Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Perception > Sonoma 10.0 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Sonoma 10.0 Kayak by Perception


Rated: 9.1/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



10-02-2013
Submitted by: mark raine
Rating: 10 of 10

     We own 4 of these and have used them in several locations. With a spray skirt they are very stable and safe. They keep a very straight course for open water paddling. The cockpit opening makes exit and entry easy for use as a "dinghy" for our sail boat. They are very light and my wife can easily handle them. They should be equipped with additional floatation if planning extended open water or cold water activities as the foam installed will keep the kayak a float but not enough to make a reentry possible; extra floatation solves this problem.
Very durable and maintenance free

Submit your own review!

08-02-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I took advantage of an L.L. Bean Paddlefest at the beach in front of the Cheasapeake Bay Foundation Headquarters near Annapolis Maryland. I tried a number of boats, including the Sonoma 10.0 Airlite. Pretty boat and is very light and maneuverable, but I really did not like it. I found the ride a little unstable, but not worrisome, in the 1.5 foot swells coming in. I did not at all like the sharp edges of the cockpit, maybe it was missing edge covers. I paddled the boat for about 20 minutes and just could not get comfortable. The workmanship seemed a little lacking for a boat in this price range.
Submit your own review!

07-20-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     The Perception Sonoma 10 does hold a big person but that big person should have short legs or be very agile. It is a pretty boat, very easy to cartop, has a lot of advantages for the single person going out for a some time on the water. My legs are too long to easily slide down into the cockpit - another inch or two would help get the feet inside. Once inside it was impossible to properly brace my knees against the sides due to the length of my legs as I do not have fat thighs. Stability while paddling seemed fair to this inexperienced paddler but I do not plan to keep this boat. Just in case, make sure you have a bilge pump. I thought needed a light weight boat but this was the wrong choice for me and my sciatic nerve. I am glad I kept my Pungo 120, I just wish it was a Duralite.
Submit your own review!

09-20-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     First time Kayak buyer with the following criteria at time of purchase; light weight (max 35 lbs), stable, fast, and 11 ft. max. (no garage to store it in). Discovered the Sonoma 10 in Airlite and it has met all of the above and more. Of course it does not track like a 13 ft. kayak but it makes up for it in speed, responsiveness and its ability to handle even rough windy conditions as just experienced in the waters of the West Island of Montreal. The hull design is an absolute work of art and the slippery, acrylic-like surface provides the icing on the cake. For anyone with similar criteria, this product is definitely worth a "test drive".
Submit your own review!

08-31-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have recently purchased a Sonoma 10.0, and like it very much, after a backrest change. The Sonoma 10 came with a high back backrest, (13") making my exiting a bit tougher (my age has nothing to do with it, eh!). After seeing the backrest in the Sonoma 13.5 (9") made me persue in getting one. After Great service from East Mountian Sports's efforts in getting me one from the manufacturer, I now make good clean exits without dumping on shore. I am now enjoying paddling the Sonoma 10. My critiera was the 35 lbs, and length (10') enabling me to handle it and fits inside my Van. It's tracking and all around performace is fine with me. I agree with all the other positive reviews as stated. I am now in the process of selling my canoe.
Submit your own review!

08-16-2004
Submitted by: Maryland paddlerSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Recently bought Sonoma 10' in Airalite for my wife who had been paddling OT Loon 138. She was amazed at the superior speed and turning ability of the Sonoma. Doesn't track like the 4-foot longer Loon. No surprise there but much easier to turn the Sonoma. The light weight of the Airalite layup is a real plus for those who are past 50. It's well worth the extra cost, as the Airalite has great glide, giving a lot more motion for lot less effort. The Sonoma did not ship any water over the front deck in boat-wake waves up to 2 feet or more. I was surprised at this given it's short length. I haven't paddled it yet myself, as she is having too much fun with it. We haven't been on any rivers yet, but it should work well in quickwater and big water rivers.
Submit your own review!

08-04-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I had a 13.5 footer and wanted a lighter boat so I bought the Sonoma 10 and could'nt be more pleased. It handles every bit as well as the larger boat.
Submit your own review!

05-17-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Am a newbie and took my airalite Sonoma 10 out for an all day lesson at the Berkeley Marina in the SF Bay. It was nimble, tracked well, and was a pleasure to paddle, even in the chop coming back. A ten foot boat is not as fast as a longer boat. It is as great as it looks.
Submit your own review!

08-25-2003
Submitted by: KB
Rating: 10 of 10

     Got my sonoma as a birthday present in April and have had it out about 20 times this summer. I love the fact that I can cartop it so easily by myself. It handles well and has good speed. I actually tried the 13.5 and like my 10.0 much better. The nice wide cockpit makes it easy to bring along water, etc. I love this boat!
Submit your own review!

06-06-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have a Prijon touring kayak with rudder which totally spoiled me with tracking, stability and space. But I wanted something a little easier to maneuver on my own out of the water. I bought the Sonoma 10 in a weak moment and I'm so glad I did. It's light (35 lbs), stable (26.25 width), fast with great tracking and easy to paddle. I expected to tip over and have difficulty keeping it straight without a rudder. I was using it on a small lake with a light chop (windy day). With the light chop, I had some water sprayed on my legs, but I was paddling at a good clip and I think getting a little wet is fun. If you want to stay dry, I advise a skirt. When the wind died down, I had a dry ride. The seat is very comfortable with the higher back. I intended to spend around $500 on my next boat, but this was such a good value, I couldn't pass on it. In fact, I went into my local privately owned kayak store with a friend a got quite a good deal on two. So buddy up!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale