Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Mohawk Canoes > Solo 14 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Solo 14 Canoe by Mohawk Canoes


Rated: 8.47/10 Based On: 17 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



10-18-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I love my Mohawk Solo 14 especially for it's stability & light weight. As a 1st-year canoe paddler, I found it quite stable in Class II waters. Maneuverability is not excellent but decent for this type boat (possibly the paddler is partly to blame) & since I prefer to kneel, I needed to raise the seat slightly to allow foot room. Also wish the hull & gunnel materials were heavier-duty, but that would most likely mean more boat weight. For the most part, the 39 lb. Royalite is serving me well.
Submit your own review!

08-20-2012
Submitted by: meanderleeSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is a great little solo boat. [Royalite] Super lightweight, tracks well, handles wind well, feels comfortable. Looks good. Durable. Easy to handle on portage. Royalite oilcans a bit, as noted here. This is the favorite boat among the guides at the livery where I work. I personally prefer a bigger boat, even solo. 16' & up. I like kneeling behind the yoke of a big boat. But if you want a solo boat mostly for quiet rivers, this is an excellent choice.
Submit your own review!

12-06-2009
Submitted by: Robt WhittemoreSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Having owned an old aluminum 15 ft Alumicraft canoe for years, I finally bought a 14' Solo Mohawk Royalex. I am now able to keep up with the kayaks using a double paddle which I couldn't do with the old one. It is fast, light and highly maneuverable. Great tracking. I've owned several canoes, this one is the best.
Submit your own review!

04-28-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've had the Royalite version for 6 years. The bottom oil cans some since it is so flexible, flat, and wide. This isn't all bad since it will slip over obstacles in shallow streams easier than a stiff bottom. A few years ago I decreased the beam by several inches by shortening the thwart and seat. Now it's the canoe I want; tracks better and is much faster.
Submit your own review!

01-02-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     During the past full season I found the Solo 14 to be an excellent boat for a beginner as well as for more experienced paddlers; I simply don't understand those to criticize it as being tippy, though perhaps the seat height has varied over the years. I both kneel and sit at different times; the seat is plenty high enough for my small feet to kneel comfortably. I also sometimes use a canoe paddle (love my cherry Nashwaak Cruiser), but when accompanying kayakers I often use a double which eliminates the kayak's speed advantage. It is certainly plenty stable for fishing and photography, as well as just "messing around". If anything, to me there is a bit too much initial stability at the expense of secondary stability and speed.

I use mine mostly on small and medium sized lakes as well as slow moving rivers, and have no trouble with tracking well, but appreciate its maneuverability. At 39 lbs (R-84 layup) it is a pleasure to load and unload, and is more than sturdy enough for the places I paddle. It has drawn many admiring comments from both other paddlers and bystanders; particularly those struggling with loading and unloading heavier tandem canoes. I am well pleased, and would recommend it to others without hesitation for these uses, and can't think of a better canoe for the person starting out. The Mohawk people have been helpful and a pleasure to deal with at every step.

Submit your own review!

04-12-2005
Submitted by: Chuck HaakSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have paddled my Solo 14 for about six years and I like it a whole bunch. I am a big guy at 225# but the boat serves me very well. I kneel almost all the time while paddling and always on moving water. I have used the boat for freestyle and touring on lakes and up to class 3 on rivers. I do not recommend it for class 3 and above, however. The gunnels are too low and it doesn’t turn quickly enough in must do situations. I have banged up the R84 skin pretty badly, but that was under severe use ­ rocks, trees, etc. It is a great boat for class 1 and 2 multi-day river trips. I have had it out in 30-40 mph winds and it handles as well as any other canoe I have seen. I don’t know if Mohawk still uses the purple color, but it sure was pretty before I banged it up and faded it out. If you want to see what the Mohawk Solos can to in the way of freestyle, check out the Molina freestyle video.
Submit your own review!

04-12-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this little boat in Fall '03 after falling in love with the hull upon paddling a friend's. I have the royalite version and feel this light layup is fine for my use. I use it on Ozark streams and sometimes just to play around on the farm pond. I think it would make a very good freestyle boat.

I've paddled class II on the upper Buffalo, and this is the upper limit for this boat. If you paddle this type of water frequently, you probably should opt for a boat with a deeper bow and mid section, or you will need to dump the water that will spill over the bow. Class I with only the rare to occasional class II is more this boat's forte. I feel the initial stability is good and secondary excellent. The only time I've come close to dumping this boat accidentally is when hitting a strong upstream eddyline. I've leaned this boat to the rails without a brace, just to see how good the secondary stability is. I did dump it when I took it a bit past the rail, but that was without bracing.

Speaking of braces, this boat can be ordered with foot brace, which I would recommend. I didn't order the foot brace, but am fortunate that my 6'1" frame and size 11.5 feet makes the thwart in perfect position to serve that purpose. If I was a little shorter, or had smaller feet, this wouldn't work.

Tracking is fair when paddling the flats, but this boat is more suited to rivers, than lakes. If you need a boat for long stretches of flatwater, I'd look elsewhere. I have thought of possibly adding a second thwart to reduce the flex of the boat, which you notice only when entering, exiting, or paddling very hard. This is the only reason I give this boat a 9 instead of a 10. If only they could use Wenonah's Tuffweave, it would be the perfect solo canoe for the class I to occasionally II rivers I paddle.

Submit your own review!

12-26-2004
Submitted by: Mark LetendreSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I owned my Mohawk Solo 14 for five years starting in FL Banana River. It handles great on calm waters, is perfect companion for fishing and has no trouble when there is chop. It is not as stable as the old wide bodies like the Stowe Mansfield; however, on a four day overnight this canoe was able to pack a ton, get me to the fish and keep up with a Mansfield. You do sacrifice the ability to stand easily with the narrow design, but the light weight is a plus.
Submit your own review!

03-05-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     My Solo 14 was delivered in March of 2001 and has been a beloved companion ever since. I own three other canoes which have so rarely left the stable since then that they'll be sold this spring lest they die of boredom. Most of the observations I've read in the previous reviews I would agree with , though it should be remembered that this canoe, as has been suggested, is not really a beginner's craft. If you've not yet put in your time on a 'hobby horse' and have not aquired a minimum of intermediate skills with a paddle, you should look elsewhere for your fun. For the rest of you, though, you'll be very hard pressed to find another canoe (at a comparable price) that will perform as well is this one does. The seat lowering kit is a highly recommended addition and with a simple slide-on seat back this boat becomes one of the finest fishing platforms you could ask for. I've use it on ponds, lakes, slow rivers and both Cape Cod Bay and Nantucket Sound when the seas are 2 feet or less. I've also been caught in several blows which were rather hair raising, but the little sweetheart has yet to fail me. I've been paddling for more than 35 years and have pushed, pulled and sunk both beauties and dogs ... this boat's no raving beauty, but I'll give her an A.
Submit your own review!

12-30-2003
Submitted by: TomSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have paddled a Solo 14 with the heavier Royalex skin for years and I think it's a fablulous boat. I use a double blade paddle. The boat turns on a dime, tracks well and is as fast as most canoes or kayaks. Plus it holds a ton of gear.
Submit your own review!

12-12-2003
Submitted by: Paul
Rating: 8 of 10

     I agree with most of the reviews on the solo 14, both the good and the bad. I think you get what you pay for. Bang for the buck it's a lightweight solo that is good for backwaters and freestyle paddling. It's not a Kevlar Wenonah, but better than a chopper gun cheapo. Remember, it's mainly the paddler that makes a boat shine.
Submit your own review!

05-19-2003
Submitted by: tstarSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this canoe in 2003 and have been very happy with it. The best things about this boat is it is very light at 39 lb, and the price. It is not a boat for whitewater, but handles moving water and riffles well. The R84 Royalite construction is not as durable as Royalex, but it seems very study to me. The boat is very manueverable.

Primary stability is compromised, and the boat will feel tippy, at least at first. I don't know if you can avoid this in a short, shallow-arch hull. Secondary stability is good, but it kicks in late. Suggest that anyone buying this boat buy the optional seat-height adjustment kit, which costs only $3. I dropped the seat height about an inch and it made a big difference in stability.

Submit your own review!

08-05-2002
Submitted by: Gene LindseySend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I am very disappointed with my Mohawk Solo 14. It is very tippy, tracks terrible, and came with numerous hull manufacturing flaws including wrinkles, dents, and scratches.
Submit your own review!

05-28-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have paddled the Mohawk Solo 14 three times now. 8hrs. at Julington creek off the Saint John’s river. Large open area, 15mph wind, it handled a light chop and motorboat wakes with no problem, dry ride and very stable. Also paddled a very small lake about 5hrs, 15mph wind no problem paddling into the wind. 7hrs. on the Saint Mary’s river, narrow very twisty river. Lots of lay down trees and sandbars its like running a Salomon, the Solo 14 turns on a dime ( due to 1/12” to 2” rocker). I am very satisfied with this canoe we don’t have much white water in Florida so I won’t be rock bashing much but after bashing all the lay down trees in the Saint Mary’s river the R-84 skin was barely scratched. If you plan to do a lot of class 3 and up white water you may want full Royalex but then Mohawk makes lots of WW canoes.

Mohawk can place the seat any were you want, I left mine at there normal placement thinking my fishing gear and or camping gear would trim the canoe and be in front of me where I like to have it. I did lower the seat 1” to add some closed cell foam for padding. and for $3.00 they have a plate to lower the seat even more. This placement works ok but I may move the seat forward a little or just carry more gear. You will be able to solo fish and camp with this canoe for a weekend or maybe a week if you use light gear. The Solo 14 is not the fastest or the prettiest of the three canoes I test paddled but it is fast enough for me.

Submit your own review!

01-14-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 5 of 10

     I tested the Solo14 today and did not like it. It was way too tippy for me and did not track well. The father and son that own the business say it's their favorite. However, they kneel while paddling. I can't due to bad knees and big feet. I'm also 6'2', 225#. For a smaller person or for someone who kneels while paddling it may be great, but it wasn't for me.
Submit your own review!

10-12-1999
Submitted by: Lee WilderSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The solo 14 is a solid, fun canoe for open water and streams and rivers with moderate current. This canoe is not for extreme whitewater but is a fine canoe for daytripping or overnight trips. This boat is stable, tracks well, has decent speed, and has great maneuverability. I have paddled this boat on open coastal waters and the canoe ran dry in moderate chop and tracked well in the wind. This canoe has excellent initial and secondary stability and feels solid when leaned over to the gunnel. This canoe is an excellent freestyle canoe and a boat that is a delight to paddle. This is a grat canoe to paddle just for the sake of paddling. This boat is also good for kids due to it`s small size and shallow depth.
Submit your own review!

12-07-1998
Submitted by: D PettitSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     R84 construction is very lightweight but not robust, therefore whitewater use not reccommended. Heavier paddlers will note some oil-canning in bottom. Bottom is fairly square but curves into the tumblehome nicely. Highly maneuverable, will seem somewhat wobbly when first seated, but you will get used to it. Nice affordable solo canoe.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.