Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Prijon > SeaYak Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for SeaYak Kayak by Prijon


Rated: 8.69/10 Based On: 45 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-30-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     1993 Seayak - my first kayak. I bought it new in '93 in Rhode Island and began paddling all around Long Island Sound.

PROS: Responsive handling, extremely durable.
CONS: Foot peg adjustment, sprayskirt grip, kicks up spray.

This is a fantastic boat. It handles very well, responding to edging nicely. It is perfect for day trips and rock gardens. The raised hatches do kick up some spray in the chop - especially since the boat tends to punch through waves more than go over them. The hatches are small pods so storage in them is a bit tight. They have neoprene covers with plastic lids - I have replaced them 2 times in 20 years. The foot pegs are a pain to adjust, so swapping paddlers is a hassle.

I began paddling doing quite a bit of "offroad" paddling. This boat has been over more rocks and mussel beds than I care to think about. It is very tough.
#1 drawback (besides that I'm now too fat for it's 225lbs limit) is the cockpit coaming has a hard time holding the skirt on.

Given how great this boat is, I'm surprised I don't see a ton of them on the water.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
07-17-2013
Submitted by: RHBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a very used Seayak recently. I have no idea how old it is, but I am at least the fourth owner. It is still in very good shape, but a very faded red (pink) color.

The boat came without a rudder, so after paddling it once, I knew it needed a rudder badly. It comes ready to hang a rudder on the stern, so I ordered a rudder kit, installed it easily, and now it handles like a dream.

This boat is seemingly bullet-proof! The HTP plastic is very sturdy and stiff. The seat back is not the greatest, (that may be the next improvement project for me) but the boat tracks well and is relatively fast for a plastic production boat.
I would rate it a 9.5 out of 10.

Submit your own review!

03-21-2013
Submitted by: PJMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my Seayak. I paddle the finicky waters of Lake Erie 3-5 times a week. With the lake being so shallow, you always take the risk of a strong wind creating some challenging waves. The blow-molded plastic construction provides a durable, stable, and sleek glide through the water. With just over 16 ft. of length and the use of a rudder, my Seayak is a great day touring kayak. I have paddled from the shores of the U.S. to Canada and up and down the mighty Niagara River (just shy of Niagara Falls of course!)I don't consider myself an expert but certainly an adventurous explorer.

Whether on the open lake water or a slow moving creek, this has been a surprisingly versatile kayak and the right choice for me.

Submit your own review!

03-26-2012
Submitted by: DSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have 2 SeaYaks, (and 2 poly capellas, and 2 Catalinas, 1 easky and 1 sealion) so a full range then! The Sea Yak is excellent. matches the capella for speed and is my preferred rec paddle. Paddled empty, day kit, One of them did weather cock (the other did not! mm confused we were!) Issue was seats were in different places so MOVE THE SEAT. (forwards?). Sorted, Key to this was the short ish waterline that allowed the Yak to rotate easily... that and the lack of a skeg mean its very load sensitive. Load well and its great, load poorly and its a pig in the wind. Yes, I would Buy Sea yaks and recommend them for weekend trips.
Submit your own review!

05-17-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased my SeaYak new in 2006, and since then I have used her primarily for long-distance solo touring. I haven't paddled many other boats so I can't offer much in the way of comparisons, but for my purposes she's been great. She handles well in waves and wind, and with the addition of a rudder she steers well without weathercocking. Without the rudder this was a problem, so I'd highly recommend adding a rudder if you get one.

Her fore and aft compartments are quite roomy and I have no problem getting two weeks' worth of gear and (dehydrated) food inside. The hatches have plastic covers over neoprene seals, which are quite secure. Once you master the technique of sealing them -- similar to getting a sprayskirt adjusted -- you'll never have to worry about wet gear.

The cockpit is fine for a 6'1"/185 cm guy who weighs 190 lbs/87kg, which I am. As others have mentioned, the seat is not the greatest piece of engineering on the boat, as its backrest tends to pop out when entering and exiting the boat, but once you're settled in it's comfy. The dayhatch leaves a bit to be desired, as it's not super easy to open, but its neoprene-bag interior is about the size of your head and can hold your map, snacks, water bag and camera easily.

The construction overall feels very sturdy. It's easy to quibble over little details, but my bottom line is that I've trusted this boat with my life several times and she hasn't let me down. I expect there are faster and lighter boats on the market, but get me above the 50th parallel and this is the boat I want with me.

Submit your own review!

08-25-2009
Submitted by: M.RSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am 6'1" 185 lbs, and I've been paddling for 7 years. I've owned the Seayak for more than 3 years, and I couldn't have been more satisfied with it. It's a very stable boat has excellent initial and secondary stability. It's a great boat for any skill level from beginner to highly experienced. I've had the boat out on calm lakes, fast flowing rivers, wild 6-8 ft confused seas, in surf zones anywhere from small to 6 ft breaking waves, in sea caves, open ocean... I am completely sold on this boat.

It is a very predictable performer, and does not punish the paddler for mistakes. It is very easy to roll, and very easy to turn. It's a fabulous rockgarden and ocean because of it's playful 16' length. The storage capacity is enormous, I've had it out on lots of camping trips from overnighters up to 2 weeks, in any kind of conditions from mild to wild.

The HTP Plastic is the toughest material on the market, this boat takes tremendous abuse, I've got slammed into sharp rocks in a way that would have destroyed any fiberglass or kevlar boats. No miracle that this material is favored by some serious expedition paddlers worldwide. The cockpit outfitting is well thought out and the seat is extremely comfortable. The tri-hedral hull is an excellent design, quick to accelerate, the boat has great glide and is very easy to turn. Yes, it does turn into the wind (like any other sea kayak), but that's easily corrected with edging the boat and some sweepstrokes. My Seayak is equipped with a rudder, but I've only used it very few times, in big following seas and on a long bay crossing sideways to the outflowing tide.

The hatches stay bone dry after excessive rolling and rescue sessions and the little day hatch in front of the cockpit is very convenient. The boat is very well balanced for a solo carry and at 58 lbs it's not heavy - hey it's a plastic boat... All in all it's a wonderful boat that will help a beginner get into the sport and it's a fun playboat or expedition boat for the experienced paddler.

Submit your own review!

03-28-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     As a dealer for Prijon in the 1990's, I spent many hours researching the best products and most advanced manufacturing techniques available. No North American products (or any other for that matter) came close to Prijon's. While driving to attend the Charleston Kayak festival in 1994, I witnessed a Seayak blow off a trailer ahead of me on I-95. The boat was promptly run over by a Cadillac. After some hand wringing and inspections to show the car was unscathed, the boat (with diagonal tire tracks straddling the cockpit and the hull rather flat) was unceremoniously loaded back on the trailer where the driver proceeded to Charleston. When the trailer arrived and the boat was tossed (yes, with no care) on the grass at the park, a few hours in the hot sun revealed a perfect hull once again with "custom" tire tread markings. The boat was sold at the Symposium with full disclosure. I am sure it is still paddling today. TOUGH is putting it lightly when you describe this boat. I have pitch polled this boat while surfing in 8 - 10' seas and come through without a scratch (on the hull). With float bags (or bulkheads) the boat can be completely swamped and still not go down. Weathercocking can be a concern for the novice, but with a secondary lean, or a shift on the paddle shaft, corrections are simple with the most precise response available in any plastic boat out there. Rolling is easy, and handrolling is a pure delight in this boat. My wife's boat is 16 years old and looks like new. This boat is a value and a half and the best bang for the buck going. Buy one, buy two (one for your mate or a friend), they can quite honestly, be the last kayaks you'll ever need to own.
Submit your own review!

09-11-2008
Submitted by: RRSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have paddled about seven boats so far and have taken the Seayak out a few times and spent many hours in it each time out, enough, I feel, to form an object able opinion on this boat. The first time I took it out it was very windy and with the rudder down the boat tracked very well I found. I did find the boat to be a bit on the slow side though. (Ive found the Kodiak to be way faster) I really had to work to keep the thermoform I was out with in sight.

On one of my "windy" outings in the Seayak, I decided to try it without the help of the rudder and found the boat to be useless without it. All it wanted to do was turn up wind even in more mild wind and with a good breeze, I found I had to continually fight the boat to get it to go in any direction other than up wind which made going forward extremely slow.

As I said I spent many hours in it each time out and as far as comfort goes Id have to give that boat some high marks, very comfortable. That being said I am 6 and 200 lbs and found the cockpit to be a bit on the small side for me. (its designed for smaller framed paddlers) Getting in and out was a bit of work. Once in it was ok it was just the getting there. The boat also has great room for storage and looks like you could bring your house with you. The hatches do a very good job at keeping the water out and have a nice look about them as well. It also has a dry hatch right in front of the coaming, nice, works well, great location but a little hard to get into.

Overall I think the boat is made very well and looks like it could take some serious abuse and is capable of much but if your in or near the 200lb range, you may want to check the Kodiak out. Very nice kayak with more room. If you get the Seayak get one with a rudder, youll need it with this one. It does not do well in the wind.

Submit your own review!

09-03-2008
Submitted by: CGSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've paddled my Seayak for over 5 years now and have only just sold it (to make space for new toys!). To put some of my comments in perspective, I also paddle a racing K1 and have just acquired a surfski.

What do I love about the Seayak? A great boat for beginners or even intermediate paddlers. Very good levels of primary and secondary stability, so I often lend it out to friends who are novice paddlers. Handles rough water reasonably well, although doesn't surf as well some other sea kayaks I've paddled (maybe due to short length and lack of rocker?). It's almost indestructible - I'm sure the HTP plastic is the toughest on the market. The materials and finish are very high quality, better than most North American plastic boats. I find it very comfortable, seat and thigh braces provide lots of security (although might be too snug if you're >6 ft tall). Easy to roll, but the high seat back prevents laybacks. Deck rigging with the nets is quite functional too.

Bad points. Not the fastest boat around (actually, verging on slow), although probably similar to other boats this length and width. As many other reviewers have stated, it weathercocks to an unacceptable degree. With the rudder down its fine. It's heavy if a prolonged portage is required. On the bright side it does balance well.

Overall, I was very happy with the Seayak. A good beginners boat and great for weekend trips anywhere. A solid boat which will take a lot of abuse. However, it is an old design now and if I was considering a Prijon boat again I'd probably look at the Barracuda or Catalina.

Submit your own review!

03-21-2008
Submitted by: Mike BSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned a SeaYak since the spring of 2004. I actually purchased the first '05 model - it fits differently than the earlier models and has the round deck hatch for small items - a nice touch. There are also 2 Prijon Catalinas and 1 Prijon TourYak in my family. I have paddled many other boats including P&H, Valley, Eddyline and Current Designs.

I have used my SeaYak in Pacific coastal waters and large inland lakes. I am 5'8" 170lbs. The boat fits me perfectly and has excellent stability.

This is a terrific beginner to intermediate boat. It is easy to paddle distances, though not a fast boat for its size. It has sufficient cargo space for a multi-day trip, and the rudder control via the pedals is wonderfully easy to use. I suspect this boat is nearly indestructible.

The low amount of rocker makes it a bit unstable in uncertain seas. It weathercocks noticeably in winds over 10 knots, though the rudder easily corrects for this. The boat is rather heavy; long solo portages can be a chore.

Overall, I give it an eight.
If Prijon redesigns the hull to reduce weathercocking (if possible), I will give it a 9, and if they increase rocker for responsiveness I would give it a 10.

Submit your own review!

03-02-2008
Submitted by: whlSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     the yak is very nice handles well with or with out the rudder (for all the rudder haters out there) and not tippy if you got good hips. Nice touch with the neoprene under the plastic covers...
Submit your own review!

05-09-2007
Submitted by: MMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After a lot of research, including talking with local kayak instructors (Chicago area), I went with the Seayak. General consensus among those I spoke with (including the owner of a kayak company here who has a couple hundred Prijon boats for the classes he offers) was that the Prijon HTP plastic is indeed stiffer and more durable than anything else out there. After examining a number of plastic boats from different manufacturers, I would have to agree.

My experience over the last couple weeks of testing the boat out has exceeded my expectations. I've not yet had it loaded up for trips, and so have been paddling it empty. I do have the rudder, but I've found edging, stability, and tracking to be great without it. I've been out in 4-5 foot waves with winds up to 20 knots: in those conditions, or in following sees, I find the rudder nice to have, but in honesty someone of higher skill level would perhaps not feel the urge to drop the rudder in...I've always felt it optional, and choose to drop the rudder honestly when I'm feeling lazy. Longest distance I've done thus far without stopping has been 6 miles (Montrose harbor out to Wilson Crib and back), which flew by...the Seayak is quick to get up to speed, and really moves.

Hatches have been watertight. Deckbox is a nice convenience. Generous deck rigging is a plus. I agree with others that the "cargo net" style rigging fore and aft of the cockpit seems as though it may not last more than a few seasons, but no big deal: I actually plan to take off the aft net an keep it as a spare, replacing that with some 1/4" bungee I just bought. In any case, it's easy to change out or customize rigging as you wish with this boat.

Regarding size: I'm 5'10", 165 lbs. No problem with this boat. Cockpit is snug, but wet exits require no thought. Standard thigh bracing that came with this boat is right on for me. Adjustable seat is fine, I've had no problem with it popping out. I may ditch the seat back for a piece of custom foam, though, simply because I prefer more lumbar support and forward angle in my posture. Finally, I have rolled this boat, no problems there, and I'm not a great roller. The Seayak has been stable enough to me in rough conditions that I perhaps feel less urgency in that department than I should; some rough-water rolling practice is in order.

All in all, if you want a bombproof boat for expedition/open water/touring/camping, you can't go wrong with the Seayak. If you're bigger or pack tons of gear, go with the Kodiak. If you're average size and pack light as I do, the Seayak will get you there faster. And it looks much cooler also.

Final note: previously mentioned kayak instructor commented to me that he also has owned a Prijon Seagull, the fiberglass version of the Seayak. He went back to the Seayak: better handling, and indestructible. It's nice when the cheaper option is the better one!

If you paddle in Chicago, keep an eye out for me: bald guy in the Granite (white) seayak.

Submit your own review!

10-03-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I found the all purpose kayak I was looking for in the 2005 Seayak. I have been impressed by Prijon Kayaks since buying a Calabria two seasons ago. My opinion of the Calabria as a versatile, great handling rec/tourring kayak still stands, butI wanted my next kayak to be a bit faster and more efficient, particularly in bigger waves, while still retaining as much manueverability and as practical. Toward that end, I test-paddled a number of popular fiberglass touring kayaks. Although several were great to paddle, I kept coming back to Prijon for several reason. I also considerd the multi-purpose Prijon Touryak, but I preferred the lower volume and narrower beam of the Seayak (the better to accomodate different paddling styles).

I like three features common to most Prijon boats. The first appears in almost every review of Prijon Kayaks: the HTP plastic construction. Given the real and potential abuses I put my kayaks through (both on and off the water) I cannot bring myself to put money into a fiberglass boat. I would rather give up a little in weight savings and (supposed) top end performance to have a low maintenance boat that I can count on. The fact that the initial price of Prijon boats is lower than fiberglass is just a bonus. A second feature I like is the adjustable seating. I have paddle several excellent boats in which the fit just wasn't right for me. A third feature is the the hatch system. Whatever one thinks of the aesthetics (I kind of like them myself), the duel neoprene/hard plastic cover system has worked admirably. Granted, I do not paddle in ice cold salt water, so the slightly increased splash from the protruding hatch covers is not a consideration for me.

As for the Seayak in particular, I like the 2005 model's 34-inch key hole cockpit. That's a pretty generous cockpit by traditional standards, but the adjustable thigh braces keep the fit snug when in the boat, while the extra length down the middle aids exit and entry. It is still easy to reach gear in the deck netting and forward-mounted, "Deck Box" day hatch. This latter feature (which is really more of a neooprene sock), is far easier for someone of my limited flexibilty to reach than more conventional, rear mounted day hatches. At first I concerned that the day hatch would interfere with my legs while seated or during exits, but it is held in place by and internal hook,and it has not been a problem. I was also initally annoyed that the slight bulges created by the forward hatche and day hatch created a "saddle" where the deck netting lies. This interfered with my using that netting as a handy way to secure my paddle during rescues or at rest, but I created a quick fix by stringing a length of elastic chord between the D rings found at the base the hatch straps.

The Seayak has a high load capacity for its 16' length. I am 5' 8" tall and about 190 lbs., and most tour kayaks have to be in the 17 foot range to accomdate someone of my paddling weight I love the fact that I can comfortably load myself and my gear into such a compact hull. The Seayak achieves this bouyancy in part by being a bit wider than comparable boats (23" vs 21-22")but in part owing its trihedral hull. The only downside to this bouyancy that I have discoverd is when attempting such unnecessary manueveres as a "cowboy" re-entry. Out of the water, the Seayak's hull depth is comparable with that of other kayaks but unlike many touring kayaks, the depth of the Seayak remains pretty much the same along the length of the hull. This, combined with ample knee space may make the latest Seayak a bit too voluminous for paddlers at the smaller end of the spectrum, but it is more than fine for a broad range of medium size paddlers.

On the water, I found the initial stablilty to be comfortable. The lack of a pronounced keel and the angled panels of the trihedral hull make edging or leaning easy. At first, this also made the Seayak feel a little less stable than I was used to, but one quickly learns that the Seayak can be held at these angles relatively comfortably. Leaning beyond these angled panels (approximetely past the point where the deck perimeter lines meet the water line) is a bit trickier owing to the soft chine between the angled and vertical hull surfaces (and again the Seayak's bouyancy). In many recent kayak designs, it is not difficult to lean the kayak until the cockpit coaming is below the water line. However, while this may look impressive, it is worth pointing out that the Seayak carves sharp turn and performs other manuevers well without ever needing to submerge the cockpit coaming.

In beam seas, the Seayak's "rounded" cross section makes traversing beam seas relatively smooth. The Seayak's big ol' greenland-style bow slices through smaller waves with ease, while the hull widens sufficiently fast to keep it from "submarining" in larger waves (though admittedly, I have not been out in larger than 2'-3' waves). The Seayak both tracks and manuevers well enough in the following seas and mini-surf zones that I have been in, and I am looking forward to testing myself further in these conditions. I have yet to roll the Seayak, but other reviewers have, so I am confident that the Seayak will not be limiting in this area.

I find that the Seayak tracks well in both calm and wavy conditions. Weathercocking (which all kayaks do) is more noticeable when the winds are stong, but the waves relatively small. Edging or leaning on the angled panel is usually sufficient to take care of the problem, and though prolonged leaning can be uncomfortble, it has become much easier since I have learned to relax (think "reclining on a roman couch"). Once the waves have reached a certain height, I find that the Seayak tracks better again (perhaps the waves partially block the wind).

To keep my kayak as simple, clean, and maintainence free as possible, I opted for a rudderless Seayak. I intend to keep it that way, so I am not in a position to comment on the pros and cons of rudders vs. skegs (though I have heard good things about both the design and durablity of the Prijon's balanced wing rudder.)

After a season of use and abuse, both the hull and its fittings have held up well. I have had only one problem with a gasket that forms a water tight seal on the day hatch, and Prijon promptly sent me a free replacement part. Fixed the problem completely.

My gripes are confined to the metal posts that help keep the back rest in place (they pop out easily during entry, and are a bear to put back in place while sitting in the kayak), and the foot pedals that are only pegs when you don't install a rudder.

So far, I have taken my Seayak up and down narrow rivers with significant currents (though short of rapids); quiet backwater channels barely wide enough for the kayak; Lake Michigan, and a variety of different water bodies and conditions in between. While I may consider adding other kayaks to my fleet for running rapids or going on extended expeditions, I have no intention of giving up my Seayak.

Submit your own review!

09-25-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Seayak about 7 years ago. After paddling this kayak literally thousands of miles, and putting it through the wringer I am sold on this boat. I liked it so much, that I bought a second one just to have in case. I haven't had the problems with tracking, weathercocking, etc...that I've seen listed here. My seayak do have rudders for the same reason a car has power steering. They are simply more efficient. Without the rudder, the kayak does not track worse than any other seakayak I've paddled. In fact, it tracks far better. I find the Seayak very comfortable in every way. As though it's an extention of my body to the water. The first 3-4 years I had the Seayak, I was paddling around 40-50 miles 3 days a week. I would stop only a few minutes to have lunch, and a couple of 10 minute breaks only to stretch my legs occassionally. I've paddled the Seayak in every environment there is. From Below 0 temps, in icebergs, to well above 100 degree tropical heat, in ocean swells exceeding 15 feet from the trough, in severe gales, through thunderstorms, etc...I even was caught by a tornado once on a lake, and was forced to the shore by 80 mile per hour gusts. I finally found shelter, and left the kayak about 80 feet above the breaking waves on shore, and when I went back to retreive it later it was gone. I finally found it buried vertically in a tree, with the bow upwards, and the stern 10 feet off the ground. I looked the boat over throughly when I got home from this trip, and never found so much as a scratch from the incident. I've paddled the Seayak full force out of heavy surf onto the most jagged, rockiest shores imaginable with nothing more than a few minor scratches. There is no way a composite boat could hold up to this kind of punishment. I've owned many plastic kayaks, and canoes. Nothing holds up like the HTP that the Prijon kayaks use. Not even close. I've entertained at times, getting composite boats, but I've yet to find a need, and have many reasons why not to. I've paddled many composite boats, and don't see any significant advantages other than weight in carrying one to/from the water, or portaging. Still I have no problem with the weight. If I were a smaller, weaker person maybe that would be a factor. The only time I've seen any problem with "oilcanning" is when the straps are to tightly adjusted which seems to be a common problem I see with paddlers today. I can't tell you how many composite boats I've seen busted from overtightening, and how many plastic boats I've seen going down the road with straps adjusted so tight they could almost hold an elephant on top of the car/truck/SUV. Plastic bends. That's the nature of what makes it tough. The true value is in whether is warps or not, and the Seayak doesn't. I've had mine strapped to my rack for days in over 100 degree heat, and when I get to where I'm going, the little flex that is there comes out immediately without any loss of strength in the plastic at all. Each to their own, but I'd take function over vanity any day of the week. There's no way ANY composite boat whatsoever can hold up to what I've put this Seayak through, and it does everything I need it to do otherwise. If I were given the opportunity to trade my Seayak for ANY other kayak in the world I wanted on the basis that I was forced to keep it instead of selling it, or the like, I'd gladly decline that offer without a second thought. I am that satisfied with it. As I said. Each to their own, but I am under the belief that "the proof is in the pudding", and not in how pretty it is, or how much one pays for it.
Submit your own review!

05-08-2006
Submitted by: BruceSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have just purchased a new Seayak, complete with the Wildwasser balanced wing rudder, and outfitted with the new Prijon deck box - a gasketed twist-off hatch cover just in front of the cockpit, with a waterproof neoprene sock that hangs down and forward inside the kayak - the perfect place to store that cell phone, GPS, digital camera, or anything else you might not want to store lashed to the deck. I am very impressed with the overall quality of this boat, and appreciate the many fine rigging details, which include a full perimeter deck line, D-rings on the hatch covers to attach extra bungees, and the paddle groove with hold-down straps to rig a paddle float outrigger. The blow molded hull is rigid, and does not oil can, either on the water or on the roof rack. I ran smack over a sharp rock the first day out, which would have done serious damage to the gelcoat in a fibreglass boat, and was very glad I had opted for a plastic boat, because there was only a shallow scrape on the hull of the Prijon. Jon Turk pirchpoled his Prijon Kodiak on a rocky beach along the unforgiving coast of Russiia's Kamchatca penisula, burying the bow in the rocks and landing upside down on his head. The boat emerged unscathed. If these boats can survive this kind of treatment, I am confident they can endure the worst I am likely to dish out.

I just had a six-hour sea trial, and concur with other reviewers that the unladen boat tends to round up to windward with the rudder up, and requires concentration to keep it on track. However these issues all disappear when the rudder is dropped, so my recommendation is to purchase the rudder if you purchase a Seayak. The Wildwasser rudder is a work of art, providing minimal drag and very low steering effort. Being of swede-form design, with the centre of buoyance aft of the cockpit, the boat trims up slightly bow-down with the hatches empty, which causes the boat to veer off course slightly on the glide. If you choose to paddle rudderless, the cure would be to move the seat well aft, and pack all of your gear well aft in the rear compartment. Fully laden for a camping trip, I expect the helm would be more neutral - I would think that the hull was designed with this in mind. In any case, I have no issues at all with the way the boat handles with the rudder deployed, and would encourage anyone looking for a superb multi-purpose kayak to seriously consider a Seayak. For the record, the folks at Wildwasser Sport, who handle Prijon boats for North America, have been more than helpful with shipping and with all of my questions - they are very receptive to customer input and constantly working to improve their products. .

There is a peculiar ethos out there that using a rudder is "cheating" or reflects poor paddling skills - in fact what works for best for the boat you have is the right way to paddle. With the wing rudder deployed on this boat, there is no noticeable drag, and edged turns can be done just a cleanly as without the rudder - in fact you can spin the boat even faster with a bit of rudder assist. In straight-ahead paddling the rudder acts like a skeg in the neutral position, and of course minor course corrections can be made either by adjusting your stroke or by subtle rudder input.

Overall this is a beautifully built and very seaworthy boat which handles well under a variety of sea conditions - just accept that it works best with a rudder, and plan to use it. Nothwithstanding the current popularity of british-style skeg boats, there are lot of very experienced sea kayakers out there who will not put to sea in a kayak that is not rudder-equipped. For me, the choice of a rudder boat was motivated by a desire to fit a sail of the folding Pacific Action type for downwind legs. A rudder provides hands-free directional control under sail, leaving the paddle available for bracing if necessary to balance the boat.

Submit your own review!

04-26-2006
Submitted by: BPSend Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     Not bad for most flatwater or calm seas. But it weathercocks, weathercocks, weathercocks. Any wind and you might find yourself paddling on one side all day. I have not tried a rudder. That might help. Probably good for surfing, but not sea voyages.
Submit your own review!

07-01-2005
Submitted by: Jason BaconSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've been paddling the Seayak for about 3 years, mostly on Lakes Michigan and Superior, but also on several inland lakes and rivers, and even small, winding streams. The only difficulty I've had with this boat is weather cocking in a strong crosswind. However, the secondary stability is very good, so you can lean it pretty hard to compensate. You can look on the bright side too - this helps develop good paddling skills! It's quite fast for a plastic boat - even a match for many composites, and very stable in big waves/surf.

The HTP plastic is far more durable and stiffer than LP (linear polyethylene), and much easier to repair than composites. (All you need is a hot glue gun and some sandpaper) I've seen plenty of older LP boats with rippled bottoms and sides. They convinced me that it's either HTP or composite for sea kayaks. LP is fine for shorter boats with lots of contour, but the long, flat surfaces of a sea kayak require stiffer materials. I don't think there's a better boat for long, self-sustained trips - the combination of good speed/stability, big hatches, and high weight capacity is hard to match.

Submit your own review!

06-12-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a 10 year old Seayak this past winter. After 180 plus knots on the water, I love this boat! I'm strickly a flat water paddler (lakes, big rivers) and there are those who feel the boat is overkill. But I have some serious paddle and camping trips coming up, and this boat will let me bring everything I need. Sure a $3500 high-tech boat would be nice, but that just isn't in the cards. If you see one in good shape, go for it. I'm glad I did!
Submit your own review!

06-07-2004
Submitted by: Rob
Rating: 9 of 10

     An athletic paddler in a seayak can meet or beat a somewhat less athletic paddler in a narrower/faster boat. Here's the tip to beat, not meet. Put the backrest full forward with the adjustment in its tightest position (most upright). This will shift center of gravity forward, and get that scooped nose of the boat more in the water. You'll fly and turn better.
Submit your own review!

01-19-2004
Submitted by: Jeremy RobidaSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Love it. It's been my first and only boat. Every time I have a chance to try another boat, I keep realizing my decision on the seayak was a great choice. I've done a variety of conditions both loaded and unloaded and it always works out great. Sure, a glass boat is faster, but this thing will last forever and take lots of abuse. I have an older boat an it's still in great shape after several owners and lots of miles. I am very happy with the boat and am considering buying another with the updated thigh braces, rudder cable routing, and different hatch design.
Submit your own review!

12-29-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have paddled dozens of different sea boats over the years and the prijon sea yak measures up with my favorite of the plastic boats. Though it measures at a stable 16'1" the much shorter waterline makes it very maneuverable especially playing in the waves here on the coast of Maine. Because of it size it is not at its best at tracking, and has a tendency to weathercock, but with a rudder that can be engaged in the higher winds and rougher seas it makes it one of the most versatile boats available. It also has an "all-day" seat so multiday tripping is comfortable.
Submit your own review!

09-15-2003
Submitted by: calfSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Although I've paddled quite a bit, the Seayak I purchased three months ago is my first. I love it! At 5'3" and 120 pounds, I'm probably at the bottom limit sizewise, but I feel secure and comfortable in it. The footpegs are easily adjusted - even on the fly. I agree with the comments about the seat - it's nearly impossible to adjust once you're on the water, and if you do try to adjust it while moving, the back easily comes out of the two slots - but just as easily slides back. My main complaint with the seat is not being able to get the velcro to stay stuck on the bottom, so the cushion moves around slightly. I plan to remedy that with a gel seat.

Tracking is a problem, but she responds quickly to correction. This morning, I was bucking a strong current and a 25 mph head wind, and I was cutting through the waves like I had a motor on the stern! Going WITH the current, I was throwing up a bow wake, so I have no complaints about speed - I have no trouble being a "little" girl keeping up with the "big boys."

Finally, although I initially wanted a fiberglass boat, I decided on the Prijon for durability and easy maintenance. I believe I found it with my Seayak. Besides that, it's the best looking boat in town!

Submit your own review!

08-06-2003
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've owned my Seayak for 5 years now (a review I did earlier is the first posting here). The Seayak was my first kayak; it now shares my house with 3 other kayaks. I have paddled this boat on the Potomac River in both flat water and whitewater. It's been in the Atlantic off NC and NH. It spent three days fishing with me in Lake George surrounded by motorboats. I learned to run rapids and roll in this kayak. Simply stated, this is a damn good boat. Sure, it's not as fast and nimble as my P&H Sirius M nor a rollable as my Necky Rip or Wave Sport Z. It is what it is - a rigid, agile(for plasic) boat with good primary and excellent secondary stability. I can edge in this boat and keep it there like it was nailed. I took off the rudder to roll and turn better. I love the look of the prow. For most people who kayak, this is all the boat you would need - you can begin here and grow into it's capabilities.
Submit your own review!

06-24-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned the SeaYak for about a month now. This is my first Kayak and I bought it with the agreement that I could return it after giving it a demo. The dealer had it marked down as there is not a lot of interest in Sea Kayaks here in the Missouri Ozarks. Not having other Sea Kayaks to compare it with, I have to say that so far I am feeling good about my purchase. I was able to demo a couple recreational kayaks and the SeaYak had a lot less initial stabality, and the first time I climbed into her I had her on her side. Once in and moving the SeaYak feel fine. The first time out I paddled for almost 5 hours, and boy did I pay for that workout the next day. With each time out I feel better about her and I'm learning, and getting in shape. In the near future we will be moving to Port Angeles, Washington and the SeaYak will try out some salt water. For now the warm water of the lakes her in Southern Missouri are just fine. As far as giving the SeaYak a rating I guess I would have to go with a 9. The hatch covers are a pain to stretch on and this also goes for the cockpit spray skirt. The hull and deck seem very stiff and in general well made. The Seayak turns easily and handles waves and wind well. If it is not loaded correctly it weathercocks, but learning to manage this was not a big deal. I do not have a rudder on my SeaYak and do not feel a big need for one as yet. The best thing about the SeaYak is that I look forward to getting it out as much as I can.
Submit your own review!

06-19-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     We purchased Prijon kayaks about a year ago after trying several different models/makes. We wanted plastic boats because of the areas we like to launch/land at. First, the Prijon plastic system really impressed us. Looking at older Prijons we didn't notice any of the oil-canning that seemed evident on most other used plastic boats. The stiffness of the deck seemed to be retained even in older boats.

Seayak - My wife is 5'4" tall and is trim. The Seayak fits her although some purists would argue it is too big. The cockpit is big enough where she can lift both knees. Getting in bottom first is a snap. The Seayak is advertised at 24" beam, but hers measures about 22.75"

The boat weighs 55 lbs empty. I can pick it up and use the cockpit/shoulder carry method comfortably. The stern toggle is too close to the rudder to be comfortable. The hatches are watertight and well designed. The neoprene covers are difficult to get on and off.

The rudder mechanism works very well. The deployment line is a bit farther back toward the stern than I like and I have long arms. The gas pedal foot controls allow strong braces and sensitive trimming of the rudder. The boat edges nicely although the limit is elusive. It takes seas on the bow or stern well. It weather cocks enough that she would rather rely on the rudder than edging and correcting in most conditions.

The seat and backband are "okay." They adjust easily but aren't real comfortable. She uses one of the Voyageur inflatable seats and it works very nicely for her. The coaming lip is quite slippery and coupled with the long cockpit trying to stretch her neoprene skirt over it is a chore. We are thinking about roughing up the stern edge... we'll see.

The deck netting works pretty well. The forward net should extend back closer to the cockpit. The rear net is effective for carrying "stuff" but isn't great for holding a paddle blade during a self rescue. The cross straps on the hatches work well for holding spare paddles. The D-Rings are very useful. The boat accelerates and glides well making it relatively easy for her to keep up with my Kodiak.

Submit your own review!

06-06-2003
Submitted by: PeapodSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my second kayak and my first seakayak. I have used this kayak now for three months and I have found that it has lived up to its reputation as a very good plastic kayak. The boat has very good intial stability and excellent secondary stabilty. I have used this boat in lakes rivers bays and some channels with strong currents and the Seayak has performed well. The boat handles waves well as I discovered when a sudden spring storm came in from the Northwest turning a calm trip into an adventure. The boat handled the 2-3 foot continious barrage of waves like a pro. The Seayak tracks well and reponse well to turning. I am still learning how to paddle and handle her better. She seems to be able to maintain her course well.

The one area of the boat that needs improvement is the seat. The seat design could use help. The seatback has two tabs that slip into the bottom rear of the seat. When the seat is level or slightly inclined than the backrest falls out and you are seating on the folded backrest. Needless to say this can cause a major inconvenience when you are trying to enter the boat. Secondly, the manufactors claims that you can easily adjust the angle of the backrest when in the boat. It is almost impossible to reach the pull string with the hip braces attached. I removed them and it seems to be easier. The tech support was less than helpful when I asked for suggestions to adjust the seat and keep the backrest in position. Once in the boat, aproperly positioned in the boat and with some additional padding the seat is ok.

This is my first seakayak so I can not compare it to any others. The boat seems well constructed and the plastic is very scratch resistance. I have never had any water enter the hatches even though I have been in waves that crashed over the first third of the kayak. Overall I am satisfied with this kayak and hope to spend a number of years exploring the waters of Long Island and surrounding areas. If someone is looking a stable, reasonable speedy, durable, well constructed kayak they should consider the Seayak. However, Prijon please make a better seat.

Submit your own review!

08-30-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just purchased a 2002 Seayak at the advice of my local shop guys. They generally push dagger boats as they treat the dealers better but to be honest after trying a number of daggers I just couldn't get into them. Several of the salepeople suggested the seayak as I already had a calabria and was very happy with it. They did not steer me wrong. The first time I took the boat out into the Gulf I got caught by a severe thnderstorm. I could actually see the wall of torrential rain comming towards me from the Gulf so I turned the boat and ran for safety. I wasn't familiar with the boat and did not want to deal with a Tropical wave in a new boat. We outran the storm and I was able to get the boat onto the dock before getting hit by the storms full force. I find that the boat carried extremely well on the shoulder. At 58 lbs it is fairly liaght and very well balanced. I just lifted it out of the water and tossed it onto my shoulder. The speed was very good for a plastic boat, not quite as fast as my wooden cape charles but close enough for govt work. It was also extremely stable in heavy chop and the storm fronts high wind did not cause weathercocking. I find the boat tracks well and turns sharply. The cockpit is snug but I have not had time to adjust it to fit me yet, I paddled it as it came off the rack and I think just a couple of movements of the thigh braces and the seat should do the trick. It is certainly a beautiful boat and glides extremely well. I think a paddler any larger than me would be a bit tight( I am 6'2" and 215lb) and might want to consider a Kodiak but to be honest having tried the Kodiak it is not any faster and doesn't handle quite as well in smooth water and is not as stable in rough water.
Submit your own review!

06-27-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased the Seayak in August 2001. I was new to sea kayaking. I have been out with her about 40 times: lakes and mostly the Atlantic Ocean. I only kayaked with one friend, who has a 17 foot boat, we were about equally fast. I have worked on my conditioning and stroke and recently toured with 12 other experienced paddlers some using longer, some glass and some smaller boats. The Seayak could not be touched in both the protected coves, and the exposed Atlantic ocean, I felt my boat performed extremely well and was equal to any others. I took the long way, went out farther, and went first through narrow spaces with crashing waves. I always felt confident in the SeaYak. I am 5' 10", 195 # and thought she might be a little small for me; however, the boat really fits me like a glove. I have really taken to sea kayaking and convinced my wife that a fibreglass boat was needed. However, now that I have seen what the Seayak can do in comparison to other boats, I really don't see the need. I am sold on Prijon.
Submit your own review!

06-03-2002
Submitted by: MuffySend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I tried a plethora of tupperware boats and this one fared well. It tracks acceptably well; could be better. Turns well enough; again, could be better. It has a huge capacity - ah good! My only large complaint is Prijon's footbraces - they are deeply uncomfortable. They should loose the little pedal design and move to the sliding braces that are the standard in the industry. Their current footbraces will make half of your foot go to sleep on an extended paddle.
Submit your own review!

05-13-2002
Submitted by: shermanSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I just purchased a seayak and I'm feeling good about my decision. I demoed the seayak along with several faster glass boats. I think the seayak doesn't give up much speed to the glass boats and it is very stable. I am 6'2", 170 and it fits me with room to spare. It tracks well, even with the rudder up.
Submit your own review!

05-02-2002
Submitted by: kline
Rating: 8 of 10

     The SUV of kayaks. Bulky, comfortable, wide and indestructable. If you're looking for performance, you may want to consider spending a little more and get a narrow glass boat. I agree with the other reviews regarding the tracking. Without the rudder, the boat wanders all over the place, and paddling with the rudder always down is a real drag (literally). Don't even think of getting this boat without a rudder. This is a great begginer boat, and fits larger paddlers well. As with any wider boat, it sucks in broadside waves. Still, it's a bomber boat, and probably a wise investment. Mine's really old and still functioning well. That prijon plastic is really pretty good stuff. I've got two of their plastic boats which have spent alot of time in the sun, and still havent gotten mushy.
Submit your own review!

02-25-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Seayak in 2001 and so far it has met all my expectations. It is a very seaworthy boat and can pack allot of gear. It will oil can if placed on car racks (I over came this problem by separating the rack load bars the same width as the bulk heads). This seems to happen with most plastic type boats though. I really love the look of it this kayak and plan on covering many miles of wilderness in it.
Submit your own review!

10-01-2001
Submitted by: SAPPYSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have a 2000 seayak and tried several different kayaks out before settling on this one. The major reason is comfort and stability. I am 5' 10" and 210 lbs. and the boat handles me just fine. I paddle in all types of weather on Lake Michigan and it never let me down. I will be camping in it this weekend, so the truth will be told. I don't foresee any problems. For the price you can't go wrong. If you are looking for the adjustable seat, for get it. The cockpit is smaller than previous models and doesn't fit us big guys anymore. Stay with model years prior to 2001 and you will be ok. Also, used ones that are in good shape should go for around $950 - 1000, the savings let's you buy better gear for the boat.
Submit your own review!

09-06-2001
Submitted by: PaulSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I have an older SeaYak that I picked up used - it is still in decent shape but has had the seat back removed and replaced with a whitewater style backband. I am 5'9", 155 lbs - I find the boat to be comfortable for long paddling. It handles well and I like the the secondary stability. Overall, though, I am not very happy with this boat. I find it tracks very poorly without the rudder down(pulls to the left consistently with all paddlers - regardless of lefty or righty). Other than that, it turns okay but not very fast. I suspect it may be better suited to heavier paddlers. I found that it tracked substantially better when I took it out loaded - so maybe it is just a true touring kayak that needs a load. Other than that, I have found it to be awkward out of the water but I suspect all similar boats are as well (weight isn't distributed so well). I'm planning to sell it and buy a smaller boat (Dagger Baja, Percep. Corona, etc.).
Submit your own review!

05-07-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     After considering many different boats,I had the opportunity to demo the Prijon Seayak (poly). My analysis ended by purchasing the Seayak on the spot. I found the design and performance characteristics of this boat to be unsurpassed. The stiffness of the HTP allows it to perform like a composite boat, yet it is virtually indestructable. It is very fast and tracks extremely well. The hull design allows you to carve a turn exceptionally well and provides incredible secondary stability. I've got nothing bad to say about this boat. Just don't store it to close to where you work because it will beckon you all day to paddle it...or at least to just gaze upon its graceful lines.
Submit your own review!

02-12-2001
Submitted by: MarkSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Living in Seattle, I have had the opp. to take this boat in many situations - heavy water, long crossings, wind, etc. The boat is very stable and chews through any water that I've put it through. Very comfortable. My only conplaint is that due to the size it can be a slow boat - lots of plastic to move - but that was the only flaw. As far as weather cocking, not that unusual given the size. Buy it - Big Bird will love you for it in yellow.
Submit your own review!

11-15-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have owned my Seayak for 12 months now. I bought it after trying other poly boats. The reason I choose the Seayak was it is the stiffest plastic I have found on the market and I found I fit better than any others. I am 6'4"/ 230lbs. I must say I have enjoyed my first summer on the St Lawrence kayaking. Having recently converted from canoeing to kayaking I found the intial stability hard to get use to, though the secondary stability is great. Lots of room for storage/camping ect. Well built-mines yellow. The reason I didn't rate this 10 out of 10 is because I wish it was just a little bit bigger. Now if I could sell this one and buy a Kodiak..hmm...
Submit your own review!

01-20-2000
Submitted by: Niels BlaauwSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought a SeaYak half a year ago because I fell in love with it. Love doesn't last forever: For me it takes about three months to wear out, then I have to face the truth. Well, the truth wasn't so bad. I still think it is a very comfortable, beautiful boat that perfectly fits my needs. Just one thing I don't like: The front hatch, closed by a neoprene cover, should have an oval shape, but has more the shape of an "8", making sure it leaks and can be pulled off by water pressure. It took me half a year to gather my guts, heat up the front deck and bend the rims to where I wanted them. It worked out perfectly, but still, I think it is a production error that didn't have to be.
Submit your own review!

10-08-1999
Submitted by: DaveSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my SeaYak! I went on my first 4 day trip loaded down with 200 lbs of gear and it performed excellent. It performed just as well as all the glass boats around me. Several of the guys on the trip who tried the SeaYak were very surprised of its rigid feel and manuverability. The comfort of the seat on long paddles also sold me. I live on Lake Michigan and its handled anything I have ventured on . 4 foot waves are not a problem. Stable fast or slow, cruises nice. I am extremely happy. Personally, for twice the money for a glass boat, I would stay with my boat any day.
Submit your own review!

09-08-1999
Submitted by: J. ShultzSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I love my seayak. at 5'9"and 155# i can control the boat in all types of conditions. bow slices through rough water. Great initial and secondary stability, great tracking, very good speed. boat does weathercock in higher winds (most boats do), very secure feeling on lakes and in oceans! Best plastic boat i've paddled, and the HTP plastic is the most responsive of any on the market, ie. denser plastic so less hull flex and greater transfer of paddler's energy to moving the kayak through the water.
Submit your own review!

06-27-1999
Submitted by: KennySend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have an older Seayak on loan. It is a fast, durable boat with moderate initial stability and good secondary stability. Needs the rudder to really track well, and the bow hatch throws a lot of spray in your face, but it responds well to paddle strokes and has taken me a lot of miles, and I think I would paddle it anywhere.
Submit your own review!

04-19-1999
Submitted by: LloydSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I am a new paddler. I have a new seayak and a older seayak. I have spent time paddling both kayaks this spring. I like both kayaks. I have been out in some moderate winds and had no real problems in either boat. I am 5'10" tall and weigh 225 pounds. The kayaks seem to carry me fine. I haven't paddled any other kayaks, so I really don't have anything to judge the kayaks by. I feel like I did good picking out the seayaks. I would buy another seayak if I was going to buy another kayak.
Submit your own review!

03-22-1999
Submitted by: JoeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have an older model of the SeaYak which I like much better than the new ones. The deck is not as high and I fit much better in the old model. I'm 5'8" 155lbs. It is a very slow boat and not a still tracker. Weathercocking is also a big problem because I don't have a rudder. However, it is very responsive to leaned turns and both initial and secondary stability is excellent. It's a little short and a bit wide (16'1"/23"), but I paddle everywhere with this thing so it suits the ocean paddling I do as well as the narrow rivers inland.

I must admit this is one tough boat. It's plastic is much stiffer and stronger than other plactic boats I've seen. This boat would last a person for ever.

Submit your own review!

11-08-1998
Submitted by: Alan PultzSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I have paddled a SeaYak for about 2 years now. On the Potomac I have been flat out beat (speed) by a Sea Lion and had difficulty keeping up with a K1 while crossing the Chesapeak Bay. The boat is very stable but has problems (weathercocking) in high winds (20 knots). It surfs well. I get spray from waves breaking and hitting the rigging. I think it is a great beginners boat and a great boat for someone doing casual paddling. But for serious distance paddling in adverse conditions...I am looking elsewhere.
Submit your own review!

09-23-1998
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     60 lbs, bright yellow (of course) 24" beam, rudder opt., two hatches, foot peddles, viking prow, webbing fore and aft of cockpit, stiff polyethelyne, quick and fast.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt