Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Cascade Creek Yakgrips Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Cascade Creek Yakgrips


Rated: 8.13/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Cascade Creek Co., Inc. Logo
See Products from Cascade Creek Co., Inc. in the Buyers' Guide!
Cascade Creek Co., Inc. in the Buyers' Guide:
  • Yakgrips



09-22-2014
Submitted by: LLBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love these grips. I have used them for several years. I have searched local stores for an additional pair for my husband's paddle and have not been able to locate them. So glad I can order them online from a reputable source. Everyone should have a pair.
Submit your own review!

09-05-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We purchased two pairs of these (non-velcro) for our take-apart paddles. They require slight effort in putting them on, using water makes it easier. They fit snug on our paddles. They are not thick, yet they provide just enough cushion to keep a good grip and be comfortable, even in heavy paddling. If and when they wear out, I will purchase them again.
Submit your own review!

05-05-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I was very surprised at how comfortable the neoprene grips are. I thought they might have been made cheap because of the price, but they saved my hands in the long run. If they are wet or dry, the condition doesn't matter. They still remain comfortable and easy to place on paddle. Excellent product and good job Yak Grips.
Submit your own review!

08-19-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I purchased a pair of Yakgrips kayak paddle grips for my paddles. I wanted to protect my hands from blisters while paddling. I figured it was a great idea. I also considering paddling gloves as an alternative to the Yakgrips. Used them one time and noticed they don't stay put on the paddle shafts. When they get wet they tend to slide up and down the shaft. I found it better to paddle without them. Needless to say I will be retuning them.
Submit your own review!

08-05-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have a few paddles that have seen better days. A fiberglass model that has tears in the wrapping in the grip area. I have another one that has loose drip rings. Couple that with a sister-in-law and daughter who keep getting blisters and I figured I should give these a try.

I bought four: two of each style (split shaft and solid shaft) they seem to work as advertised. Everyone who has used them has liked them. I'd recommend the solid shaft model because the Velcro closure allows one to put it on directly rather than taking things apart rand trying to slip the pad down the shaft. Also, if you have a paddle that splits and allows you to set the feathering to a wide range of settings, you won't be able to slip the split paddle model on one of the shafts.

Submit your own review!

04-09-2013
Submitted by: RodSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     Did not like them. Neither did my wife. We took them off and will give them away to someone who likes them. They slipped around too much for me. I'd rather do without.
Submit your own review!

09-05-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We paddled a few trips without Yakgrips and started to get blisters on our hands. I seen the Yakgrips on ebay and ordered a couple of pair. They are great, no more blisters and makes holding onto the paddle easier. We has them on Aqua-Bound Manta Ray aluminum shaft paddles and they do slip a little on the shaft, but not so much that it becomes annoying. Would not hesitate to buy more if I needed them.
Submit your own review!

08-04-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I'm on my second set of YakGrips because I love them! After 3 full summers of paddling a couple times per week the rubber wore out and the grips started slipping on my first pair.

They slip onto the paddle shaft after you wet it (hard to get all the way on the right, wider shaft end) and stay in place until the rubber wears out. I saw a review on Amazon that said they slip; when new, mine barely move at all on the shaft.

I find these help with paddling comfort, which reduces fatigue. If you have large hands they are especially helpful. My fingers no longer wrap way around the paddle shaft, making finger release on the forward stroke easier. I tried paddling gloves for a few excursions, but prefer YG's.
I highly recommend this for kayaking.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale