Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Mainstream Kayak > Rhumba Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Rhumba Kayak by Mainstream Kayak


Rated: 8.25/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-28-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased this at Costco as a first kayak. I used it a lot in the lakes and rivers in SE Michigan and it fared well in all kinds of conditions. The hull was quite thick (considering the cost) and it held up well with rocks & the occasional log strike. Easy to maneuver. Could have used a dry storage area, but the hull had plenty of room for dry bags.
Submit your own review!

08-01-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have been paddling a ten foot Rhumba for several years. It tracks fairly well for its length, and I have reached 4.8 MPH (Hand held GPS reading) on calm water. The group I now paddle with has mostly sea kayaks, and I work very hard to keep up when they are just cruising. On the local narrow steams I like the maneuverability, and a slight tilt to the outside of a turn allows the shape of the boat to help turn. The bottom is too flat, and the chines too hard for serious edging, however. If you go very far from shore, I suggest some extra flotation.

All in all, it does what I expect for a boat in its class. I carry a spare paddle, a single blade for threading though heavy cattails and reeds in the rear deck bungies. On the down side, the seatback seems too high,, and the foot room a little tight, although the foot rests adjust easily. I am rating it high for its class, but it is not suitable for big water.

Submit your own review!

10-28-2008
Submitted by: DLWSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My husband and I bought the two Mainstream kayaks several years ago at Costco. We love them. They are stable, low to the water, not easily affected by wind, slice through the water easily and track well. We have tried our friend's kayaks and like ours the best for stability and ease of maneuverability.
Submit your own review!

08-30-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Very nice litle boat. Extremly stable. Fast enough. Very manuevarable. Tracking is poor. Excellent for rivers, small lakes. Do not try it in open ocean: it's a challange to keep it on track with wind and waves.
Submit your own review!

08-25-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have bought fourMainstream Tropic sit-on-tops at Costco for $299 with seats and paddles. We really like them, as have many friends that we have taken to various lakes. When I saw the Rhumba at Costco this spring for $330 with paddle, seat pad and skirt, I bought one and my sisters bought a second. After four years of paddling sit-on-tops, I really enjoy the comfort of the Rhumba. I especially like the greater speed of the Rhumba over the Tropic. We took two friends who had never paddled before to a nearby lake two weeks ago. They tried the Tropics and then, after gaining some confidence, tried the Rhumba. They liked it so much they bought two Mainstream Magestics. I am very favorably impressed with the quality of Mainstream boats for inexpensive recreational kayaks.
Submit your own review!

05-10-2004
Submitted by: Jason HSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     For only $375, even without the storage hatches or the rudder, the Mainstream Rhumba is very stable, seems to be very fast or fast enough, and very reasonable unit. Two thumbs definately up. I would like to find some accessories to buy, like a rudder or such though.
Submit your own review!

04-17-2003
Submitted by: pvigSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I thought the Rhumba was too affected by the wind. My experience is limited to lake and slow moving water conditions. (lake outlets, canals) I like Mainstream kayaks. I'd give the Rhumba a 5 out of 10, but the Streak is a 10 and the Sneak is a 9.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     I was looking for recreational kayaks this spring and got the Rhumba at Costco. I found out that this is a renamed Dagger Bayou for the discount store market.

The kayak sits low on the water and is both stable and comfortable, even for a 6 footer. At Costco it comes with Harmony Estuary paddles, deck rigging, and a padded seat back. The boat is light for it's size and even without a storage hatch, you can pack gear in the stern in addition to the deck riggings. I noticed it tracked as well as or better than the Old Town Loon 138 or the Perception Swifty. A great recreational kayak.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Bicycle and Kayak along Island Shores
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/BikeKayak

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.