Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Feelfree Kayak, USA > Try-Yak Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Try-Yak Kayak by Feelfree Kayak, USA


Rated: 9/10 Based On: 9 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



10-11-2007
Submitted by: bssjrSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     We tested a rented triyak before buying one. We have an Ocean Malibu Two and I would say that comparatively, the Triyak is much slower and heavier to paddle quite surprisingly since it is narrower and longer than the malibu. It was stable in 3 foot waves and it is heavy to carry out of the water. We did not buy the triyak. I am planning instead to get the Malibu XL.
Submit your own review!

04-04-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have paddled our TriYak a couple times tandem and also solo. The TriYak excels in performance, for paddling efficiency, stability, tracking, and turning. A real surprise. When in tandem, with a large dog mid-ship, it cruises with ease, and paddling at next to the water level makes it a real fun experience.

Solo I had a large dog and some gear up front, which kept us in trim, and it was still very efficient paddling. The supplied seats work well for back support, but the butt seat pad is small. Hence a 9, instead of a 10.

The low profile of the TriYak does not catch the wind, and makes day trips a reality and a good time experience. Highly recommended.

Submit your own review!

03-21-2007
Submitted by: DennisSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a great kayak! I have fished from it,and it is a very stable platform to land the big ones. I have also used it to SCUBA and spearfish from. I use a long air hose and leave the tanks on the deck. You can paddle from the center seat, or with gear up front, use the back seat. Three adults fit in this thing nice.
Submit your own review!

10-23-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought this boat for my wife in an effort to get the whole gang on the water. She loves it! It's great for Mom or Dad and 2 kids or 2 adults and a kid. It's is surprising nimble for its size and tracks well through the water. I could have done without the lime green but it's her favorite color...
Submit your own review!

07-07-2006
Submitted by: TJYSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a great yak. True joy out in open water. Purchased this for my husband, we took it out through Elkhorn Slough and it glided like a dream. We skimmed passed others with little effort all day. We paddled Blood Alley out in whale territory, a 14 mile paddle with 30' swells without any problems. We glided over kelp beds with ease, and skimmed passed sleeping otter without disrupting them. This is a great yak for anyone wanting a strong ocean kayak.
Submit your own review!

09-14-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     For taking the kids out or a recreational paddle by yourself this kayak is great. I have hauled kids up a river flowing about 3 miles and hour with no problem. Tracks nice and you can still turn it. I have also taken it into Morro Bay by my self and had a great time. I was able to achieve 7 mph by my GPS, but I couldn’t do it for long. The only thing it could use is a little more storage and a little more defined front and middle indentions for the seats.
Submit your own review!

09-12-2005
Submitted by: AllenSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have been really pleased with our Tri-yak. I just finished a week of fishing Lake Texoma with my family. We were able to troll with rod holders I fashioned from wooden dowel, plastic compression (plumbing fittings) and rod holders screwed to the top. My five-year-old grandson caught a two pound striper. I was able to troll for hours at a time. I paddled and they fished. We caught fish when larger boats were moving from place to place, trying to find them. The kayak becomes less stable when we put three adults and a child in one adult lap -- still less than 500 pounds. My one complaint is too little storage.
Submit your own review!

05-11-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I don't know who BradBolz is on the other review here, but all I have to say is that he must be one mammoth guy! Don't get me wrong, I like my tri-yak. It is a good yak for its intended purpose. But at 75 pounds this is one heavy yak and paddling it solo or duo can be a chore. The weight definitely affects the speed (don't be expecting to win too many races with this one ;-) ). I paddled it across a sound (about 6 miles total) with one other person and by the end of the trip both of us were wiped. I'm no slacker either (run and workout daily), in great shape. The other drawback to this kayak is storage, very little internal and if you have three people paddling, not much room on top either. Get as light a paddle as possible for this one (my Onno's at 20 oz are excellent!), it will put a strain on the ol' joints.

Having said this let me get on to the positives about the tri-yak. Stability is excellent (primary and secondary), don't know if you'll find a more stable one. Tracking is good, nothing a few corrective strokes won't fix and this thing at over 14' maneuvers (without a rudder mind you) as well as my Tarpon 120 (12 footer).

This kayak is listed as a recreational kayak and it serves that purpose very well. I can tell a marked difference paddling it with three people (even if it is my 11 and 9 year old daughters with me) over just two of us (both adults). It shines in this area. I've even fished off it solo and duo with no probs. The seats with the pockets on the back are great, wish all other kayak companies would stand up and take notice about them. They are low enough to fit below any pfd's and still offer great lower back support and comfort for your buns.

If you want something recreational/leisure for day trips with room for three, get this yak. If you are looking for something more performance oriented (more speed and storage for longer trips), I don't think this is the kayak for you (I got my new T160i for this :-D ).

Submit your own review!

10-06-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Try-Yak is a 3 person boat with a storage box in the rear. It is stable, and can haul 661 pounds. It comes with a basic backrest for each seat and has built in ropes along each side for easy holding on should you elect to fall off on purpose. I'd suggest it might be the best family boat available in today’s market. My 80 year old mother-in-law and the nieces/nephews will be capable of using this yak.

My experience is as follows. The boat was stable enough that I was able to step into it from a dock deck about 12" above the kayak. While a bratty 4 year old stated that I was going to fall in, everyone else soon stopped watching--it's that stable.

I paddled myself from the middle position and enjoyed the large smile on my face because this yak is fast enough to satisfy me. I'll be able to paddle for long periods of time at trolling speeds (4-5 mph) that interest salt water fish, and at speeds (1-2 mph) that work well for fresh water fish...well, nearly forever.

The middle seat is infinitely adjustable due to the adjustable backrest. There are 2 built in foot chocks. I think people from 4'10" to 6'8" will find a suitable fit.

I then talked the 6 year old nephew and that bratty 4 year old into a ride and was once again pleased with how well the kayak handled. The front & rear seats have multiple foot chocks in addition to the adjustability of the backrest.

I haven't raced canoes or kayaks since 1982 so it was with some apprehension that I ordered a Try-Yak. FeelFree Kayaks didn't exist when I was involved and they don't have a world class paddler like Greg Barton (Ocean Kayak) designing their yaks. Regardless, this kayak was exactly what I expected, performed like I wanted, and is as represented. If I had designed it myself, I'd be extremely pleased.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Luxury Kayaking Trips
ORCA WHALES, EAGLES
SAN JUAN ISLANDS
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.