Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Seven2 Paddle Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Seven2 Paddle


Rated: 7.17/10 Based On: 29 Reviews

Research Paddles in the Buyers' Guide!
Paddles
View Paddles in Buyers' Guide



12-24-2012
Submitted by: RobSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Seven2 vapor paddle was the best paddle ever created in design. Though production faults like blades just falling off, the design of the paddle is unmatched anywhere! I currently use either my Werner Molokai or San Juan now but wish someone would make a seven2 vapor design but make it as reliable as a Werner. The vapor design moves as much water as the Molokai but paddles as easy as uses a Werner Camano due to its small diameter design. I am 200lb plus and this paddle jets u though the water with ease and very little wind resistance.

Only draw back (which was a big one) was the reliability issue if it was ever going to break. By far I have never used a more awesome paddle but for fear of it breaking on me I sold it and currently use my San Juan and Molokai by Werner. If anyone ever makes anything like the Seven2 Vapor let me know. Though I love my paddle that I have now I would buy something designed like the Vapor in a heartbeat, as long as it was reliable as a Werner. Seven2 Vapor paddle nearly the best paddle ever designed would have changed all paddles made for serious kayak paddlers. Those of u who use a San Jaun or Molokai, the Vapor would pull u though the water just as fast with half the effort. Maybe exaggerating but hell of a lot easier than the Werner or any other paddle. You could easily paddle all day. I can't say the same for my Molokai. In a paddle dash for 1/2 mile no one will even be close however after 2 miles everyone will start passing you cause its not the easiest blade to paddle. Simply put the blade design and ease of griping the paddle and the power of the Seven2 are unmatched by any paddle ever designed. Unfortunately so was the reliability because I had two friends who broke their paddles. They use Werner's also now but would rather have a Vapor paddle anyday.

Submit your own review!

08-07-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I recently posted a favorable review of our Seven2 paddles. However, since then, my wife's paddle broke while we were kayaking. The blade fell off on one side, and it sunk before we could recover it. Fortunately, our dealer gave us full credit toward another paddle (AquaBound Stingray this time). As noted by another reviewer, Seven2 recently went out of business, so I guess you are out of luck if you have a warranty issue unless you've got good dealer support.
Submit your own review!

07-28-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Was considering a Seven2 Paddle. Visited their website and was greeted with a notice saying they had ended production and dissolved the company. Am assuming that there would be little warranty coverage. Well, the search continues...
Submit your own review!

06-20-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had my Seven2 Iso paddle for one year, so this review is not based on short-term use. I've paddled at least 50 times with it since I got the paddle, typically 5-8 miles at a time. I have no complaints whatsoever about my Iso paddle, and it still looks and works like new. It is reasonably light, easy to adjust the feathering, and easy to take apart and put back together. I just started kayaking last summer, and this is my first kayak paddle, so I don't have any basis for comparison other than the cheap paddles used at rental stores. However, I would not hesitate to buy another Seven2 paddle.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just got my new Vapor last weekend from Wear on Earth in Potsdam NY. Very friendly people. My girlfriend has an older Seven2 model and I just loved the grip so I decided to give it a try.

After acquiring my new engine, we went down to Little Tupper Lake for its first splash in the water. After a few adjustments I started to feel very good with the paddle. My kayak being full of gear, I knew right away that this paddle was for real. Very powerful in the water and slick coming out. Big difference compare to my Boreal Design Delphina which is now my back up and occasional shovel! LOL

For the price ($180USD), you cannot go wrong with this paddle.
Next : Gaspé to Percé in 5 days (about 75 km). I may get back with more feedback after that trip.

Submit your own review!

06-23-2008
Submitted by: WolvogatorSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have a Seven2 Iso 230 and a AquaBound Manta Ray. The Seven2 is about half the price and performs at least as well. I've used the Seven2 in everything from class 3 rapids on a Tennessee River to a 10 mile paddle on the Florida Intracostal and have had it for more than a year. I have none of the complaints that I read below and like it better than the Manta Ray.
Submit your own review!

06-04-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased the Vapor model by Seven2 in early March this year. I am glad I ignored most of the bad reviews about the paddles. I think Seven2 must be reading these reviews because all of the prior complaints seem to have been resolved.

First the Vapor is extremely light and padding with it is a joy. The grips are comfortable and my tendinitis is less affected by this paddle than any other I have used. I do have feathering index marks on my model. Also if the blades turn it means you don't have the clamp centered on the seam where the 2 halves of the paddle join. Mine has never lost index even when rock gardening with it down small creeks. The only issue that remains is, I do have some slight warping to the blades, but there is no effect on performance other than aesthetic and that is why I rated it a 9.

It is a great lightweight paddle, and I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another.

Submit your own review!

05-28-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I must say...I am somewhat dismayed at some of these reviews for the Seven2.
I acquired one new online about 2 months ago after admiring a friend's on an overnight kayak trip. I purchased the ISO {230cm}.

My paddling consists of lakes and class I rivers predominantly, but I have put it through it's share of rough use {pushing off, bracing, etc...} and it has performed flawlessly.

I actually was on the river last weekend, the water was up several feet higher than usual, and where I normally put in is 1/2 mile upriver from a lowhead dam. I paddled upstream a few miles, and had a decent current to fight part of the way due to the high water. There were several places I inadvertently got the paddle wedged while fighting the current, bending and twisting it numerous times. I tend to stay near the bank looking for various reptiles, which puts me entangled in the logs and branches from time to time.

There were several times my mind hearkened back to these reviews I read last week and wished I had brought my Werner Camano as my back up, which I failed to do. Well, my worries were unfounded...as I said I had cause a number of times to be concerned because I knew my paddle was being abused this day.

I originally purchased the ISO due to the fact it has the smaller shaft and the ergonomic grip {I've carpal-tunnel}...figuring it would be a back up to my Camano. Well, My Camano is a back up to my ISO!!

Submit your own review!

06-18-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I bought this paddle recently after being sweet-talked by the store clerk since they didn't sell Werners anymore, and now I am regretting the purchase and will probably return it. It's about the same price as a Skagit, (which is what I originally have used and had no problems.) It is definitely light-weight, but that's about the only pro about it. Yes, it can be set at any angle, but the locking mechanism isn't the easiest thing to use, and even when locked, it tends to rotate when I put it in the water. There is more play in it than I am comfortable with even as a beginner on flat water, and after reading other reviews, I'm just waiting for the lock and/or the grips to come off. I won't be shopping at that store or buying anything I haven't researched again.
Submit your own review!

05-30-2007
Submitted by: R.BaileySend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     Blades warped; Grips glues to close in.
Submit your own review!

05-16-2007
Submitted by: arebetSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have the Seven2 ISO (230 cm). I think I paid 120 bucks for it. I have used it 1 season on a Loon160 (30" wide) a Wilderness Epic (21.5" wide) and a 18" wide surfski. It performed well enough on all but of course isn't the best choice for a surfski. I have put a huge amount of force on the blades and it has come through it without any failures. Drawbacks -- shaft a little bit too flexible. Sometimes the ball bearing to disassemble is hard to push in (with a sharp tool such as a key it easily comes apart. I only have two blade angles to choose from. I am happy that I bought it. It serves me well. No regrets.
Submit your own review!

07-10-2006
Submitted by: ghSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Does anyone have a problem with the Seven2 becoming more and more difficult to assemble and disassemble? I agree with the rusty screw issue-come on-marine or stainless! I am using a Seven2 ISO or Vapor predecessor. Other than that, I like it it because its light weight and the grips are comfortable. Paddling on flat water.
Submit your own review!

07-07-2006
Submitted by: JimSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I got a Seven2 Vapor last week to go with my new Pungo 140. One hour on the water and it broke near one of the injection points on the right grip. Still paddled the rest of the weekend like my old C1... Took the paddle into the local store and got a replacement NQA. I took it out on the water monday and loved it. This is a great paddle for covering the water as well as finess work for fishing.
Submit your own review!

06-22-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     What a piece of junk! I acquired the Seven2 Iso when I bought a used boat. This was a new paddle with only one trip. On the first paddle session it cracked (2 lenght wise cracks)at the area where it breaks for storage. The paddles flutter really bad when I get into it and its a noisy thing. Customer service was pretty good. They said return it and they will replace it. I wont buy another. The only thing cool about the ISO are the grips and the logo.
Submit your own review!

05-08-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     This paddle might be the "paddle" for some people. I thought the grips would make me place my hands in the right places. It was windy on Saturday and it was my first time in a 14 foot boat. However I couldn't paddle straight in the wind, the paddle was noisy, and it felt like it had too much play. The list price was $214, I paid $107.00. The only thing I'm happy about is that I didn't pay $214.00 for it.
Submit your own review!

10-04-2005
Submitted by: CLSend Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     I am the proud new owner of a Manitou sport. I also purchased the Seven2 Airidium paddle. I explained to the staff where I purchased these items that I would be paddling in some small creeks, rarely in a wide open lake. Everyone felt that this would be a great paddle. I loved the unlimited feathering. I just can't get used to a 45 degree feather. 20 or 30 degrees seems so much more comfortable at this time. And this paddle offers you those options. So I take it out the first day to attempt to paddle up this small set of ripples near my brother's house. It's just one of those things we do for fun even though we can never quite make it through. Anyhow on my second attempt, paddling aggressively as you need to go upstream, I clip a good sized rock with the left blade and I watch the blade float down stream behind me. I've played in these ripples numerous times with my parents Bending Branches paddles for half the price. I've never had the blades even chip. This just snapped right off. I'll admit that I was loving this paddle up to that point. But now it is obviously suspect. The store that I purchased it at is contacting the manufacturer. We'll see how things go. Hopefully their customer service has improved since some of these reviews. I'll post the rest of the story as it continues.
Submit your own review!

07-21-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I'm gonna be extremely fair here. I have only had the paddle out once for a long day trip (about five hours of paddling). First of all I bought the Seven2 Airidium, 220cm, Size Medium. Ok, Upon opening the box, I must say that I was a little un-impressed with the tiny detail factor. My paddle, (although, it all appears to be stictly cosmetic)seems to have itsy bitsy imperfections. The Lexan blades aren't exactly shaped perfectly, and the air bubble things (on the blades) kind'of look like they were glued onto the blade. There was some kind of stuff ( a little amount)that poked out of the grips...maybe glue residue? Anyway, I would have thought that with Seven2's old reputation with paddles falling apart they might take quality control a little more seriously. Well, let's be fair. It took me a maybe five to ten minutes to get the "feel" for this paddle compared to my Werner. After I figured out the offset, (Seven2, if you guys read these reviews....maybe you sould put some effort into getting the degree markings to be at least a little accurate, and maybe you could get them to line-up correctly on either one of the paddle shafts)and got the feel for the grips, I began to seriously enjoy this paddle. I have two relativly bad shoulders and I normally hurt after a day of paddling with my Werner. No such pain with the Seven2 Airidium. Nicely done! It delivers the goods as far as being gentle on the joints goes. I did notice ( as I read in another review) that the blade and shaft combo are in fact quite audible, but who really cares about that anyway? Your paying for the technology and design, there has to be a little down-side, right? Anyway, it wasn't anything that bothered me, in fact it was quite interesting. The ferrel or shaft lock or whatever they call it held tight with a turn on the screw. I gotta agree with another reviewers comments about the stainless screw, Whaat's up with that Seven2? Attention to detail!!! Well, this paddle all in all was worth the penny. It delivers it's promises and I am happy with its' weight, power and design. I'm not too happy with the overall construction quality, and the offset adjustment markings. I'll leave more feedback after a couple of months. Oh, Seven2...I know you read this stuff...if my paddle breaks you better replace it....I went out on a limb buying thi paddle after reading so much negative stuff about your comany and it's customer service issues..Remember that customer service can make ya or break ya!!
Submit your own review!

04-26-2005
Submitted by: MGSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     Bought a Seven2 paddle in 03 and the grips have already come unglued. Called customer service and they were of no help at all! Would not recommend this paddle to anyone. Customer service is key to any company and quite frankly Seven2 fails badly. Stick to any other paddle!
Submit your own review!

01-28-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've not owned my seven2 airidium long enough to give any long-term type of review, but something I've noticed is that it is quite audible while paddling. This may be b/c of the lexan (nalgene bottle) blades. The carbon shaft seems to amplify the noise which was especially apparent when the paddle brushed against underwater plants. It’s not loud, just noticeable. Maybe this is inherent of all carbon shafted paddles- I don't know. The blade does flutter slightly under a heavy load if you don't have a good hold on it, which brings me to the grips. These things are awesome. I was a little apprehensive about not being able to relocate my hands, as on a conventional paddle, but I really didn't feel the need to; they are quite comfortable. Overall the paddle took a little getting used to but I did feel noticeably less fatigued and I felt like more of my energy was going into propelling the kayak than holding a paddle.
Submit your own review!

12-17-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Follow up to previous review. Current web site listing reflects actual 33oz weight (If you take the time to convert grams to ounces). Shortly after posting previous review I was contacted by Tad from CKS about what I felt was excessive shipping. He explained that there was a glitch in their online ordering program and I was charged the premium for a single piece paddle (length of package) charged by the shippers, (the last I checked this is still there) and refunded me the $13 charge. Rating for CKS jumps 10 of 10, just contact them if you order a two piece paddle and are charged the premium shipping or call the order in. Chad says they usually catch the error. I had ordered medium width grip, and the hang tag says it is medium width, but it is actually the wide grip. Chad from CKS said they have experienced this problem where Seven puts the wrong hang tag on a paddle, so Seven still gets a 7 for lack of care to details, I think my hands would get wet less often with the medium grip, but I hesitate to return it to CKS because it wasn't their error and I have used the paddle for nine months. Again CKS = 10 (Thanks Tad) Seven Paddles = 7.
Submit your own review!

09-16-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     All literature and hang tags list a 1 pound, 12 ounce weight (28 ounces), mine is 33 ounces, 18% heavier than advertised. Still the lightest 100 buck paddle around. Bought mine online from CKS, and they charged oversized shipping of $24, I measured and weighed shipping box and got $7.00 by FedEx Ground which they used. I feel this is a rip off and will be my last CKS purchase. Also they gave no choice on grip width, I appear to have gotten the wide grip, which puts my hand in the water when leaning for a turn. Wish I had known Gaylans locally had the paddle with narrower grip for the same price, and no shipping ripoff. Wish the feather was a few degrees more, but have tried the adjustable feather paddle and fastener always snaps open during use, no matter how much adjusting screw is tightened.
Submit your own review!

09-15-2004
Submitted by: robSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Love the new paddle!!!!! Seven2 makes kick a** paddles...all carbon...smaller diameter shaft with soft rubber hand grips that kick your wrist into a more ergonomic position (just like a crank shaft).....

The shaft is smaller because the shaft walls are thicker than a normal paddle shaft is....and since it is all carbon it has a great flex to it....when paddling at about mid thigh point during your stroke the paddle will have bent back a little but at that point the power rebounds into your stroke giving a noticeable little kick to the end of the stroke...also I have discovered the flex while bracing to give a little push back upright when needed....that does take a little getting used to though....but it is worth it....

5 degree offset-i am learning about that...i came from a 60 degree point paddle....big ol flat blades connect well with the water to help grab as much as possible....Price- not bad...less that a less equivalent werner...the airidium was only 249$.

Submit your own review!

08-23-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I got some tendonitis going a year ago, and tried a crank from Lendal to improve the problem, with mixed results. Then I tried the seven2, and the inflammation went away. I can still feel hints of it with the Lendal after a bit, but no trouble at all with the seven2 even after racing and all-day touring. The grips allow more of a first-interphalangeal/P2 grip, is the secret, I think. In any event, this makes the seven2 an 11 out of 10, for me.
Submit your own review!

08-09-2004
Submitted by: RMTSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     We bought 2 - I love mine (giving it a 10)- but the other broke today (giving it a 1) after using it for 3 months. Needless to say - it will be going back to the store.....
Submit your own review!

08-05-2004
Submitted by: BobSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought a Seven2 Iso Whitewater paddle in May, 04. I have been paddling with it every weekend since then. I love it! Great paddle. I love the handgrips. The only drawback to the paddle is if you drop it, it floats just below the surface and it is black which makes it hard to see. Two things you an do. 1. don't drop it. 2. Paint it a bright colour and put soe pipe insulation on it for added floation. Hey, they paddle is only $110. It's a great paddle for a beginner!
Submit your own review!

10-17-2003
Submitted by: MarkFSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Bought this paddle from NOC about 2 months ago. Good paddle so far. i bought the White water I series for Kayak fishing. Blades are nice size for moving water and the shaft is firm and light. Things I like about it are design, comfort grips, blade feather and lightness. Things I dont like are the small diameter of the shaft. I do a lot of one hand paddling and the shaft diameter is to thin for a good grip. A little build up with tape and padding took care of it. So far it has held up well.
Submit your own review!

08-22-2003
Submitted by: TimSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have been using this paddle for about 9 months. It has taken a hell of a beating without any major problems. I enjoy paddling with this paddle. I thought it was a great deal at $150.

The only annoyance is the paddle lock. After awhile it will not remain closed. This started happening after I had it for about 6 months. When you lock the paddle the little flip lock will popup after 20 seconds or so. Fortunately there is still enough pressure to keep the shafts locked. Still annoying though.

Submit your own review!

08-21-2003
Submitted by: tom s
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a Seven 2 paddle for sea kayaking. I love the way it flexes, grips are great. Feels like a bent shaft, and is easy on the shoulders. It has been an especially nice paddle as I am recovering from a pulled lat muscle and am (re)building muscle mass around a collar bone I broke 10 years ago. Adjustability and storage are great due to the flip-lock. The only bummer about the paddle is that the flip-lock bolt and nut are not stainless steel. Come on, this is a sea-kaying paddle. Seven 2, you could have spent an extra buck or two and used stainless!!!! As long as I put a dab of WD40 on the little bolt and nut, it seems fine. But, I think Seven 2 should use stainless, and when you do, send me some free.
Submit your own review!

08-20-2003
Submitted by: Toby OlsonSend Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     I bought the seven2 paddle last summer and have been very disappointed in the overall performance of the paddle. The blades have too much flex and got progressively worse as I used the paddle. The grips are nice but that is the only feature that is. I have used the paddle less than 20 times and the glue that holds the blade to the shaft has dissolved and they now twist and even come off! I do not recommend buying this paddle for anyone!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt