Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Necky Kayaks > Eliza Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Eliza Kayak by Necky Kayaks


Rated: 7.14/10 Based On: 7 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-30-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is the second summer I have paddled my Necky Eliza (plastic) with a rudder. I am a very short paddler (4'9 1/2") with very wide hips, and the Eliza fits me well. I can adjust the footpegs where I need them, and the profile is low enough that I don't hit the boat when I paddle. It turns well, even without the rudder. I did take the thigh braces out, as they couldn't be adjusted to a place where they fit me well, and it made getting in and out of the boat much easier.

Initially, I wasn't sure if I liked my purchase, as it does feel less stable getting in and out. (The longest boat I had paddled before this was a 12'4" rec boat), but when I got used to "being one with the boat" and paddled bigger waters, especially in windy or rough conditions, I fell in love. I recently returned from a 4-night kayak camping trip, and was surprised at how much gear I was able to stuff in the Eliza. The trick is to use small drybags so you can take advantage of the narrow spaces at both ends of the boat.

The thing that brings this boat from a 10 to an 8 for me is the backrest. It is very low, and my back does not feel supported at all. Even on short paddles, I miss being able to lean back and relax. Also, I am used to a very wide cockpit because of my experience with rec boats, and I miss being able to pull my legs out and sun them on the top of the boat.

Overall, I have been very happy with my Eliza. It is very maneuverable, and the length and weight are manageable to load and move around for a woman of my stature. I would recommend this boat to other women without hesitation.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
07-23-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I've been researching the composite Eliza for 18 months and was almost ready to buy it until I finally got an opportunity to try it out. I was very disappointed.

The craftsmanship is mediocre. The skeg wire is run right through the middle of the rear bulk head, which is bound to interfere with using it for touring. The front bulk head seams aren't properly sealed for the last foot of the boat's length starting at the bow. In order to see it, you literally need to put your head into the hatch and look. The overlapping unsealed fiberglass edges are bound to either catch the gear that you pack, or start coming apart as a result of pulling the gear out. Finally, the thigh braces foam was coming off on a brand new boat.

The cockpit is designed for women with narrow hips. I'm 5'6" and 135 lbs with average hip width, and my hips barely cleared the cockpit coaming. I paddle in the winter using a drysuit, so I know I wouldn't fit into this boat while wearing bulkier clothing. Also, the cockpit is short, which causes shin scraping when entering and exiting the boat for a person with long legs. The seat lacks hip support, so when you put the boat on edge, your hips shift onto one side. Given the above issues, it is a boat for a petite paddler, not so much a medium sized.

The boat is light, very maneuverable, and tracks well. It is also a few hundred dollars cheaper than other boats of comparable size, like Impex Montauk, P&H Capella 161, or Current Design Willow. Provided you fit into the cockpit and don't mind the chintzy craftsmanship, it can be a nice boat.

Submit your own review!

11-11-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought the composite Eliza, 'cause I got tired of waiting for Nick Schade to release plans for the Petral in ply construction. I have built and love the Night Heron, and wanted a shorter play boat. I am 5'10" and weigh 150lbs. After moving the seat pan forward, as well as the foot braces, and replacing the back band with a foam pillar, I can get on the back deck. I sit on a half inch thick foam pad, which jacks me up a bit, so I can 'dominate' the boat. This also gets the deck down and further out of the way.

The boat is as responsive as a sea kayak can be, and yet cruises efficiently at touring speeds. After doing some analysis of my paddling using GPS, I concluded that the only reason I need to be in a longer boat, is to have enough volume for touring. If there's a headwind, you're not going to hold hullspeed, a shorter boat with good rocker will catch the shorter waves that often occur; and waterline advantages seem to disappear as soon as there is any significant sea running. The full chines carried out toward the ends provide a good carving turn. Eliza's shape is a lot like Nick's boats I think especially the Guillemot Play.

The whole women's specific thing is great for selling boats; this boat fits me, what would a smaller person do? If one is not a boat builder, there are no production choices that are as small or smaller than Eliza. One of the fun things about having this is that if I take any of my smaller friends out, they can be in a boat that fits them better than anything they've ever been in!

I have owned six kayaks and this is the best built production boat, and the hatches don't leak a drop! The cored construction yields a fair and rigid hull. It could have been built lighter, but some durability would have been lost and 46lbs is nice for me. Now if only they built a boat this nice for the smaller paddler!

Submit your own review!

06-02-2008
Submitted by: DJSSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     This is my second kayak and I'm not too thrilled. I believed too much the descriptions I had read.
This is an o.k. boat. Not too fast, not too slow. I purchased with the idea of a short week jaunt. I'm back to my old kayak for comfort. I hate the back brace. This thing needs a supporting seat for leaning back once in a while! At 2 hours paddling, my back was giving out and a friend gave me an inflatable back so I could relax! For tracking, etc., I might rate higher. My friend felt that the design was for more of a sports car. If that is the case, not that fast. I am dying to know if I can replace the seat!

Submit your own review!

08-09-2007
Submitted by: KerrySend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I paddled a Necky Eliza w/ rudder for my first time out. I found it pretty easy to get my balance and get the general hang of paddling within a few minutes. I really liked the rudder it seemed to help in turning a lot, I'm not sure if that's because of my inexperience or just preference.

I found the Eliza pretty comfortable, more so than I expected. I had a hard time keeping up with my "speed-demon" boyfriend, although he is a lot stronger than me and is in a lot better shape.

My second paddle was in a tandem (w/ my 5 year old son) and I hated it. I felt like I was trying to paddle a pontoon boat or something. I'm looking to buy a kayak in the near future and am seriously considering the Eliza.

Submit your own review!

07-12-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've been kayaking for 2-3 years (mostly on small lakes) and my first kayak was a Zoar Sport LV. This year I bought the Eliza (polymer) and I'm extremely happy with it. It moves through the water much more efficiently than the Zoar with seemingly little effort. I feel like the boat fits me very well (5'1" 120 lbs) although I wish the thigh/knee brace area were a little narrower. The cockpit depth is comfortable for me. I bought the Zoar originally because other kayaks I tried were too deep, so that was an important factor. The new seat is a vast improvement. I'm still getting used to the difference in stability compared to the Zoar. I think my skills will improve quickly paddling the Eliza.

Overall I think it's a great boat for a reasonable price.

Submit your own review!

06-27-2007
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 5 of 10

     Necky's much discussed "woman specific" kayak. Necky touts design input by female paddlers in the small to medium category who seek a more ergonomic performance touring kayak. While I am not sure WHY a kayak needs to be woman specific, since there is so much size differential between women, I still give kudos to Necky for recognizing general anthropomorphic differences between the genders. Kokatat, for instance,has done the same successfully in women's clothing, so maybe there is merit in a kayak designed for the female body.
I had a chance to demo the plastic version - the one w. a rudder, at 49 lbs mfgr listed weight - this weekend.

I am a small female paddler: 5'3", 115 lbs, 33 inseam, size 6 feet, torso on the short size of average, hips 35".
A novice kayaker, I own and paddle regularly a FG seakayak at 15'11", 20" beam, 44 lbs, skegged, and a daytouring kayak of Trylon, 13'5", 23.5" beam, 41 lbs, no skeg or rudder. I paddle large and small lakes, Class I and II rivers. My seakayak is capable of Great Lakes paddling and I have brought both kayaks to rolling, bracing and rescue classes.

Overall I was disappointed with the plastic Eliza. Sitting inside was like paddling from the base of a barrel. The hull is quite steep with a triangular peak similar to the nave of a church. I could camp under there when it rains. Rain or shine it would be a windcatcher.
News flash to Necky: a cockpit depth of 12.5" is average, not shallow. Dial down the depth if you really want to fit short torso'd people (male or female).
Too much spacing at the thigh/knee contact points.The cockpit is an admirable 16" wide but there is a lot of room bellying out beneath it. How that would benefit a small to medium paddler mystifies me. The cockpit length of 28.5" sounds good but is compromised by the overly tall height at the nose of the coaming... and as to being "easier to attach or detach a sprayskirt", c'mon Necky. That has a lot more to do with correct skirt/boat fit and paddler technique (again, by either gender).
The seat, comfortable if loose, rises little over the cockpit, which makes it look newbyish and which can inhibit self rescues. The seat pan is wide. Evidently "female paddler" translates as "big hips" which not every woman has. I wonder what prototype paddler models were used.
There is also a lot of plastic material ringing the cockpit w. various holes and snaps, probably for some adjustments which were not immediately apparent to me. To be fair it might all have a purpose. At demo time it looked cluttered and conducive to snagging stuff.
The deck rigging is plain weird. There is no X cross anywhere for really secure storage and the intervals made for skimpy furnishing.
The crosslock hatch covers really amount to a six-way spiderweb of cords which is cluttered and not easy to grasp for removal - why is this better for small hands? My hands are small (ring size 5) and the cords simply cut in between my fingers when I tried them barehanded. Luckily I paddle w. gloves.
About weight... no way is this kayak 49 lbs water ready. It feels like 10% over that, at least. Anyways, why shouldn't any small paddler check out the many other good kayaks out there (which are not woman-specific) which can be had in much more friendly weights. Women usually have less upper body strength than men. In the one category where Necky could've really appealed to small women paddlers of plastic boats under 16 feet, they whiffed.

Let's get her on the water. The Eliza does track decently and moves well thru the water efficiently. I didn't choose to deploy the rudder because I do not use a rudder and wanted to see how well the kayak would edge and turn without it.
The answer, for me, is that the Necky can be edged, decently if somewhat mushily. I demo'd the Current Designs Suka and Rumour the same day - now those are kayaks that carve the water.
Using a plain forward stroke, the plastic Necky is neither outstanding nor deficient in point to point paddling. It is demure, not exciting. Not speedy, but not doggish. I guess some would call her reassuring and trusty. Maybe Necky felt women paddlers would value that higher than other traits.
Neither a pleasure nor a pain - dead average, and average for me won't cut it, no matter how laudable the design intent was nor how generous the offer to donate one percent of sales to fight breast cancer. That is after all not what is under review. I guess I'd rather donate directly to that good cause and buy a kayak I'd really enjoy that fits me a lot better, and that would be around 20% lighter.
There is a composite Necky with a skeg, which is an inch narrower and undoubtedly lighter. Good luck finding a dealer where you can actually demo one. If you would like to buy one blind so you can get it in PINK, hey, it's your money.
About that pink: all color preferences are highly subjective. IMO The pink offered in the plastic Necky is a garish polyester pink that reminds me of the bad cocktails invented by bartenders when they are bored.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale