Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Mohawk Canoes > Solo 13 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Solo 13 Canoe by Mohawk Canoes


Rated: 8.5/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



08-20-2007
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned a solo 13 for two years and have been pleased with it. I put in an extra thwart and have a minicell pedestal for the seat. The royalite is nice when taking on and off the truck. This boat turns nicely and does fine on class 2 and less. I also use it when I go brim fishing in the spring, just right for one person.
Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
09-24-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought the boat used for $300 for freestyle. While it is not a particularly pretty boat (with the plastic trim) and a bit wide for my purposes it is great for the money. The boat is light and roomy for a 13-foot plastic boat. It is stable and can be turned 360 degrees in its own length without too much trouble. I took the seat out to be able to move around and it seems to work fine without the extra structure. The bottom does tend to oil can, but then the boat is light and wide. The only other boat that I can find that is close is the Flashfire, which is three times the price and has that bubble on the side. I will probably get one as I get more serious with the freestyle, but the Solo 13 is a lot of bang for the buck. A rugged, light, inexpensive boat which I do not mind leaving on my car all the time, or scraping the bottom.
Submit your own review!

02-21-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Bought this little gem in Spokane, #4 in the canoe stable. This for lightness (35#) and durability. As a nature photographer I am frequently cached in gnarly places and this boat gets me to them. Rode like a cork in 2 foot swells, but I have added too much tallow and it is a bit shaky with 215# reaching around for cameras and lenses. It would be a 10 but I had to add Cliff Jacobson cutwater loops for tracking in hypershallow water. But few canoes are properly outfitted for tracking anyhow.
Submit your own review!

01-30-2002
Submitted by: BertSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have paddled my Solo 13 for two seasons now. It is a dream on small, twisty creeks. It has served well as a tripping, fishing, and light whitewater canoe.
Submit your own review!

06-19-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Mohawk Solo 13 is a very well-designed canoe. I also own two Bell Flashfires and an American Traders Twister. I'm in love with athletic boats and these really perform. I bought the Solo 13 for the river because I don't want my other boats near the rocks.
The Solo 13, too, is a real performer. It accelerates quickly and will turn on a dime. Off the river on quiet water it's delightful. It turns smartly and predictably, will side-pass elegantly, and has amazing glide for its length. When paddling it instead of my other "performance" canoes I don't feel I'm sacraficing anything. This is a good boat.
I won't comment on tracking because this is not important to me. I can paddle a canoe straight. My interest is in controlled turns.
I will comment on the manufacturer, though. The people at Mohawk are wonderful. I've toured their facilities and found them tidy and well-organized. Quality control is top-notch.
For my intended purpose the Solo 13 suits me perfectly.

Submit your own review!

10-21-1999
Submitted by: Jim Walsh
Rating: 9 of 10

     Practicing advanced quiet water maneuvers (freestyle) in the Solo 13 is rewarding. Heeling (banking) the canoe enough to free the ends for dramatic turns takes effort as the initial stability is very good. Excellent choice for silent exploration of shallow waterways & sneaking up on wildlife. Easy to lift & load. Low price boosts the rating to 9.
Submit your own review!

04-25-1999
Submitted by: David SmithSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The solo 13 is well made and priced right.I weigh 220 lbs. and had no stability problems on class I and II rivers. On lakes it is slow. But its not a tripping or touring canoe its a good "poking around" going nowhere having fun kind of a canoe.
Submit your own review!

11-06-1998
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     I tried the 13 ft solo model in royalite and found it to be easy to handle and manouverable. It is easy to portage due to it's light weight. It is not as robust as royalex if used for heavy use and depth could be a problem for heavier paddlers or if used in whitewater.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!











OS Systems:



GRUMMAN CANOES
FREE SHIPPING on all canoes until May 14
See Paddling.net for great reviews
www.canoeinglife.com

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale