is an acceptable pay off for what is in essence a coastal boat as opposed to a big crosser. Having said that I have made 5 mile crossings without any worry.

Altogether a good all rounder; surf, tour, big seas, for a 200lb paddler looing for f,f,f,fun!

Submit your own review!

12-31-2012
Submitted by: Free WillySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had mine for two seasons now. I use a Greenland stick exclusively. No disagreement here with the earlier two reviews, but it took me a while to settle in with this boat.

Tahe created the T to accommodate larger paddlers than the Greenland (both now carry the Zegul badge). I demoed both hulls and went with the T because it "felt" faster and more maneuverable than the slimmer Greenland. In addition to having a bit more volume (in beam), the T also has a day hatch and full keyhole cockpit that the Greenland lacks. However, at 5-foot-9 and 165 lbs, I am a bit smaller than at least one of the two previous reviewers. It seems that Tahe -- to expand their market to bigger paddlers -- moved the T's seat aft. I found it too close to the rear coaming for comfortable laybacks, and too far from the thigh hooks for someone of my size to get a good grip.

So I drilled a couple of new holes in the cheek stays and re-hung the stock seat about 1 inch forward. This gave me just enough room in front of the coaming for a much improved layback. I removed the backband in favor of a full-width, 1-inch minicell pad wedged between the top of the seat and the bottom of the coaming. I also removed the seat pad for a better fit (the stock seat is contoured so nicely no pad is needed) and I use a 1-inch minicell masik that I slide into place slightly aft of the thigh hooks. This gives me a tight but all-day comfortable fit in the cockpit and great control. If it changed the trim and handling of the hull at all, it improved it.

With these modifications I just love this boat for day paddling in all conditions. It is crazy fast, maneuverable, loves running on waves, and is a blast in surf. It is surprisingly stable and stupid-easy to brace or roll.
And, it looks SO darn cool. I have yet to try loading it up for camping but will this spring.

Submit your own review!

10-17-2012
Submitted by: FozzySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned a Tahe Marine Greenland T(ouring) for 3 months now, and have used it in a variety of conditions up to about winds Force 5 and 2.5m swells. I have a heavy duty Composite Lite version, which sound like a contradiction in terms but means I have a relatively light boat, with a double thickness hull. Perfect for Atlantic swells and tide races in the Bristol Channel.

I'm 5'10 and weigh 88kgs. I have no problems fitting in the low volume Greenland. The first time I got in it I found it a little tippy, but my old boat is a lot wider. Once I got moving it soon settled down. Within 20 minutes I was happy. What really surprised me is the secondary stability. It's great. So easy to hold an edge and thanks to the hard chines it turns very smoothly and very quickly.

It's reasonably fast. The rocker and very sharp ends reduce the water line, but it's not meant to be a sprint boat. It tracks beautifully in all conditions. I tend to only use the skeg in a heavy following sea or surfing. I've never needed it to prevent weather cocking.

It's a great boat in waves. Rides up then punches through easily. In a beam sea, the V hull and hard chines mean bracing into the wave is easy. Its the easiest boat to roll I've ever paddled - even when fully loaded.

A lot of people thinks it's too low a volume for multi-day trips. I've now done two 5 days trips, with no issues at all. But coming from a mountaineering background I've spent far too much money on lightweight kit, and work on the principle "If I can't carry it I can't take it" and the boat still has way more volume than any rucksack!

The build quality and attention to detail is excellent. I find the seat and (basic) back support very comfortable. The footrests are solid and very easy to adjust. All three bulkheads and hatches are completely watertight. I never had a drop get in yet. Apart from a few very minor scratches from spare paddles on the stern deck there's hardly a mark on it. The hull is still unmarked despite a few beach landings. I've added some more bungy to the front deck and a mount for a Silva 70 compass.

Everyone who's paddled it falls in love with it - if they haven't already been wooed by it super sexy looks. This is going to be my kayak of choice for a long time!

Submit your own review!

04-22-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     At last weeks Kayak Festival in James Island Park, Charleston, SC I added a Tahe Greenland T to my collection.
Bio: 66 years old, Male, 6' and 175lbs. I consider myself an intermediate level paddler.

The boat appears very made. Although not heavily built the deck does not deflect when sat on. All bolt heads are capped so will not damage cargo or flesh. Finish, inside and out is superlative. Most of the deck is finished in a slightly rough method. Not enough to be truly non-skid. The seat, all-day comfortable, has a thin, removable pad. An aftermarket back pad maybe welcomed by some. The only fault in build or equipment noted is the thinness of the toggle cords. I have all ready replaced them with a heavier cord. The cockpit is easy to enter, either feet or butt first. Exit, wet or dry is equally easy. Knee braces are perfect for me. I will add some thin padding.

I find initial stability to much better than expected. Secondary is rock steady. Slight edging and the boat turns beautifully. Glide seems to go on forever. The skeg, which operates easily, seems superfluous. The boat does not weathercock. (paddled in winds gusting to 30 knots with waves to 18") Shoulder carries require no special effort. The boat is light and balances well. Car top loading is greatly facilitated due to lightness. Design is beautiful, classic and attracting paddlers and commentary. I am looking forward to getting out in some large seas. I shall use a larger boat with more capacity for camping. Way to go, Tahe Marine.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Luxury Kayaking Trips
ORCA WHALES, EAGLES
SAN JUAN ISLANDS
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.