Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Coleman > Ultimate 100 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Ultimate 100 Kayak by Coleman


Rated: 8.5/10 Based On: 18 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-05-2014
Submitted by: Steve RedlinSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I really enjoyed this kayak. We traveled 3 rivers in the Ozarks and 38 miles. I am 54 years old and not a wipe out in this kayak. Loved it and would buy one for sure as this one was borrowed.
Submit your own review!

10-02-2013
Submitted by: Larry KohoutSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased (2) of the Ultimate 100 Kayaks this summer and have used them primarily on flat water at the local lakes. Not into fishing but love to paddle. Got a chance to go to Erwin, TN last weekend for a white water rafting adventure so decided to take the kayaks along. Rafting Saturday the upper gorge at 700f/sec flow with many class III and class IV rapids. Lower part of the river class I and class II. Rained Saturday afternoon so Sundays lower kayak trip was much swifter than expected. Sundays flow was just under 1300f/sec. and the class I and class II water was now class III+.

For low end entry level kayaks they performed flawlessly. Don't get me wrong I had a couple of spills and spent some time in the water but the durability of these kayaks is awesome. Any kayak under 250.00 capable of navigating class III and holding up with only minor scratches is incredible. Anyone looking for a low end entry level durable kayak with incredible value will definitely find it in the Ultimate 100SE. The Chilocothy River rapids proved that.

Submit your own review!

08-25-2013
Submitted by: EvieSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Purchased my kayak one month ago at Dunhams I have been out 6 times. It is a great boat for a beginner, easy to carry and launch from the river bank. The seat back could be a little higher for back support, however, for the money it is just fine.
Happy kayaking.

Submit your own review!

08-01-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my first kayak, a group of us from work were buying them up at Dunhams and all of us are happy with them. Out of the group I've been taking mine out the most and it is so much fun. Like other reviewers said it doesn't track well but I figure I'm just going out on flatwater lakes, that isn't something that really bothers me. Granted I don't have much to compare it to but I think they are a great buy for someone who is considering getting into the sport and is a boat that they will be able to use for some time to come.
Submit your own review!

07-19-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     This kayak is easy to paddle, easy to carry and car top and I found the seat fairly comfortable. It has a roomy cockpit that is good for day paddling or fishing. It is definitely a low-cost kayak that is designed as an entry level rec boat, but is well worth the money. The primary detraction of this model is that it weathercocks very easily and does not track well at speed. At a lazy paddle speed it is excellent, but at higher paddle rates is when the weather-cocking and tracking issues surface.
Submit your own review!

07-25-2012
Submitted by: kibbySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     ok so I read about 50 reviews before I bought this kayak. And almost every one said "does not track well." Never been kayaking before, I had no idea what that meant. My boyfriend was kind enough to buy this for me and my maiden voyage was 2 days ago. I loved it. And now I know what tracking means and its true, doesn't track well. I think that will change as I get used to it.

Even though the seat isn't very comfy i had no problems sitting in it for a couple of hours. The storage hatch should be waterproof but its ok. Got it at Dunhams and I love it. Its so relaxing.

Submit your own review!

05-30-2012
Submitted by: Sharon HSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I just got my Pelican Ultimate 100 from Dunhams today. As said in other reviews the back rest is a little low but other than that I was in the water in a matter of minutes. It handles really well. It was on sale for 199.00 and I got another 20 percent off with a Sports Authority coupon. Came with a free car top carrier but it is worthless, the straps do not stay tightened at all. Can't wait to try it on the river.
Submit your own review!

02-19-2012
Submitted by: chadSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I'm very happy with my Pelican Ult. 100. I actually have never heard of a Coleman Ultimate 100. I guess I got lucky when I purchased my vessel from Dunhams because it had foot pegs. I used it about six times last year, on one occasion, I loaded it with camping gear and stayed out awhile. It was great! It handles good, and its just a ton of fun. I attached a flush mount rod holder to the aft area and toss a golf umbrella in there for storms and sunburn. Also got an anchor, half skirt, and cleat for my rope. Anyways, these are a fine little unit. The back rest could be a little taller, as earlier mentioned, I just tuck my life vest back there and it rocks.
Submit your own review!

07-08-2011
Submitted by: Mike B.Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I got my Pelican Ultimate 100 today at Dunhams for $199. I've seen these little kayaks all over the place this summer on car tops and in the water. Easy to load on top of my little Metro and the RamX hull seems durable enough. This is my first ever foray into kayaking and it is an absolute piece of cake. Get in and paddle away. Not sure of the difference between the Ultimate 100 and the Pursuit 100, but this Ultimate 100 has the adjustable foot pads, bungee cords on the forward deck, small covered storage bin in the back, but no paddle holder. Paddle kept sliding off so I made my own holder with some heavy duty nylon picture hangers (30# capacity) and some stainless screws and nylon locking nuts and a bit of bungee cord. Works great.

Tracking seems fair, but I noticed that if you stop paddling, it tends to start turning around. I understand longer kayaks tend to track even straighter, but this one is certainly easy enough to manage and get back on track. I'm really enjoying the Pelican Ultimate 100 and thinking of getting a a 2nd one so a friend or relative can paddle along too. Its a whole lot of fun. What more need I say?

Submit your own review!

06-27-2011
Submitted by: ryanSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just got the Pelican Ultimate 100 from Dunhams for $190. It is an awesome kayak for the price. It's fast,stable,tracks well,and seems to be durable. The rear storage hatch isn't waterproof but is very handy. I carry a small waterproof box for my valuables. My only complaint with the boat is the back rest for the seat. I wish it was a little taller to support my back better. But overall I love it! Great boat for the money.
Submit your own review!

06-08-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought mine at Dunman's for $199.00. I love the way it handles. But don't ever flip it over. It is impossible to get back in it like I have seen in a lot of kayak videos. You grab hold of the other side when trying to get on top and it will sink. There is no floatation in the front end and when it get's full of water the front end will be under water even when you are not trying to get back in it. This a safety factor that the Co. should fix on all of them.. I suggest you put some kind of flotation in the front in, I am going to. But for the rest of it, the quality and price is good.
Submit your own review!

06-01-2011
Submitted by: kyleSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the Ultimate 100 for $189 at Dunhams. I relaxed and was used to it in 5 minutes. We went in a local stream and I was floating excellent in 3 inches of water. All of the canoes were scraping. It turned good and went about 15 mph when I paddled hard. I only tipped once, and that was because I was ran into with a canoe. I would recommend it to anyone.
Submit your own review!

06-19-2009
Submitted by: SMT
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just got a Pelican Ultimate 100 from Dunhams on sale for $199. I've never been in a Kayak and was a little worried when I read reviews about it being unstable.

Went out for the very first time today and it was awesome. It took me 15 mins. to get used to the balance and about 1 hr to learn how to control direction. This thing is easy to turn (some times too easy) and it is very fast.

On a 6.5 mile creek/river run that usually takes us 2.5 hrs with the family in canoes - I did today in 1 hr and 20 mins. I will probably buy another one this week while they are still on sale.

Submit your own review!

06-02-2009
Submitted by: DanielSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just purchased this kayak from Dunhams for 199. The kayak is stable, lightweight, and extremely durable. I took it through Mitchel Creek near East Bay. I ran into a lot of metal and rocks. The kayak is extremely durable for the price, but the only thing is, it doesn't sit very high on the water so going through rough waters is cold and wet. The waves were 2-3 feet high and the water was 53 degrees. So I don't recommend it for rough waters. Another bad thing is when you think you're going to tip over, you're going to tipover. The kayak is small and is easy to turn over, just as any other kayaks are. All in all, I think it's a great buy. thumbs up.
Submit your own review!

07-02-2008
Submitted by: Stephan
Rating: 8 of 10

     My wife and I bought 2 of these kayaks from Dunhams. They were on sale for $190 each and for that price it's hard to go wrong. They are very good beginner kayaks that are actually made by Pelican. They're pretty light boats at only 39 lbs each. The hatch on the back isn't waterproof, but it's convenient nonetheless. The deck rigging cords are nice to hold down gear if needed. We've used them on rivers, lakes and marshlands and they've performed very well. I expect these kayaks will last us for quite some time.
Submit your own review!

08-27-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My fiance and I got these kayaks about a year ago and they've been great. We had never really kayaked before so we wanted to get something cheaper to start out. We've taken them mostly on rivers and they handle well, we've even taken them on some class I rapids and they held up well when we got stuck, even have a few big scrap marks on the bottom. I do lots of photography and would store my camera in a dry bag in the back hatch but that would get annoying taking it in and out so I got a hard case and sit it with my legs. We ended up putting in foot pegs, I don't notice a difference but he does. Matt even has it set up for fishing, but hasn't tried it yet. Overall it's a great beginner kayak for a good price.
Submit your own review!

11-27-2006
Submitted by: ElliottSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I got this kayak as a gift. It is not the fanciest thing in the world, but it definitely gets the job done when it comes to basic recreational paddling. I am a bit wary of the material, but it seems to hold up pretty well. It is very stable and very responsive. it could really use some foot pegs, as i was out in it for about 2 hours and my legs fell asleep. i was a bit disappointed with the rear "space hatch" as you really couldnt fit anything worth while in it at all, but i really liked the shock cording in the front. overall i guess it really is a very good kayak just for getting out on the water. if you dont want to spend alot of money and you just want something to dink around in, this is the boat for you.
Submit your own review!

07-12-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     The Ultimate 100 is a stripped down version of the Pelican Pursuit 100 DLX. This Kayak is made by Pelican and the warranty registration is done through their site. The kayak is pretty well made. There are no noticable defects. The rear hatch is not water tight but makes a good cooler or can be used with a dry bag.

I say it's stripped down because the Pelican version has adjustable footpegs and a paddle holder. The Coleman version does not. There is an order form that came with the rest of the paperwork to order footpegs from Pelican for $23.95 shipped. I'm ordering them.

This is my first Kayak. I own an aluminum canoe that is used for small lakes and slow rivers. I wanted to get a kayak as my son is getting older and the canoe is just not big enough for my wife, the two kids and me. My 7 year old son has no problems using the kayak on lakes. I've taken it on the rivers with friends. This is not the faster Kayak out there. One person rented an Old Town Otter and we switched off for a while. The performance seemed similar between the two. I did appreciate the foot pegs on the Old Town. Add the foot pegs and I'd rate it an 8.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale