Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Lendal Kinetic Touring - bent shaft Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Lendal Kinetic Touring - bent shaft


Rated: 9.47/10 Based On: 15 Reviews

Lendal, North America Logo
See Products from Lendal, North America in the Buyers' Guide!
Lendal, North America in the Buyers' Guide:
  • XRANGE Touring Blades
  • XRANGE Touring Shafts



08-22-2013
Submitted by: JarrodSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Lendal North America Kinetik 700 blades with a 205cm modified crank shaft - large grip.
I am 6'4" and weigh 195lbs.
Have used this paddle multiple times in a variety of conditions (instruction, flat water and rough water). Have found the catch and release of the blade to be intuitive and easy. It has largely been used for tidal race paddling, rock hopping and surfing. I have been very happy with the performance of the paddle, the materials have stood up and the paddle is light and provides adequate stiffness.

I have used both the standard and large grip and have found the large grip to be more comfortable for my long skinny fingers.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
07-15-2012
Submitted by: Josh in MaineSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just purchased a Kinetic Touring with the 700 blades and the bent shaft. It was narrowed down to this or the Werner Ikelos. The positive reviews about this paddle relieving wrist strain are what lead me to make the KT choice. I have had surgeries on both wrists and noticed them starting to feel "aggravated" after a few long paddles. The reviews were right on. This paddle is excellent. It is quite light, and the bent handle is perfect. The blade feels solid and has good pull.

I do have one thing that bothered me and it was the padlock system. Maybe it is just me though. I put the blades on to the end of the 2 piece shaft, and tightened. The blades still felt loose. I tightened a little more, still loose. I was really nervous about over tightening and breaking something because the directions really stressed not over tightening the paddle. Well I turned it very slowly and just a hair at a time and it did tighten up completely. Maybe it was just me worrying to much about breaking a 350$ toy.

I feel like I got an excellent deal on it at 340$ and change with shipping to the door. About 100$ less than I could find the Ikelos for.

Submit your own review!

04-28-2008
Submitted by: Lee MaySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     After a year of service, I am very pleased with the paddles performance. Lots of power out in the surf and the joint system has been bomber. I did misplace the adjustment tool, now I'm off to the hardware store for a replacement.
Submit your own review!

11-05-2007
Submitted by: BarrySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've now got the glass bladed 210cm paddle. I did have the 220cm N12 but sold this, as the cranks are quite far apart and with the 220 my hands were just not in the right place, and the paddle was fairly heavy.

The 210 is perfect, hand positioned, and allows a higher cadence due to being much lighter and I can use a higher angle which I realize is my natural paddling preference.

The catch is brilliant and it's good for long days in the sea..

Submit your own review!

12-26-2006
Submitted by: Geoff MurraySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have the full carbon version and it is a fabulous paddle. I now have about 700km using this paddle to move my Rockpool Alaw Bach along. I previously used an Onno Mid Tour which was nice and light but no comparison to the Lendal in function. The Kinetic Tour has a beautiful quiet entry with strong catch and effortless exit from the water. The day after I bought it I went out and paddled 41kms at 7+kph and enjoyed every minute.

I recently reverted to the Onno for a day in the surf (with the Bach) and realised how much the Onno holds the water. It was like sticking the paddle into glue.....and just as hard to pull it out. And the Bach was great in the surf too! I have also found the the Kinetic Tour appears to contribute to a better paddling style, with shorter strokes and higher average speed.

Submit your own review!

01-02-2006
Submitted by: EricSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a follow up to my 2002 post.

I've been using a Lendal with Kinetic Touring blades and a bent shaft since about 2001, and my passion for this stick hasn't changed. As I get better, I realize how good this thing really is. It's humbling, actually, to own a paddle that is always so much better than the paddler.

Since my last post, I bought a new version in lighter materials (carbon shaft with carbon/nylon blades, 4pc), but I'd feel confident having either in my hands. In fact, when I tried to go to the full carbon blades, I found them TOO light. The heft is part of what keeps me coming back - this paddle can take a beating.

I paddle a 22" boat, am 5'8" and use a 215cm shaft. I've found the paddle handles well whether taking a leisurely tour of area creeks or navigating 5 foot seas and surf. I admit I occasionally use Mystic blades if I'm just going out for some play in the surf, but otherwise you couldn't pry this paddle from my hands. My wife uses a Werner Ikelos, but as much as I like it (and I do like it) I could never switch. The surface area of the KT is ample for rolling but not overkill for long days of paddling. And Lendal's strong indexing makes finding the proper grip a cinch even while fish gazing.

Are there light paddles out there? Sure. Are there prettier ones? Probably. But the real question is: Would I bet my life (or my trip) on anything other than my Lendal? Definitely not.

Submit your own review!

05-20-2005
Submitted by: JBim
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've paddled with the Kinetic Touring for approx. 150 hours. This is a great all around paddle. You really feel the pull with it. I have the bent shaft. It's a lot better then the straight shaft on the wrist. I just bought the Kinetic Wing and tried it on a robust high cardio 3-hour paddling. It's significantly better than the regular touring. Its smoother, has more pull and feel more efficient. You even hear a wind sound from the paddle cutting through the water. The design is just brilliant as it allows you to paddle with any style. Through my three-hour paddling I changed the entry angle continuously and the paddle feels the same. Just amazing. It's not cheap but if you are doing long rides at a good pace, this is the right tool for the job. The beauty of the 4-piece system is that you can interchange the blades with the same shaft.
Submit your own review!

04-26-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I test paddled a kayak last Fall, and while doing this, the dealer asked me to try his Lendal paddle. It was the 4 piece Carbon Bent Shaft, with the Carbon Kinetik Touring Blades. I loved the paddle, but not the boat, so I "saved-up" all winter and bought a paddle as I just described, a couple weeks ago.

I really like this paddle, and I believe it is different than other paddles I have tried. The price was high, but I feel you get what you pay for. The blades catch the water as if you had stuck them into wet cement. When I pull on the shaft to complete the stroke, the blade feels firm, with no flutter and the kayak just goes forward! :)

I had been using a good wood 2 piece paddle, and this Lendal is so light I hardly know I am lifting it. I like the 4 piece design, with their PADLOCK locking system, as it gives me the solid feel of a one piece paddle, but can be taken apart in seconds, and blades or shafts changed for whatever different purpose I might have. I can have carbon blades for touring, and cheaper plastic blades for the local creek.

I have a 22.5" wide composite touring kayak, and I am a big guy (2XL T-Shirt). I got the 215cm length, and it is working out perfect for me, as I am a high angle paddler. The regular Kinetik Touring Blade size seems great for me too. I get a good solid feel, but still can paddle the distance I like to go. I do think the smaller Kinetic Touring "S" blades would be good for a small person, or one without a lot of paddling strength. The regular blades would be great for anyone else

The only reason I am giving this paddle a "9", instead of a "10", is for one small, maybe unimportant, issue. The shafts and blades are stuffed with white foam, like a Styrofoam cup material. It is just pushed into the paddle ends and shaft ends. When you paddle, it lets a little water in. It still floats, so this is really a small issue, but for the money it cost, I would have liked to see something done a little better to keep out all water.

If you are looking for a high quality paddle, and can spend a couple extra dollars, check this one out. If mine disappeared, I would buy another without any hesitation! Happy Paddling!

Submit your own review!

07-28-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     GEE....! And 20 years ago we thought a PVC covered aluminum tube with plastic asymetric blades was SO COOL and only weighed in at 5 lbs! It was a huge improvement over our ash and mahogany ones..... I just returned to paddling after 15 years off. I looked at a raft of paddles and bought the 28 oz bent carbon shaft with Kinetic Blades. don't even know I am carrying them and talk about STIFF for bracing....
Submit your own review!

07-19-2004
Submitted by: robbSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been using this paddle as well as an Archipeligo for almost two years, having compared them to competitive paddles before and since purchase. I could not be happier. I have settled on using the Kinetic for my day-to-day use and keep the Archipeligo for times when I need more pulling power. I stepped down from 230 cm to 215 cm for both blades and would not be comfortable with a longer bent-shaft in this model. I love both and my other paddles are gathering dust. Buy them and you won't be sorry.
Submit your own review!

05-03-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     All I can say is, try it, you'll know why I am smiling so much when I put the paddle into the water. I'll never go back to straight shaft again. The blade is all it is said to be, and more, perfect all around!
Submit your own review!

02-18-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a follow up to my original post.

I've been paddling with the Kinetic Touring model for some time now, and I've had a chance to really run it through a variety of conditions. I've become accustomed to the weight, and after taking it into some Rhode Island surf I found the sturdiness very reassuring. The blade's surface area is perfect for rolling and bracing in even the nastiest froth, yet I can (and have) paddled comfortably all day with it. I've become so fond of it, I'm buying a second (4-piece Paddlok with carbon/nylon blades). I tried the Archipelago blades to compare, but the feel just fell short of what I get when I put the Kinetic Touring blade in the water.

Submit your own review!

05-09-2003
Submitted by: BodSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I spent six months paddling in Siberia with a Lendal Paddlock (4 part) system. I took two sets of carbon modified crank shafts and two sets of blades (the Archipelago and slightly larger Nordkapp) both in Carbon N12 composite. I can't praise them enough. We took a lot of gear on the trip and the paddles stood out as easily the best kit we had. The fact that they split into 4 makes them so easy to transport. The Paddlock system is excellent - over six months of continuous use we had no problems, they were rock solid when together yet came apart easily when we wanted them to. They were a joy to paddle with - the modified crank took all the strain out of the paddling.

Just as an addition, when I got home I needed a new whitewater paddle. Instead of buying a whole paddle I just got a short shaft which I use with my Nordkapp blades to give a great, reasonably light, whitewater paddle.

Submit your own review!

02-19-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned a Lendal Paddlock system for over 2 years, used the crankshaft with both the N12 Nordkapp blades and the Prepreg Carbon Kinetic Touring blades.

On the plus side, the crank shaft is great. Mine is the EG1 fiberglass shaft, and with the N12 blades it's heavy. But once I put the Kinetic Touring blades on, this paddle has become my 'bread and butter' paddle for trips, demos, and paddling in all sorts of conditions. The total weight is only about 26 oz with the prepreg carbon blades, and it provides an extremely good pull and no flutter, with plenty of lift for demos and not too much wind resistance.

On the down side, the blades will chip if treated too roughly, so I wouldn't pole vault off the bottom with 'em. They are not cheap - expect to pay a healthy price for this paddle. The paddlock kay (a small allen wrench) tends to break after a season or two.

Submit your own review!

10-07-2002
Submitted by: Eric MacauxSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've been paddling my Lendal for a bit over a year now and absolutely love it. I cannot say enough about the benefits of bent-shaft technology. I found my stroke improved after switching from a straight shaft. The blade pulls smoothly through the water with no flutter, and offers plenty of support for bracing. I use the carbon shaft with N12 nylon blades and find the paddle a bit heavy after a long day (my only complaint). Perhaps the carbon/carbon or the new prepreg carbon blades would help. Very durable - a paddle you can count on.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt