Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Hobie Cat Company > Mirage Oasis (Tandem) Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Mirage Oasis (Tandem) Kayak by Hobie Cat Company


Rated: 8.55/10 Based On: 20 Reviews


Mirage Oasis (Tandem) Kayak by Hobie Cat Company

Length: 14' 6" - Width: 33.00" - Starting at: $3499.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Hobie Cat Company Logo



09-18-2014
Submitted by: bkSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Hobie Oasis Tandem with Mirage drives is a sit-on-top kayak that is so comfortable, easy to paddle and/or pedal, stable, easy to load and unload, great to use for recreational paddling and fishing, has tons of storage space, easy to re-enter from the water. It's great for recreational cruising of calm lakes and rivers, to running somewhat faster water, as well as pushing through the surf for some ocean fishing. Once you buy one, you will NEVER sell it - you will hand it down to your kids, and then they will hand it down to their kids - AFTER you use it on your 95th birthday!
Submit your own review!

07-29-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My wife and I couldn't be happier with our new Hobie Oasis.
It's fast, stable and enables us to get close to the critters we want to see because it is so quite. Having the option to paddle or peddle gives us confidence to explore farther without concern of being to tired to get back to our out in point.

Submit your own review!

07-05-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Owned this kayak for quite a while now and it's hard to go back to traditional kayaks. It is fast on the water, maneuvers good for a big kayak. Where I would normally do a 2 1/2 mile kayak ride, I'm doing 5 or so miles. Used my phone to check my speed and I am averaging 3-4 mph which I think its very fast. Very stable, I can jump in and out and not turn it. Only thing is it's heavy if you take it out on your own, two adults its no problem.
Submit your own review!

07-03-2014
Submitted by: GSSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have owned at least a half a dozen other kayaks over the years, but purchased the Hobie Mirage Oasis tandem last year. It was our first Hobie kayak and our first pedal drive kayak. We have not once regretted the purchase. In just one year, we have used this kayak more than any of our others -- combined! We absolutely love this kayak!

My favorite part of the kayak is the pedal drive. I love that it frees up my hangs and I can take tons of photographs or we can throw out a fishing line.

Every aspect of this kayak was so well thought out. I especially like the dual rudder controls (one for the person in front and one for the person in back). This has come in handy on several occasions!

This kayak has made me a Hobie fan and a Mirage drive lover! Be prepared for many envious stares on the water... everyone asks us where we got this kayak!

Submit your own review!

06-13-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The most enjoyable kayak I've ever owned.
I'm not sure how someone could have difficulty steering this kayak (maybe they installed the small rudder or their rudder lines are stuck?) And it makes no difference whether you pedal or paddle, just use the rudder for pedal and lift when paddling! If your Mirage fins fell off, you didn't mount the drive correctly (beginner mistake...I also made).

Very stable, yet it's the fastest kayak on the water with 2 people using the mirage drives. We always have to wait for our friends during trips. This is my 4th kayak and it's a Cadillac compared to the rest of my fleet. Everything is well thought out, easy to access, easy to function, great storage, bottle holders, comfortable stock seats, I really can't think of any drawbacks other than wishing it was lighter (it is a tandem).

Versatile; it handles 7' ocean swells just as easily as flat water or river running. I haven't been able to flip it over even when sailing it (which says a lot). Try one or buy one (you will buy one if you try one). Simply the best in it's class.

Submit your own review!

04-21-2013
Submitted by: KTG
Rating: 10 of 10

     I own 3 Hobie kayaks: 2 single Outbacks and 1 tandem Oasis. Never had a problem with any of the 3 kayaks and my Hobie dealer in Annapolis has great customer service. We have taken all of or kayaks on vacation to Vermont, Maine, NC & SC beaches/inlets and we live on the water near Annapolis. These kayaks get a lot of use with myself, wife and kids. They are great...
Submit your own review!

12-10-2012
Submitted by: JGSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My wife and I recently bought a new Oasis and couldn't be more happy about it. It really is hard to add anything beyond what has already been said. I would like to comment about what MB wrote on 06-07-2011. I've talked to several many years experienced Kayakers who say that most tandem kayaks, Hobie or otherwise, need ballast when used by a single kayaker. The kayak has difficulty tracking otherwise. You have to experiment with the weight and position of the weight. At the very least, at the front seat position. They also added that you should always cleat the rudder down with the down cord. Yes the rudder has a catch that holds it but it can pop up pretty easily. I'm told that experienced Hobie users always cleat the rudder down. Had MB done both of these things, he almost certainly wouldn't have taken the Oasis back to the dealer. My experience? He's missing out big time.
Submit your own review!

06-06-2012
Submitted by: ccSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This boat is great. Hubby and I bought one this weekend and took it for a 4 hour trip around Newport Harbor. And after 4 hours we were not even tired, though we traveled quite far. Even had a sea lion jump in front of us and land on a nearby dock. So the kayak did not bother him one little bit as we came cruising near him - this boat is quiet and glides thru the water. Love it. Am shooting to take it out 2x week. Wonderful looking and riding boat. Got a lot of people checking it out as we maneuvered thru the channels.
Submit your own review!

04-13-2012
Submitted by: JDLSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just bought this 2011(2) Hobie Mirage Oasis two weeks ago and have taken it out on the ICW in Wilmington three times and love it! Last time out, it was high tide, we were peddling 99% of the time and steering with the rudder only. It was awesome, relaxing, and very enjoyable for the wife and I.
Submit your own review!

11-29-2011
Submitted by: Aleda StaffansonSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We are 55 years old and bought our Kayak last year and have just enjoyed it so much I had to write a review. Was very surprised at some of the negative statements made, there is adjustments we had to make to improve our turning ratio which is now perfect.

We were amazed at how stable it was when we were caught in choppy waters and pedaling is so relaxing and fairly effortless compared to paddling. it is also great for fishing, perfect trolling speed for trout and we have caught many so far. I am looking forward to trying it in Mexico getting off and on to swim and snorkel next year, apparently it is easy to climb back on again. There is such a diverse amount of things you can do with this Kayak that is why we bought it and I would highly recommend this kayak to anyone. We have not had any negative issue with ours.

Submit your own review!

11-25-2011
Submitted by: GarySend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     2011 Hobie Oasis: Location; Indian River Bay, Delaware. Generally, pleased with the kayak but it has limitations. As another reviewer noted, the Oasis can be unwieldy in a cross wind or current. The rudder can only do so much; keep those paddles handy when the wind is blowing and you need to make a tight turn. Under ordinary conditions the rudder is sufficient by itself so long as you understand the turning radius.

The Oasis can handle waves up to 2 feet without much difficulty but is happiest at 1 foot or less. My wife and I (we're both 59) can cover a 5 or 6 mile round trip in a couple of hours with ease. Our longest trips have been to the Indian River Inlet (to Atlantic Ocean); a round trip distance of almost 18 statute miles. These trips have taken us about 5 hours including a rest stop. We were barely able to make headway against a tidal current at the narrow inlet. That's the penalty for stability; even with 2 peddling, the boat is only going to go so fast. Still, this is a great recreational toy that anyone can use with a little training. Pedal-power opens the audience. Properly installing the mirage drive while seated in the kayak takes some practice and one liter of water each isn't enough on a hot day.

Submit your own review!

07-08-2011
Submitted by: LWSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     Our new Oasis is great the only thing is the we have used it twice and have broken a rubber fin where the pin at the top go's in. So $3500 used twice and now down again. I love the kayak if I could use it with out it breaking every time we use it. The fin's look poorly molded to me check your fin's before you buy.
Submit your own review!

06-07-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 2 of 10

     I have purchased 2011 Hobie Mirage Oasis Tandem and have had a horrible experience with it. I volunteered as a safety kayaker to support the 7.5 mi. Potomac swim on 6/4/2011 (http://artemis.crosslink.net/~cherylw/pr2007i.htm) It was windy and a bit rough, but I was unable to control my kayak at all, even with the rudder and mirage drives installed. It had no tracking (st)ability, what so ever! I was paddling sideways, making circles and loops. I was unable to control my kayak at all, both peddling and paddling! With the rudder all the way, it would just not turn right! I was shamefully taken out of the race and barely made it to shore, on my own. It was like trying to paddle a washtub! The bottom of the kayak is round and there is no keel to speak of, to assist in tracking / keeping the course. I am an experienced kayaker and am extremely frustrated / disappointed, after spending thousands of dollars on the kayak and accessories for this model, I would not recommend to anyone. It is a safety hazard and should be taken off the market!
Submit your own review!

07-22-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My wife and I purchased a 2009 Hobie Oasis tandem kayak with the Mirage pedal drive system towards the end of 2008. Quality problems with the new molds delayed the boats arrival until January, but since that time we've put quite a few outings on the hull.

We purchased the boat primarily with my wife in mind - she wanted to go with me on social kayak outings, but didn't really enjoy paddling, and didn't feel she would have the endurance on her own to stay with the group. Hence, the tandem pedal boat.

The Hobie Oasis is very cleverly designed for a recreational boat - lots of storage, decent seats, very stable, and fun. Plus, Hobie even includes two large water bottles, two paddles (needed for backing up and very shallow areas) and a dry bag! The Mirage drive is a clever system, delivering lots of thrust. We installed the Turbo Fins (Hobie should really do this from the factory), and found a significant increase in performance with very little extra effort (we gained about 1 mph average in cruise speed). With the Mirage drives, the motion is really more like a stair-stepper motion than a bicycle motion, but you'll use a lot of the same muscles. It's pretty similar to peddling a bike up a low incline. The hand-operated rudder is very effective, turning the boat on a dime.

All that stability and those nice touches come at something of a cost - the boat is quite heavy (The hull, without drives and such, is about 69 lbs - you'll need two people to get it on and off the car if you aren't fairly strong) and not particularly sleek. It accelerates almost immediately and easily maintains a decent cruise speed, but really pushing it takes a lot of effort - you're really moving some water! Nevertheless, my wife and a friend's teenage son won a recreational class boat race with our Oasis, averaging just over 5 mph over a 3.6 mile course. We've sprinted the boat to 6.1 mph.

To help with moving the boat, we purchased the Hobie plug-in cart, a two-wheeled frame that plugs into the bottom of the cart. I highly recommend it - it really helps with moving the boat around. We got the cart with the inflatable sand tires that float. You can actually back the boat into the water, then reach under and pull the wheels out from under the boat.

The 2009 model has some significant upgrades over the 2008 model, including a new hull design, much better pull/pull rudder activation system, and new designs for the drive system retaining clips and fin mast installation.

A fun boat, and highly recommended if you want easy cruising, no-hassle fun! You'll find all your friends will want to try it out as well...

Submit your own review!

07-31-2006
Submitted by: S KentSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have have just bought a MirageTandem second hand 2005 model. I have very short arms and cannot use a paddle. This is the answer to my prayers, i can now canoe with my husband and children and am no longer left to walk the cliff path. We use it on the open sea and find it very stable. I am going to recommend it to all my friends who have the same problems as i do. Thanks very much to the designers, i am only sorry it took so long to find out about it.
Submit your own review!

07-27-2006
Submitted by: BobSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     We are not experienced kayakers and were considering a Mirage Tandem so we went to the dealer to test drive it. I am 6'3" and 290 lbs and my wife is about 120 lbs, consquently the stern of the kayak where I was sitting was low in the water and the bow was very high. The unbalanced attitude was enough to make us wary of buying one. The pedal drive did work well, but the hand rudder had a lot less authority than I expected and the turn radius was large. It was also hard to get out of the kayak and on to a dock.
Submit your own review!

12-16-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have a Hobie Mirage Tandem and are very pleased with it. The hull is very solid and shows no deformation on Thule kayak roof rack supports.

We have used it in large lakes (10 miles across), rivers and on a protected Pacific bay, Tomales Bay. It is very stable and handles up to 3 ft wind induced breaking swell, (as large as we have found so far), and steep power boat wakes with no problem, punching through the wave crest as the momentum of the kayak, with no ‘between power stroke time’, is high. We always leave groups of touring kayaks behind as the drive moves us at hull speed with little effort. A longer version Tandem , maybe 20-22 ft, like the single ‘Mirage Adventure’ would just be incredibly fast and with more length and buoyancy in the bow, than the Tandem, would be really stable in big waves.

The hull speed of the 14.5 ft Tandem is 5.1 knots, 5.9 mph, the 16 ft Adventure is 5.4 knots, 6.2 mph. A 22 ft version would make 7.25 mph. There is a rumor that larger ‘wings’ may be available to generate more power and a planing version of the hull would be really interesting. The current wings are small enough that they can be run all day without feeling it, especially if you ride bikes a little. The wings simply fold under the hull in shallow water, but weeds do collect around them. In weedy waters, simply pull the wing/crank unit up on deck and paddle with very shallow strokes. There is no reverse gear so paddles are important!

In warm water you can just jump out to cool off and then climb back in with no bracing, or the need for the crew partner to hang out. In cold Pacific water, a shortie wet suit is plenty as the legs are kept warm by exercising. Riding a bike through melted salt/snow water sprayed up from the road is much colder. The below deck storage is good for day touring, but for multi day equipment, larger hatches are needed, as in the Adventure.

Overall, a great all round day machine for lakes, large rivers and the ocean. Good comfort and safety.

Submit your own review!

12-06-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Having a Mirage Classic, we decided to get the tandem so my wife could join me on the water. We've had it for a couple of years now and have used it solo as well as tandem.

First, ours has had no problems with soft spots in the hull or any other structural defect. The fit and finish are of good quality, all fittings being bronze, anodized aluminum or stainless. It's rather heavy at about 70# plus about 20# for two drive units and two paddles, but on the water it's not a big issue. Stability is good; visibility from the aft steering position is necessarily limited directly ahead.

A previous review reporting that the kayak was unusable in shallow water may have been their unfamiliarity with the Mirage drive unit. The "sail fins" will wrap up against the hull for beaching and can be operated in shallow water by "fluttering" the fins in short strokes with one leg forward. The only limitation in this regard that I could think of is fishing in kelp beds offshore.

The tandem is very fast with both passengers pedaling. We've not really paddled it tandem, so I can't comment about that.

My wife's favorite part is that she can pedal or rest and take in the view as she pleases, and I can get my exercise, regardless.

As a solo, the bow rides a little high so wind has more effect on the tracking. I use some lead ballast in the bow and this helps significantly. Speed is about the same as the Mirage Classic; turning and maneuverability are outstanding. Solo paddling is hindered by the need to constantly adjust the rudder. There is lots of space for gear, dogs or whatever; stability is excellent.

The Mirage tandem is a high quality, durable, versatile machine that can be used for one or two. It's great fun to sit back and cruise along at a good clip. As with all Mirage kayaks, it can be a great upper and lower body workout! I recommend it highly.

Submit your own review!

11-14-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     We became intrigued with the Hobie Mirage Tandem after seeing one at a rental place last summer. After much research, we decided to purchase a slightly used 2004 model on ebay without ever having used a kayak, much less a Mirage Tandem. (We're the adventurous type.)

This kayak is everything we hoped it would be and more. It is comfortable, maneuverable, effortless to pedal, and easy to transport and portage. As bikers, we appreciate the pedal drives but find that we don't get a lot of exercise. We can pedal several miles in a few hours without ever breathing hard. In fact, we rarely have the urge to stop pedaling - it's that easy and comfortable - and you can really move without much effort.

Downsides - hard to think of one. The Mirage drives extend about a foot below the bottom so some water depth is required. If we encounter shallows, we just flip the drives up against the hull (there is a way to lock them in that position), then paddle out to deeper water. We usually take one paddle with us, since we use it only to move out of shallows or push off the beach.

The only other negative is that our toes get a little numb after a couple of hours of constant pedaling - a minor problem that you might not experience if you're under 50.

The Hobie Mirage Tandem is a flatwater fun machine, perfect for beautiful afternoons on lakes, reservoirs and deeper rivers. It is not the vessel for serious kayakers who want to paddle the rapids, but it was never intended to be that.

Submit your own review!

08-14-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     My wife and I rented a Mirage Tandem today since we are considering adding a tandem kayak. We wanted to try the Mirage 'Hydro-Sail' system due to its reputation for being fast.

The kayak can definitely move quickly when peddled hard and fast, but not without considerable effort. The hull itself seems large and slow, so it's more of a production to move than a normal kayak.

We are used to sit-in kayaks and the Hobie is a sit-on-top. We couldn't feel the connection with the water that we are accustomed to with sit-in style boats. It was more like a faster, narrower peddle boat found on city lakes. The 'Hydro Sails' also cannot be used when the water gets shallow (18"+/-). Not a problem in some areas, but shallow water is a common problem in many of the lakes, rivers and tidal areas we frequent.

Paddling the Mirage is not really a way to get anywhere. The paddles are for backing and slow, tight maneuvering. The boat just wasn't built to be paddled (the rudder is controlled by hand and it IS NEEDED).

I guess what I'm saying is that it is shaped like a kayak, but is much different in practice.

Lastly, when we put it on our truck which is equipped with the Thule 'Glide 'N Set' racks, the bottom of the hull appeared soft and deformed a lot under its own weight (hull weight only).

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers




Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.