Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Dagger > Magellan Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Magellan Kayak by Dagger


Rated: 8.8/10 Based On: 20 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



04-19-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Excellent boat with huge storage capacity. I do week long trips on Lake Powell and can easily fit everything I need and them some...essentially no leaking in hatches or bulkheads, rarely use rudder, but it works well when necessary...very comfortable (I added thin high density foam to seat)...no worries about a bit of dragging up on rocky shoreline...reasonably fast, tracks very well...just a great all around plastic boat...lighter would be wonderful. but durable is great as well.
Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
04-28-2010
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought this boat used off Craigslist for $600. I immediately fell in love with it before I paid for it. It has superior tracking and is accurate on the dime. This boat handles well in any type if water, and can take a beating. It also glides and can pickup quite a pace when used as a racing kayak. I've tried Eddylines and Current Design boats, nice, but with a plastic warship like this there are no worries. If you have a chance to buy one of these, or know of someone that does, let me know, I'd love to buy two.
Submit your own review!

04-15-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The 16'6" Magellan was my first sea kayak after owning two rec boats. This kayak would make an excellent first boat. It is plenty fast and stable. Tracks straight and true. Glides over the water rather than plowing through it. I was able to lap the small lake by my house twice, when I normally could do it only once in my 11 foot rec boat.

The rudder is only needed in windy conditions, but is very convenient and easy to use. It is much more effective than a skeg. Ergonomics are just fine. If you desire a little softer seat, it is easy to place a gel pad or as much foam as you want under the standard cushion. Foot pegs/rudder pedals work fine and should be able to handle anybody from 5 to 6 feet tall. My boat has the soft neoprene inner hatch covers with hard outer covers. This is a very nice and dry set-up, once you get the hang of popping on the soft covers. They are superior over the cheaper Dagger rubber covers. Storage room in this boat is unbelievable. The hard plastic bulkheads take up much less room than the foam versions.

The Magellan is built to take a lot of abuse. That is why they were so popular with rental fleets. All in all, a great boat and highly recommended.

Submit your own review!

02-15-2006
Submitted by: G LyonsSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had this boat about 8 yrs now and used it mostly on the Lower Colorado, lakes Mead and Powell. I'm very satisfied. Great storage space and speed. I did 34 miles on Lake Powel and had time for a hike before sun set. I don't like the oil canning on the bottem, but that isn't much to complain about. I'm hard on boats and fiberglass would be great but I would probably break it within a year.
Submit your own review!

09-11-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Had my Magellan for about 4 months. Love the ride. Paddled in the ocean harbors, chop to 2 - 3 feet, stayed dry. Paddled on the Colorado river flatwater, awesome. I made a kayak rolling cart, so no problem with carrying the boat from my full size truck to the water's edge. With Hully Rollers, easy to load on top of the truck. All in all, very satisfied.
Submit your own review!

12-08-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     GREAT BOAT! I'm 6-2 and 265# with size 13 shoes. Fits well although the foot rests could be moved another inch or two down. Have paddled Lake Superior with 4' waves and it hasn't failed to bring me back yet. Take it to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area and have ample space for several days provisions including a cot to sleep on. Put a skeg on it for improved directional stability. Fast, fun and forgiving. No problems with "oilcanning" if you take even a little care with how you store and transport it. Email with any questions.
Submit your own review!

09-26-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     Picked up the Magellan last summer and have paddled it in all kinds of weather. Tons of fun. Handles waves as high as 6 to 7 feet, tracks well. Of all the boats I've tried over the years, the most repsonse of the plastic type. A little tight for my size 12 shoe. Very quick. Great starter boat for the mediume to large paddler.
Submit your own review!

12-26-2002
Submitted by: JoeMcSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The Magellan has proven to be capable sea kayak. It is my third kayak and I intend to keep it for a long time to come. It is roomy and well suited for medium to large paddlers. Dagger offers thigh braces that bolt right in and offer modest to aggressive fit. Handling is crisp and predictable. This boat is surprisingly fast considering it falls on the heavy side of the scales. Its bow design facilitates a smooth ride over waves rather than through them. When a wave does break over the deck, water sheds down and out around the cockpit via gutters. This boat is well designed with details that make paddling more enjoyable. Examples: the deck employs an anti glare surface in selected areas, full perimeter lines and generous tie downs. Hatches include both rubber covers and hard "hurricane" hatches(may be retrofitted to older boats). The combination provides a safe,dry storage system. I found without the hard hatches it was possible to implode the rubber rear hatch when self rescueing(no fun). Having that rear compartment flood while at sea or in cold water would be catasrophic. No boat is perfect so I'll list the room for improvement. Kayak seats could have been tools of the Spanish inquisition. This one is no exception. It is an easy fix with the availiable seat cushions/ backbands. My boat is equipped with the Seal Line Smart Track rudder system. The stock rudder works fine but the aftermarket system has its advantages. I have used this boat in coastal and inland paddling. It has proven to be stable and durable. Last year (2002) was the last production run for the Magellan. The parent company that merged Dagger and Perception trimmed down the Dagger model line at the expense of many fine boats. If you can find a Magellan I suggest you buy it. It offers a great deal of boat for the money.
Submit your own review!

06-24-2002
Submitted by: NomadikSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     Deception. At first I thought that the Magellan would be a good all around boat. I brought 2 up-North to paddle wide rivers and rough seas of Nunavik. But after the leaks, the broken handle, the uncomfortable seat for the lower back, and the oxydated rudder that wouldn't go back to its place after 3 years of sea salt...I sold them. I am still looking for better and I guess I am hard to satisfy!
Submit your own review!

11-26-2001
Submitted by: AEWSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     12 months of happy ownership see me as a continued happy Magellan paddler. I know that there are lighter, faster, tighter Kayaks available and I have had the chance to sample some. But I also know that fit and feel can be very subjective and reviews can only express opinion in this. I find the Magellan an absolute joy to paddle in a range of conditions - from the local lake to rivers to coastal hops in mixed conditions. I still can't find a better Poly Kayak for such a range of uses.

I have had no problems with leaks or any other "kayak quality" issues. I beleive that the newer Magellans (my vintage) had welded bukheads versus glued ones one of old. I suspect that the reviewers with leaks had the earlier guled ones. Everything works and well. My upgraded, thicker, deck cords and personal upgrade of the seat pads made all the difference to comfort. I haven't had problems with the Poly deforming or dinting due to my storing the Kayak with slings, transporting it with specific Thule Kayak cradles and just taking care. I have seen the effect and learned that such proper care and handling is the fix. So once again I give the Magellan a high rating. For value, performance at that value, and jack-of-all-trades" function it is a fine choice.

Submit your own review!

09-12-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Despite the egotisitical, arrogant and elitist attitude of the previous reviewer, I like this boat. Both my wife and I are intermediate level paddlers and have paddled many other boats. We both find the Magellan to be a good all around boat, tracks reasonably well, turns quite well if you are not afraid to lean a bit, and will handle waves/winds with the rudder down. I am sure that there are better boats for the self styed 'expert', but I am also sure that most folks would be happy with this boat for the real-life paddling that they do. I have used it for weekend trips, and had no problem fitting all my gear in it. The fact that it is a bit loose in the tracking department is also the reason that it will turn well.

High points: quick turning with a bit of a lean, tracks reasonably, good spped for its size (long waterline), good initial and fairly good final stability. My hatches and bulkheads do not leak, but some of the deck fitting screws will unless you take them out and seal with Lexal. Plastic is quite sturdy and has shown no tendency to dent, even after spending four warm days and nights strapped on the Jeep.

Low points: tight foot room for size 12s, needs rudder in higher winds & waves if not going directly into the wind. And yes, it is a bit heavy on land, but is still lively on the water.

Submit your own review!

03-21-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 6 of 10

     Had this boat for 5 years, now I 'm replacing it. It served me well, but is not as responsive or rugged as I would like. Stern Carry toggle pulled out last year. Bulkheads needed silicone to reseal them (large leak). Rudder cord occasionally jams if it isn't straight when being raised/lowered. Thing weighs a ton (compared to fiberglass/kevlar boats). In the handling department: boat does not respond to leaned turns. Bottom is much too flat, causing inward dents from cartop carriers to persist, and affect tracking. Also difficult to edge into larger waves. It is a quick boat though, and has a lot of initial stability. This usually sells the boat to beginners (like me), who then outgrow it if they continue on. You don't see many experienced sea kayakers in these. In the words of a very well known kayak instructor "DH", I am outpaddling this boat. Compliment would have meant more in a better boat.
Submit your own review!

03-05-2001
Submitted by: AEWSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had my Magellan for just over three months and many paddling days within this time. I find the Magellan an excellent handling boat (although I have a rudder I only use it occasionally) yet it tracks well in most conditions and is very comfortable for flat river paddling to moderate surf conditions.

I find the seat position comfortable but the seat pad that comes with the Magellan moves around too much unless glued / strapped down. The cockpit is a good size, perhaps a little large for my 5 foot 9, 165Lb frame so I will add some additional thigh support. Dagger offers options in this regard but at a relatively high cost. But I am yet to feel uncomfortable on between 2 to 5 hour stints. In testing other Kayaks I experienced numb legs and feet with some boats. Never a numb foot or leg with the Magellan.

The rubber hatches are excellent and haven't leaked more than a few drops even while learning to roll for five hours on day. I updated the front deck lines and elastic cord more to my taste as the original ones were a little thin (although were functional). The deck lines work well for paddle float re-entry (compared to my Wife's Necky and Brothers Dagger Apostle that has a day hatch in the way!).

Before buying the Magellan I tried many other designs and makes but like the balance the Magellan provided.

Things I'm not enjoying include: The rudder rails / pedals need constant attention as they stick with only a little sand or dirt. The slippery seat pad as mentioned above. And, the scratches on the Plastic that accumulate over time. Of course I'd also like a lighter weight!

All in all I can say the Magellan is an excellent poly kayak and is equal or better than most others I tried in its price range and size (and I tried them all). I can see why Dagger kept the Magellan in its stable of Kayaks for so long its a good all around boat.

Submit your own review!

06-12-2000
Submitted by: RASSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Love my Magellan, being my first boat I made a good decision.Initial stability is great,I could paddle this boat for hours. I'm learning how to roll her now and having some fun!!! If Dagger made this boat in fiberglass I'd have two of them. I've been in every kind of water with my Magellan,and every time I paddle her,she just gives me more.
Submit your own review!

01-06-2000
Submitted by: PMHSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I own a p&h capella poly of which I am pleased with so this is the boat I will compare in my judgement with the magellan. I do like the magellan. its a confident boat in rough seas and lies higher in the water than the capella. it takes all the luggage i need and has an ok deck layout. The shock cords were pretty poor and didnt feel tight when pulled so they were exchanged for some better cords. Nice and roomey cockpit although the nuts/bolts under the deck that secure the recessed shock-cord holders can scratch your legs ouch!. Nice strong deck. The midsection on bottom of the boat under your knees reminds me of the dagger canoes. It warps upward and does at times get a small inward bulge even after having landed carefully on a beach. Some warm water and left to cool for a few hrs and she is back in shape. The boat in light condition does weather cock however is simple to straighten back in line due to the rockered bow. I feel the boat does need a skeg that can be deployed as a rudder but does not need a rudder as such. keeps up with bigger longer glass boats and tackles big waves rough conditions well. The bow doesnt spray either. cosy seat and smart 'see-thru' bulkheads. Hatches are almost 99% water resist. Another good feature is she can be rigged like a whaitewater boat with the same padding as the ww dager boats (if you like a snugger fit for sufing etc..) overall a good sea kayak.
Submit your own review!

10-06-1999
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Like the others, I think that the Dagger Magellan is a real "gem" of a boat. I am a big boater (6' 2.5", 230 lbs) and this boat is comfortable, stable and responsive. It is well built and a true pleasure to look at. This is a boat that is just 'right' -- I seem to feel confident when I am in it. As previously stated, the initial stability is great; secondary is even better. However, if you decide to get it, make sure that you get it with the rudder -- it does make a world of difference.

There are some many small features on this boat that indicate the presence of a great deal of thought. For example, the rudder has a tie-down bungie. This is nice because it simplifies car topping the Magellan. With the bungie, the rudder is located. As another example, there is decent thigh padding in the Magellan. This is one plastic boat that I really don't want to get rid of. Enough said.

Submit your own review!

10-01-1999
Submitted by: BNRSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The good: Overall I agree with the other reviews...the Magellan is a relatively fast, responsive, and fun boat. The controlled leans are unbelievable...it really can carve some nice turns, yet it tracks straight as an arrow. It does have a tendancy to weathercock. I have yet to paddle it on big open water and fully loaded. I paddle on the Mississippi often and the Magellan handles the river, the current, and the boat wake with ease.

The bad: My "electronically welded" bulkheads leak...not enough to be a safety hazzard, but it's annoying. Also at 62 lbs....the Magellan is a bit of a load. I can get it on/off my SUV alone (thanks to the Yakima Sweet Roll) and carry it to the water, but it's a chore (and a decent workout).

The ugly: Doesn't apply...It has pretty clean lines for a plastic boat, and Dagger's done a nice job of getting away from the "tupperware" look. The blue and white swirls in my boat are really cool.

Submit your own review!

08-10-1999
Submitted by: BSSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Rack system is well thought out, sound solid construction. Changes from canoe carrier to bike carrier are very simple. The whole unit can be mounted to vehicle in minutes and due to the design of the load bars only requires one person to align and install. The entire unit has a unique and very modern look. Doesn't have the appearance of a curtain rod like other units. Only drawback is that the unit and accessories are pricey.
Submit your own review!

03-31-1999
Submitted by: BCSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     When I was looking for a kayak I wanted one that I could use in tough conditions and a kayak that would withstand the rigors of an expedition. I chose the Magellan for many reasons. The first thing I liked about the Magellan was it's seaworthy hull design. It looks ready for big waves and winds. The recessed deck lines are excellent for rescue maneuvers. There is plenty of room inside the hatches for lots of gear and the hatch covers themselves are made of rubber to make a tight waterproof seal. This type of hatch cover makes putting them on with cold hands much more enjoyable than the other hard covers with neoprene seals. The Magellan has a great balance between stability and the ability to have controlled leans. This kayak also turns with ease,even better than boats smaller than it. This is nice for rivers and for making corrections in wind and current. Overall I would recommend this as an excellent sea kayak that can handle anything that you can handle and in most instances more!
Submit your own review!

03-31-1999
Submitted by: WC
Rating: 9 of 10

     The first kayak our family of three bought was a Dagger Seeker. After paddling it I decided I wanted a Seeker also. My husband got a Dagger Magellan for himself, but I assumed it would be too tippy and too big for a petite woman. I took my husband's Magellan for a spin and changed my mind. The Magellan was not too big and I really enjoyed its agility. I now own my own Magellan. While the Seeker is stable and a work horse, the Magellan is faster in straight-aways and quicker in turns--a fun boat to paddle. I'm very satified with this excellent kayak.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers


Ostrom Outdoors:



Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale