Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > RTM Kayaks and Canoes > Disco Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Disco Kayak by RTM Kayaks and Canoes


Rated: 8.85/10 Based On: 13 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-26-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Background/Perspective: 54yr old guy, 5'10, 145lbs, I've paddled a Cobra Explorer SOT for 12+ years mostly in the ocean and sometimes on flat bay or river. I'm also a sculler (flat water) and fit. Got the Disco in late May 2013 and have paddled it about 8 times so far. Using a PowerFlex blade that I had used with the Explorer (fixed feather), and a seat with a back.

Pros: For me, I agree with most positive points in other reviews. The Disco is 5 inches narrower and ~3ft longer than the Explorer, and seems much faster and efficient, though I've not done any formal timing. Tracking is pretty good, and better than the Explorer. Zero hull slap noise in choppy water. Glides far when coasting. Punches thru moderate breakers easily(whereas the Explorer tended to usually ride up and over moderate breakers). No problems with stability in ocean chop (multi-direction swells). Handles well in the wind (not much weathercocking). Not much water enters scuppers when still (as I'm light), and it drains out quickly once moving. Most of my paddling is in ocean in warm weather so I get wet going thru breakers starting out and the little bit of water that stays in the seat area doesn't bother me. Fit/Comfort are very good for me (comfortable foot placement with slightly bent knee, and the seat well and my seat both suit me).

Cons: Its tippier than the Explorer, though I'm still getting used to it. I'm starting to experiment with thigh straps and they seem to help. Doesn't turn as readily as the Explorer, though once I get better with the thigh straps I'll be able to lean more and get better rotation. Deck cord is not elastic and is tight to the deck, so can't secure paddle blade beneath it (using a bungee until I get a chance to replace the cord with elastic material).

Overall: I like it a lot and look forward to getting more proficient with it.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
01-16-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my first review and I'm not a professional kayaker so forgive me if this review is lacking in usable information. My intent is to help the person that doesn't really know what they want.

I am an avid fisherman and my primary concern has always been a light easily portable yak that was outfitted to fish. I started out with a Pelican type sit-in with a couple of flush mount rod holders that I installed myself. I realized pretty quick that I didn't like the confinement of a sit-in so I purchased a Dragonfly Sportfisher, which is now made by Lifetime. This is a 10ft boat that will actually seat two adults. The ride was incredibly dry and stable, but the weight and length made it pretty slow for a kayak.

My next kayak was a 10' Pelican Castaway 100. This little kayak is really a very good deal for the money. It is incredibly light (43 lbs) and the layout was very good. It paddled with very little effort unless you got into heavy wind. Wind is not a friend for short kayaks.

The third yak I will mention before getting to the RTM is the Ocean Malibu XL. This kayak is a little over 12' long and close to 60lbs. Even though the OK Mailbu is a bit heavier and wider, it moves through the water really well and is stable enough to sit side saddle. I have a Pelican 130T tadem and my wife and I struggled to stay up with my brother and his daughter. I paddle this yak myself in Gulf of Mexico and is definitely a better yak than my Pelican.

Now for the good stuff.
I have realized over the past several years that I love to leave the rods and reels at home and just go paddle. It didn't take long to realize I needed something a little longer, more along touring lines but in a SOT rigged to fish. I also realized while fishing that chasing hybrids and sand base across the lake can be fun if you have a yak that will keep up. I started buy doing a Google search for SOTs that were 13 to 15 ft long and weighed less that 65 lbs. I compiled all the information I found in an Excel spreadsheet so I can sort by length, weight, etc. I came with three manufacturers that had what I wanted. Cobra has a couple of kayaks that met the weight and length criteria, but they are a little costly and shipping is another $100+. OK and Malibu have a couple of 13' fishing yaks that look great but are pushing my upper weight limit. I took a look at the WS yaks as well but they were always significantly higher in weight so I stopped looking at them.

RTM has 3 kayaks that caught my interest so I researched them as best I could. The RTM Midway, Tempo and Disco. All 3 are in the 14 and 15' range and 50 - 60 lbs. I searched high and low for reviews on the Cobra and RTM and finally found a good professional review by Capt Jimbo at http://www.ftlauderdaleyakfishingclub.org/. So, based on my limited budget and Capt Jim's reviews,I purchased a Disco from Masthead sailing out of st. Petersburgh Fl.

I took my RTM Disco out the first day I received i and was very pleased. This yak is 26" wide so it feels a bit twitchy in the beginning, but is easily adaptable. The primary stability is good as well as the secondary. This yak is fast, tracks in a straight line, and glides very well. I can vouch for capt Jim's comment that there is no hull slap. This is a quite and fast kayak. Other little perks are the rings added to tie down very options are very very solid. The molded in side handles are perfectly balanced. So far this is my absolute favorite yak.

Submit your own review!

11-14-2011
Submitted by: edzepSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I picked up a well-used Disko to try out. I've generally disliked the 6 or 8 SOTs I've tried over the years, and have previously owned a Hurricane Phoenix 14, which was respectable. The Disko came configured with the KajakSport front hatch, and a 6-inch T-handle center hatch. It weighs 53 pounds.

The Disco has a very mild V and a good amount of rocker. The V seems prone to flattening with careless handling -- like being strapped down in the bed of a truck. It looks like that's just what's been done to my boat. On the water, I could open the 6-inch hatch ahead of the seat, and press down on the hull bottom, to see the amount of deformation allowed due to weakness of the V. As suggested by another user, I formed some mini-cell blocks to wedge under the seat and footwells, to stiffen up the hull.

Maneuverability on the water is where the Disco shines. With thigh straps, it can be leaned over for tight turns, similar to a sea kayak. The boat tracks well, especially given it's waterline of only about 12 or so feet. Fastest cruising speed for me in this boat is about 4 mph. I'm pretty light; maybe a heavier paddler could get more speed due to longer waterline... not sure.

Coming from sea kayaks, I did not find the Disco tippy at all, even with a seat pad about 1 inch thick. It handled busy holiday boat wakes with no trouble, and was fun in the micro-surf. Sitting still with the scupper plugs out, the footwells hold about 1 1/2 inches of water with my 140 pounds, plus a small amount of gear. When the boat is moving, the scuppers actually suck! The footwells drain very well. If you're quick enough, you could get the plugs in place and have nearly dry footwells. In practice, I opted to keep the plugs in, and only remove them if I had taken on water that needed to be removed. I also discovered that if there's a fair amount of water in the foot wells when you heel the boat over to turn, water will flow around the center hump, and into the seat pan.

The D-rings for seat and thigh strap attachment are unique and quite study. Other fittings for safety lines, netting and handles are also well done. One peculiarity is that the seat attachment rings are further than normal from the seat well, and the straps on some seats will not reach that far! I used nylon line to make a set of extenders, so that I could experiment with different borrowed seats.

I was surprised to discover that the cockpit area of my Disko is not symmetrical. It's not grossly out of whack, but, it may be enough to drive an OC-type person nuts.

So, the Disco handles well on and off the water, and has relatively good speed. It's not made to haul a lot of gear, and there are faster SOT's.

Submit your own review!

09-06-2011
Submitted by: A HILTONSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I already own Tarpon 160's and FF Nomads. Wanted something quicker and more manageable for transport so the Disco seemed the right choice. Had read adverse reviews on tippiness and water retainment. Bought the discos. Build quality seemed fine yet despaired at no scuppa holes in the concave seating area.What would this mean in sea conditions? Came the day of the maiden voyage. At 6.0''and 14st I sat in the kayak and saw it quickly filled with water keeping low in the water. Sea conditions were calm to slight chop. It has all the feel of a sit in kayak for stability. As soon as I started to paddle, the kayak lifted from the water and all the water drained away "Phew". Tracking is excellent, speed is excellent, maneuvering is also excellent.The seating area remained pretty dry despite there not being scuppa holes. I do use a padded seat that may have displaced the water. Stopping the kayak meant the foot well area filled with water. This didn't happen with my sons kayak as he is around 11. Its a price worth paying for the performance. Weight is good for lifting and roof racks. There was no water in the hull after 2 days kayaking that may reflect good build quality. I would have expected some.I dont use storage but have an overboard bag that sat comfortably in the rear deck area. Front deck area would benefit elasticated cord for spare paddles. I have yet to try this in more choppy conditions and feel that's where the Tarpons may hold their own. Otherwise, while not impressed, I am very pleased with the performance, price and spec.
Submit your own review!

06-20-2011
Submitted by: jeff rosenkranzSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Time for an update. Have logged 60 plus hrs in my Disco. Since the air and water temps are up, the Disco is really in it's element. Its entertainment factor as a sit-on-top cannot be beat. Glide on a glass smooth lake, is Nirvana. A windy, chop day.......knifes through the wind and waves unaffected. She is visually stunning, probably what the split window Corvette owner feels like, every time he stands back for an admiring glance. Always gets positive comments from other Yak'ers on its deisgn/style.

The Disco is weight sensitive. I weigh 195. IF......you enjoy warm weather/water paddling, it doesn't matter. 225lbs will have you quite close to the water level. But that's usually why you buy an SOT because you are in and out, walking the beach,fishing, looking for geodes up a creek, and using your Yak as a swim platform.....easy in and out. I swim a lot in a local State Park lake. If you haven't been Yak/swimming you are missing a treat!

The Disco will also make you a better paddler. It has a certain "Flywheel" effect and rewards the paddler with smooth strokes, a nice speed, and exceptional glide. So far, the Disco has a faster constant travel speed than anyone that I have paddled with. If you weigh 165, you may get a ticket in a "Closed Throttle Bay". With my homemade, non-flexible back brace, 5hr paddles are comfortable. Lean forward to go for it, lean back to relax.

The RTM Disco is kind of like Ellie May Clampit, if you get the reference. The Disco is classically beautiful... but FUN!

Submit your own review!

04-18-2011
Submitted by: Jeff RosenkranzSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just like that feisty, salt and pepper haired beachcomer, it was love at first sight. She was a treat for the eyes. She had to be mine.....The RTM Disco. Within a month of discovering this French made SOT, I am the proud owner of this 14ft, 2008, but new Disco. Masthead in FL, offered the Disco @ $619.00 plus $89.00 shipped to St Louis. Harbouroutfitters in NJ offered a better $, but the shipping was higher. Both firms were a pleasure to deal with.

Have been out half a dozen times, lakes, Mississippi river, and the Bay. For a 14ft'er she tracks great, but because of the hull design, [rocker?], she still turns quickly. In and out of creeks that feed the river is a breeze and feels a lot like our two Dimension Spirits, arguably the best, most comfortable SOT's ever made. Head back out across the "ol Miss" and you are across the river before you know it. She is SO much faster than the Spirits, and has a fine entry and exit. Super quiet and graceful in calm water. Had one windy and fast flow day, and the Disco did feel somewhat lively in the rough water, but very stable, and confidence inspiring. We're flooding at this time so I tried 'er on the backside of some bridge piers. She handled the turbulence without distress, then nosing into the flow paddled right up stream with considerable speed. I was amazed. By now, I'm all smiles.

If.....you enjoy going for it, paddling for speed and distance, she's ready to go. Lean forward, sprint, and train. At 195lbs, 6ft, and 57 yrs, I'm just there to be there! I needed a back brace. Actually made one after trying a back band. I'll try to get some pics as it is so comfortable and makes the Disco a pleasure. 50lbs, cartops easily. Hardware, net, and scuppers are first rate. Survived shipping just fine. Looks fantastic, fun to paddle......for me....it's a 10.

Submit your own review!

09-07-2010
Submitted by: Patrick AgnewSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've paddled my Disco all summer, and I love it. Great fun at a great price. I like the boat's sea kayak feel with SOT safety and rotomold price. The hull design makes for a quiet and dry ride. I prefer to ride with the scupper plugs in, but when it gets really rough and I take the plugs out, I find the boat drains quickly. I can recommend the Disco as a beginner or intermediate boat, or if you want a dynamic ride without breaking the bank. For the record, I'm 5'6' and 150 lbs.
Submit your own review!

06-18-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Notice I wrote the first review of the Disco (May 1, 2007). The boat has not changed, but I have.
When I bought the boat about a year and a half ago I weighed 215#. It was like sitting in a bathtub half full of water. With all that water, and the extra weight, I actually found it sluggish. I am a SOT guy and I don't expect a dry ride, but that was too much water. Especially for early season in the Sierras when the water is cold. I don't believe in scupper plugs. Scupper Frank, who is also about 215#, albeit about six inches taller than me, came to the same conclusion.

I have lost about 30# and down to 185#. I am really liking it much better now. It actually has become my preferred ride lately. The foot wells still fill with water. I wear knee high boots to keep feet and legs warm. It does have a slight rocker to it, I think.

It is very quiet. I just can not stand a loud boat. I sold a fiberglass Heritage Nomad because the hull slap drove me crazy.
It is a convenient size and weight. Its pretty well balanced and easy to rack. Its got very good glide for a 14' boat, and the low profile is very good for paddling into the wind.

RTM used to make Ocean Kayak boats for Europe. I think they still use the OK plastic, which I have found to be very durable. As far as the rigging, I don't really know. Like most plastic boats I buy, I immediately took a rivet gun to it and re-rigged the whole thing. I replaced the steel rings with nylon eyes, just because I know the eyes work! I never did install the front hatch. I just don't like hatches.

I have even heard complaints from very light paddlers it is tippy. Maybe in comparison to the typical 32" wide SOT, but not at all compared to most sit in boats. I does have a very round displacement hull.

I will stick by my original review. I Don't think its well suited to paddlers much over 190#. But I do think it really is all that, IF you are the right size, and weight for it.

Submit your own review!

10-22-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Recently purchased the Disco from LoneStarKayaks.com. I mention the dealer because their customer service is simply first rate. Excellent outfit to deal with. Now, the Disco. Wow. Great looking, great glide, accelerates very quickly, straight tracking, lively and responsive, a pure pleasure to paddle. Compared to my Scupper Pro, it's faster and takes less energy to keep moving, and I really like my Scupper Pro. Initial stability less than the Scupper but no worries.

If you're a barge paddler, you may find the Disco wiggly. It's the closest I've found to sea kayak performance in a plastic SOT. The swede form hull shape is efficient and well-defined with none of the usual dips and bumps associated with plastic.

I'm a long-waisted, 6'1" 218lb. guy and the Disco paddled great, and I didn't find it a wet ride. It's also lightweight (about 46lbs.), molded in carrying handle is at the balance point. The hatch ring is molded into the hull, so installing the accessory Kajak Sport hatch cover is as simple as cutting out the center of the hatch molding. Totally happy with the purchase.

Submit your own review!

08-07-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had my Disco for a year and a half now, and it's one of the best purchases I've ever made. I love the yellow/red colour scheme, and I think that it's a lovely looking kayak in terms of general shape. Off the water it's light enough to carry alone, but not too far! The grab handles are excellent for two carriers however.

It feels slightly tippy at first, but after a while it just feels completely natural to paddle, it leans well and feels very stable indeed. It actually feels more stable in rougher waters! It handles waves/swell etc no problem, and it tracks very well indeed, even in strong winds. It's a fast-ish kayak, and it glides really well, making for efficient paddling. There is no hull slap noise at all.

I like the footrests, but I do need a back rest to feel comfortable. The only slight downside I have found is that you do get a wet bum, and the water doesn't drain away, so once water is in the boat, you are sitting in a puddle for the rest of the trip! Overall however, this is a great sit-on-top, which paddles well and looks fantastic!

Submit your own review!

04-16-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just to add a different perspective to reviews already posted:
I was able to take my new RTM Disco over to a friend's house and do some stability testing in his pool. I got the Disco from Lone Star Kayaks in Austin on 4/11/08.

Here is the official data from RTM regarding the Disco: 14' long, 26" wide, 50 lbs. I am 5'10" and 150lbs soaking wet.

1st test: Side-saddle
Got into the Disco and sat side-saddle keeping my center-of-gravity in the center of the seat area. No problem. I then moved my COG more toward the gunwale. Again, no problem...so it was time to see just how far I could push the boat. As I put more of my weight on the gunwale and shifted my COG so that most of my upper body was above the gunwale, I'd estimate that I was able to get to about a 60* angle before I felt like it would turtle. I could put one gunwale WAY into the water flooding the cockpit before pushing it too far and finally going in.

While sitting normally in the seat area (i.e. not sitting side-saddle) and leaning my COG toward one side raising the opposite side, it didn't take much to upset the secondary stability and go into the water. Don't get me wrong. In my opinion (keep in mind that I'm used to 22" wide sea kayaks) the secondary stability doesn't initially push back very hard, but you can feel it. I can feel it catch, I can push the boat MUCH further past a 45* angle while sitting side-saddle, can take on tons of water, push it a bit further, and over she finally goes.

2nd test: Getting back in after turtling
While the Disco was upside down in the water, I tested my ability to get the boat right-side up and clamber inside again. I kicked myself up over the hull, reached over to the opposite side, grabbed the gunwale, and righted the boat by flipping it over toward me. Very easy to do.

Once the boat was right-side up, I put one hand on the gunwale closest to me and one hand on the gunwale furthest from me, kept my COG low, launched myself up over the seat area so that my mid-section was across the seat area, then started to turn my body so my head was aiming toward the stern and my feet were toward the bow and tried to twist so that my butt would fall right into the seat area, but the boat threw me right into the water again. The way the rocker of the hull is designed and due to it's overall narrow width, I found it best to just launch up into the boat, twist in the air, and land my butt right into the seat.

3rd test: Moving forward
After getting back into the boat, I wanted to see how far toward the bow I could scoot without upsetting anything. I hung my legs over the gunwales and scooted forward. I scooted up to the center hatch and judged my balance: no problem. I kept scooting forward to just behind the forward hatch by sitting in the footwell area: no problem. I tried to scoot up a bit further to sit on top of my forward hatch and felt that was too far. The boat wanted to go over at that point. Sitting in the footwell area just behind the front hatch is as far as I can comfortable go without upsetting the boat. I feel as though I can easily store things in the forward hatch, scoot up to the footwell area while on the water, open the forward hatch, and be able to reach in for whatever is in there.

4th test: Moving backward
I scooted back to the seat and thought I should see how far back toward the stern I could go. I used the gunwales to lift myself up out of the seat area and sat in the well area where the rear scupper holes are located: no problem. I could scoot back a little more to where the rear cargo net area ends at the back of the well...but that's about as far back as I could go without upsetting the boat.

5th test: Standing in the cockpit
Next, I tested my ability to stand up. I was able to stand up but it was fairly wobbly. There really isn't a flat area in which to stand, so I put my feet in the seat area. My feet were close together due to the way the seat area is designed, so this added to the unstable feeling while standing. I wouldn't fish from this position or try to stand and stretch. I don't think I'd try this in rough water, either. There was really no other place to try and stand in the boat. Up on the little hump where the center hatch is located was impossible to stand on. I tried and would go right into the water immediately.

The little white canister storage that came with the Disco is a great place to keep things that I want to stay dry. I held the thing underwater for about 30 seconds, took it out, unscrewed the red cap, and found that it was still dry inside. I'd still put important items in a small drybag before putting them in the little white canister.

Next, I took the Disco to a local pond. No wind, water was glass smooth, so I did some speed tests. It was just me, PFD, keys, wallet, couple of other small items stored away in dry bag in center hatch.

I used a 220cm Werner Camano fiberglass paddle, no feather. I reached a top speed of 5.7mph as measured on 2 eTrex GPS units. It was very easy to cruise along at 4mph. Still VERY stable, turns on a dime, and absolutely ZERO bow noise when slicing through the water. I don't mean some. I mean no noise at all...even at top speed. The thing silently cuts through the water. Rear entry noise is silent, too. The only thing that disturbed the water was my paddle. The boat continued to glide forever after I stopped paddling and is VERY easy to kick it back up to full speed again.

2 sweep turns while sitting still and you can be facing 180*. Lean one gunwale into the water and the thing spins right around. Tight turning radius. Since the rear entry of the boat is as sharp as the front entry, backing is VERY quick and easy to control.

My next tests will be conducted on a local lake so that I can play around in the huge wake created by ski boats to see how she handles chop.

This boat has the potential to be a wet ride, so I purchased a Frogg Toggs Angler Bibb raingear set at Gander Mtn which should help keep my butt from getting rubbed raw if I have to sit in water for long periods of time.

I rate the Disco a 10 because it's a GREAT sit-on-top that will be good in the surf, creeks, rivers, lakes, and ponds for those times I just want to have fun and can still rig it for fishing. Not quite as skinny as the sea kayaks I'm used to, but the seat area fits my rump just right.

This boat is the total opposite of my Native Watercraft Manta Ray 14.5, which reminds me of being the SUV of kayaks: stable, heavy, tons of room, easy to store and mount things in/on, a VERY dry ride, and not too bad on the gas mileage!

Submit your own review!

05-09-2007
Submitted by: JBHSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Took the Disco ( second time out in it) through the ocean surf off Cocoa Beach and paddled up and down the beach for about 4 miles last weekend. It handles great in the ocean, turns very quickly in the waves , and is controllable coming back in on a wave. I crashed thorough several waves going out through the surf and the front hatch didn't implode.( I have retrofitted a hatch retainer line just in case). Not as stable as my earlier Scupper Pro ( now a RTM Tempo) but much more fun and maneuverable in the ocean. The Wheeleze smallest cart with beach tires fits snugly in the front hatch, so it seems like an ideal pocket ocean cruiser. It turns an order of magnitude better than my Cobra Expedition kayak and is much easier getting over the dune cross overs and over the beach to the ocean. In flat water it is not as fast as my other kayaks but it comes alive in waves and the ocean.

I modified it with a built in foam back support like I did on my Cobra Expedition to make it easier to crawl back in the kayak when I dump in the waves and also a added aluminum foot support bar and will post these modifications also. For the price, weight, and size the Disco is a good compromise for paddling up and down the beach past the breakers for me (I am 5'10" and 182 lbs.)

Submit your own review!

05-01-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Ignore the rating. This boat is a perfect ten for some and a 4 for other. It all depends.

I finally got the Disco out on the water this weekend. I agree with the rave reviews. This boat really is different than the typical American SOT fishing platform. It would be perfect for a smaller, athletic, paddler in demanding conditions. I think SantaCruzMidwife would love this boat! Its been all the rage for the SOT crowd. It had rave reviews from Capít Jimbo in South Florida.

They are made in France by RTM and shipped via container to the Port of Miami. They are selling so fast in South Florida that they are hard to get elsewhere in the country. I think there are only a couple on the West Coast, so far, but I expect to see lots more! I paid $190 to ship a $580 boat from Florida via FedEx.

I do have a basis from comparison. I have years of experience in different SOTs from my 18' Kevlar Shearwater to my 9' Ocean Kayak Frenzy.

It is honestly around 50#. Its significantly lighter than most plastic SOTs. I do not think it will overtake a Tarpon, Prowler, or even a Scupper that is paddled by a guy strong enough to propel one of these boats at hull speed, but not very many guys can really do that for any distance. If speed is that important to you, you probably arenít paddling a plastic SOT, anyway.

It is more efficient than any of the above mentioned boats. That is, it takes less effort to maintain a nice easy 3-4 MPH cruising speed. Depending on the group, the boater in the Disco might easily find himself at the head of a pack of longer SOTs after a couple hours on the water. At 26' wide it is narrower that most plastic SOTs. It has a finer entry and exit. The ďVĒ hull is faster than the typical flat hull on most America SOTs. It really does handle well. Comparing it to the typical fishing yak is like comparing a sports car to a pickup truck.

I will add some Caveats. I think its important because many will be in a position to buy this boat sight unseen, or not at all: I will admit to being well over 200#. I think the initial concerns that this might not be the best boat for someone over 200# may be justified. I tested it without scuppers. One plug was lost in transit, and besides I never use scupper plugs on the ocean anyway, so I wanted to see what it was like without them. There was a lot of water in the footwells, and it slopped up into the seat. The seat also took on water if I was not careful getting into the boat, and even in small 1-2 swells.

Once water gets into the seat, it does not drain out. There are no scuppers in the seat. A good sponge is going to be required equipment. I think even paddlers under 200# may have a problem with this. The seat is so snug that its not going to hold a lot of water, but enough to keep your butt wet. I admit to be overweight, but its mostly beer belly (Well, Jack Daniels, actually) I do not have a wide butt. Some people are just not going to fit into the seat. A wet seat is not really a problem on the Pacific off NORCAL because you will probably be wearing a wet suit anyway, and its often not calm enough to sit still for very long. It does get very uncomfortable to sit still for long period if you are fishing wearing just trucks.

It may not be the new "follow the Pungo around the lake" boat just because it is so wet, but I will try again with scupper plugs. I was concerned the boat might be too overloaded to perform, but once I got into 20-25 MPH head winds with 1-2 swells and chop it handled like a dream! It felt really solid. I will need to try it in bigger conditions to really know if itís a safe ride for a 200# Plus boater. It lacks the total stability of the flat bottomed 28" wide SOT fishing platform. It may make some people a little nervous at first. Some minor details. Keep in mind this boat retails for only $580:

The color scheme makes me want to take a can of spray paint to it. I might really do that. Deck rigging needs to be replaced with bungees. Not so crazy about the fittings. On the other hand I really do like the recessed grab handles. Very good idea.. I donít know about the hatch. I had the dealer send a hatch cover, but I didnít have it installed. Hatches make me nervous.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt