Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Mad River Canoe > Guide Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Guide Canoe by Mad River Canoe


Rated: 8.47/10 Based On: 15 Reviews

Canoes Image Canoes Image Canoes Image
Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



07-03-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had my Guide about 6 years, bought it used and have paddled on weeklong canoe camping trips and day trips on small whitewater, swamps, narrow creeks, and wide rivers. I love it as it turns on a dime and gives you 9 cent change. It holds enough gear for a week, including water, cooler and all camping gear and food. The Royalex is almost indestructible and have the Kevlar pads on both bow and stern. Love the boat.
Submit your own review!

02-10-2013
Submitted by: PKSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I used this boat for thru-paddling the NFCT and as my go to pond fishing boat while I served as an Allagash Ranger. (For lake inspection I used a MR Traveler). The Guide is perhaps the signature boat for the 750-mile route (in Royalex). While this boat drove me nuts on flatwater for its sluggishness, it was reassuringly agile in tight whitewater. The thing I loved about it was that I showed the boat zero respect and nothing happened to it. I dragged it across slash piles, dragged it down carries and rock embankments, and on occasion dragged it over guard rails and across highways. Still, very little wear and tear. It is ugly in vinyl trim, but you don't have to babysit it as you would have to do with wood.

In general I feel that life is too short to look at vinyl gunwales, but there are times when you have to make compromises. Again, I can't stress enough that this boat is a little bathtub on the flats..keep the trip short and you may not feel it that much, but a ten mile lake paddle? Torture.

Submit your own review!

08-24-2012
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this boat! I have paddled it on whitewater up to class III with ease and find that after the first few strokes to get it moving I can zip right along on large open water. I paddle this boat every day. I would love a faster boat on the lakes but I know I would sacrifice the maneuverability of my guide for the rivers. The key word is versatile! From calm ocean (Acadia, Maine) to class III this boat does it all!
Submit your own review!

05-26-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The 14'6" Guide model is perfect for weekend and week-long canoe camping trips. It is agile and easy to turn and hold my weight (220) plus camping gear, cooler, tent, food, water for week long trip with ease. Love it.
Submit your own review!

03-29-2011
Submitted by: smlSend Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     I'm sorry but I do not feel that this canoe is safe for family use! I have owned the 14' for two summers now and have used it on small lakes more times than I can count. I have found it to be too "Tippy" to trust it with family members especially your younger children!! IT IS TOO NARROW FOR GOOD STABILITY! Please consider you purchase carefully before you invest in this canoe - your family's lives will depend on it!
Submit your own review!

05-03-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     This review is for a 2004 model Guide or "Freedom Solo" as it has been renamed, w/ vinyl trim. A little about me: I'm 30 years old 6'3" tall and 210lbs. I paddle Ozark streams and carry between 30 and 80 lbs. of gear on overnighters and week long river trips.

I've paddled the boat on two, three day trips on class I and II rivers and through a class III rock garden w/ an 80 lb. load. I love the way this boat eddy turns and spins on and off the eddy line. The hull feels so loose on the water compared to my Dagger Legend 15 Solo. The Guide can catch the smallest eddies too. It's a little shakey initially but not bad. Turning completely around while seated took a little getting use too. But standing is no problem. Underway it responds to leans nicely and firms up at the gunwales. I did take on a little more water than expected. It has a sharp entry and punches through standing waves and haystacks with speed but you get a little wet, not a big deal. On flats I feel like it accelerated quickly but hits it's top speed quickly as well, which isn't very fast. It has OK glide but it can get away from you if your not used to it. On my first day in it, it started to carve a turn on it's own and it was suprisingly difficult to convince it to do otherwise. I learned quickly to use this to my advantage and carve beuatiful smooth turns paddleing on the inside. Which is totally my style. I like to cruz in and out of the vegatation on the flats and this boat is perfect for that.

With that said, as far as build quality goes; I had the boat shipped freight to me. When I got it home the first thing I noticed was the seat was 2 inches off to one side. The seat holes and the holes in the gunwales didn't match up(I like the seat right at the gunwales(no hangers)). I had a new uncut seat so it was a quick fix. The second thing I noticed was the decks are ugly and I kind of wished for the all wood set up. The hull is beautiful. The rivets, gunwales and thwarts look good too.

I will say it does oilcan a little with a 300 lbs. total load and a little bouncing. But, the trade off is the nice, light weight. Overall I could only wish for more speed but I would have to pay in playablility.

Submit your own review!

07-22-2003
Submitted by: ghaldemanSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I'd describe this as a rough water, light tripping canoe. Definitely designed for moving water, I think this would be a very different boat with a load. I have only used it on the Slippery Rock Creek in PA, but I got through everywhere high and dry. It turns easily (but no like my Dagger Encore), was comfortable for an 8 hour day, caught eddies and tracked straight enough for moving water. It's light weight (compared to my MR Freedom) made it a pleasure to be enjoyed. I was fishing a lot of the day and it was easy to place anywhere and went upstream easily to unsnag lures. I wouldn't hesitate to use this on class III (airbags, natch) or near shore lake trips. I think the wind would play havoc on open water. The boat responds well to proper and efficient strokes. For the experienced paddler, it just goes without thinking too much.
Submit your own review!

05-06-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 6 of 10

     I have a Guide Rx, (wood trim)that I use for canoe trips on the Middle Fork Salmon when I want to carry a lot of gear ... e.g., more food when other people come along, more clothing for late season trips, etc. It works fine as a solo, wilderness tripper. Handles whitewater with ease. It's not as fast as a my Wenonah Rendevous but it's easier to maneuver and you can haul more.
Submit your own review!

02-26-2002
Submitted by: MikeSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have had a Royalex Guide for about 6 years. I am somewhat ambivalent about its performance. I find its best as a detuned playboat. I like to use it to play on class II rivers. For a touring boat, it will surf and side surf very easily. It ferries OK. My ambivalence comes in its performance in slowly moving and flat water. I feel it to be very sluggish. I have found the tandem equivalents (like the Explorer) just as easy to paddle as a solo. The Guide has virtually no glide and does not accelerate quickly like a true white water boat. I still have had a lot of fun in it and my reservations might be that I paddle flat and slow water with a Wenonah Advantage, a boat that moves like a rocket.
Submit your own review!

07-23-2001
Submitted by: Neal CoatsSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a used one about a month ago. It's a 1997 model and the woodwork had not been touched since it was new. I bought the Mad River stain and wood finish and redid the woodwork with a dark finish. The canoe is sand colored and the dark wood really sets it off. I took it for it's first paddle this weekend. I weigh 200 pounds and had about 60 pounds of camping gear. I have a bad right shoulder so I have to use a double paddle (240cm). The river had quite a few riffles and some class I and one class II. Many, many long slow pools. With the double paddle, it moves right along. In the class I and II, pick a good line and the boat won't disappoint you. Being as it is made with Royalex I consider it a super river tripping solo boat if you use common sense and realize that no loaded tripping boat is a whitewater boat. I look forward to many more river trips in it.
Submit your own review!

05-29-2001
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I agree with everything above, but would add that this is not a boat for a heavier paddler. I've had a guide for two years now and have decided to sell it. I weigh 250, and the guide is just a shade too light to have that much weight above the rails ( I know, "loose weight" but I'm just being realistic here.) Also, the seat seems to be place just a tad too far forward for me. When you kneel, you're really more in the bow of the boat.

I paddled a Mad River Freedom at the local paddle shop's big You-Can-Paddl-Too days and have one on order now. For a bigger paddler who needs a little more "beam," consider this boat.

Submit your own review!

05-18-2000
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great canoe for a single person. Very good secondary stability. I've owned it for 4-5 years and use it on a local reservoir. It is slightly rockered for use on Class I whitewater. Mad River helped me out when I lost some seat pieces and screws - gave me a replacement kit without charge.
Submit your own review!

01-11-2000
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a boat that is best enjoyed by a relatively advanced paddler with a good J-stroke. The inherent charateristics that make the Guide one of the best (if not the best) river canoe through class II, makes it track poor relative to a true flatwater boat...rocker and a relatively short keeline. However, the boat responds very well to a vertical stroke, with cross strokes used to pull the boat back on course. The Guide bow surfs like a charm, catches eddies like a dream and has plenty of speed for most attainment moves. Side surfing, the Guide is relatively grabby due to it's hardish chines and length. In addition due to the length, it is difficult to spin on small waves and stay on the wave. The Guide also has the capacity to trip in it, however, like most canoes is quite affected by trim.

The Guide is far from slow, but is propelled at it's greatest speed with a short stroke ending before reaching the hip. An advanced paddler can get up to about 5 strokes on one side before needing a correction following this method.

Overall, if you are looking for a great river canoe and light whitewater canoe or a solo river tripping canoe. This one really is without peer.

Submit your own review!

12-05-1999
Submitted by: PD
Rating: 10 of 10

     This canoe turns,heels,draws and keeps you dry- but does not track on flat, especially in the wind. It is more responsive than any boat I've used, good in narrow rivers up to classII, but needs flotation for that. It's 10/10 on easy whitewater and twisty water, but 6/10 on open lakes and sloughs. A good playful boat.
Submit your own review!

04-06-1999
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     A terrific canoe, incredibly responsive to traditional paddle strokes. I just sold mine last summer and am regretting it. I will probably buy another. It was just plain fun to fool around in. They turn on a dime, have good speed for a short boat with ample rocker, will carry significant weight, is bomb-proof in royalex, will handle rapids above class II (add floatation), and can handle crossing large lakes in rough conditions. They do not track well for those that want a boat that'll go straight with ease (they do track better with a load as the stems are deeper in the water). You need a somewhat intuitive J-stroke to enjoy one on flatwater. If you're a "hit and switch" bent shaft paddler you'd only get a stroke or two on each side.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale