Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Old Town Canoe > Predator K140 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Predator K140 Kayak by Old Town Canoe


Rated: 9.6/10 Based On: 15 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



05-08-2013
Submitted by: rwkSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've owned my Predator for a few years now and can tell you it out performs higher dollar kayaks. As a sit in yak I have back issues and I'm totally comfortable with this. I supplied a 55lb thrust electric trolling motor for trolling and fish finder as well as my gear and tons of room. Deer season I packed the yak with a full size deer weighing 145lbs dressed out and all my hunting gear with still room to go. No issues with balance or performance and an outstanding buy. I recommend this to even the pickiest of buyers whom want nothing but the best for a sit in yak.
Submit your own review!

11-27-2010
Submitted by: RMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great kayak. Has room for my 85 pound Boxer and my 75 pound shepherd mix, along with my fishing gear. Turn easily,stable as can be, lots of storage. Added foam for dogs as well as my seat. No complaints
Submit your own review!

10-19-2009
Submitted by: Dave QSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Predator K140 is an excellent sit inside kayak. Mine was new from Saco Bound in NH (great prices and service). I typically use it for LM bass fishing quiet lakes and ponds with great success. Gets into areas inaccessible to other boats stealthily and comfortably. Initial stability good as is confidence in its stability once underway. Can be tiresome to carry in over trails with lots of gear, so a caddy/dolly is a good idea. Great camo pattern, 3 layer design, easy to add extras (compass, cleats, extra rod holders, fish finder).
Submit your own review!

07-27-2009
Submitted by: RandySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have had this kayak for a year now. I stumbled across this at Gander Mountin at dang near 50% off, so bought it merely because of the price and the camo color. I own 2 canoes and several other kayaks, and never figured I would use it. Was I wrong... this kayak is GREAT.

I have taken my 3 year old son with me on a 5 mile Brazos river trip and never had a problem with the stability. The cockpit is big, and tons of room for camping gear. I did add an adhesive Harmony seat pad, and swapped ends on the seat brackets to change the angle of the seat for leg support.

Hands down this is a great kayak. To experiment, I had another adult come up to the side and we did a transfer, with the adult climbing over in to the Predator... from another kayak, this kayak didn't even flinch...

yes it is a little cumbersome to roof load, but bottom line: it is well worth the extra grunt....
Would I buy another one? In the words of Sarah Palin... "Hell yea"

Submit your own review!

04-29-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this kayak. Most of the other reviewers say they are men, but I am a woman and have no problem hauling it around. Sure it is a bit heavy but nothing too bad for all the benefits it offers. Super wide with lots of room for all of my tackle, live bait bucket, rods, etc. Super easy to get in and out of without feeling like you will tip over. Love the rod holder and cup holder (remember I'm a girl; we love cup holders). Easy to paddle and steer. I have tried other kayaks that friends own and none of them compare to this one. I would recommend this one 110% to anyone who loves to fish, man or women. Also great when you 75 pound dog wants to come along!
Submit your own review!

09-29-2008
Submitted by: ToddSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Well first of all I bought this kayak brand new at a flea market. I know how much they are stripped this one was loaded with all the fishing and hunting extras. The guy had 595.00 0n it I said I'd come back and of course he said 550! SOLD!

Great fishing machine very stable and no problems paddling up stream to get those smallmouths up here in Maine. It's a perfect craft if you want something for a bigger guy it's very roomy and all kinds of storage. Best thing I've bought since my double 12! And also your dog will fit in it with out tipping. AWESOME!

Submit your own review!

08-05-2008
Submitted by: titoSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bough this kayak three years ago and have used pretty consistently since. I've fished out of it and used it to poke around in lakes and streams here in the midwest.

Pros:
Despite its weight (about 75 lbs), I don't have any trouble mounting or dismounting it by myself from my explorer's roof rack.
It is super stable. Large cockpit makes it really easy to get in and out of and I've never felt like there was any real danger of tipping (also, I've not used it in surf or significant current/rapids). I like it and am glad that I bought it.

Cons:
I don't think it tracks quite as well as it should for its size. I think this is because it doesn't have much of a keel and no rudder.
It also seems to get blown a bit which I suspect has to do with it being a big, wide, flat bottomed boat.
As its really wide and heavy, it can be a real strain if you have to pull into the wind for any distance.

All in all, I love mine. It's stable enough to fish out of, big enough to haul my camping/fishing gear without having to be picky about what I take and I totally trust it to get me there and back. I would caution against getting one of these if you're not the brawny type as it is a bit heavy to be tossing around and can take some strength to pull if you get into the wind. If you're built more like a bulldozer than a race car, then I think you'll like it as much as I do.

Submit your own review!

06-28-2007
Submitted by: o_ring_masterSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Got this boat this spring. Huge, stable and quite fast. Good tracking, I'm a big guy, and I feel very comfortable in it, I use it for fishing and will go duck hunting this fall. I'm very happy and would recommended it.
Submit your own review!

06-18-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just bought a new k-140 this past spring. I have used it now about 5 times and like it very much. I chose this boat primarily because of my 80 lb. lab who always goes with me. She stands right up front. Sometimes she even puts her front feet up on the deck and we cruise along just fine.
She often likes to swim for long distances. When I can tell she is tired, I can slip up right beside her and help her into the boat without having to go to the shore. I like the rear cargo net. The only thing that I didn't care for was the shotgun holder which is a piece of styrofoam velcroed to the bottom of the boat. I'll figure out another way to hold my shotgun when duck hunting. Other than that, it's everything I was looking for.

Submit your own review!

06-28-2006
Submitted by: RPSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just completed a fishing, camping trip on the south branch of the Potamac. This boat handled well, and was a stable platform for taking pictures and fishing. It did what advertised. Good choice for larger paddlers.
Submit your own review!

10-28-2005
Submitted by: NWSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased this kayak for solo waterfowling and for fishing. I have used it a couple of times. What I don't like - it is somewhat heavy, but I can deal with that as I am a big guy at 6' 2" and 270lbs. Being large framed, I fit into and get out of this kayak no problem. I purchased a Paddlecart in order to walk a couple miles into an area before I can paddle to my hunting spot. This makes life much easier.

The kayak is quite stable for me, a couple of dozen duck decoys, a few large magnum goose floating decoys and my gear in a drybag and my shotgun and my 35lb American Water Spaniel. It tracks and paddles well. I have used the kayak to sneak up on unsuspecting ducks to try and flush them (to be honest - I need a little practice doing this).

The paddle strap is great. The handles are great. The mesh zippered work deck works just fine. The rear tie down mesh was torn and was replaced by Old Town quite promptly. To tell you the truth, I would love to get another work deck for the rear. One thing I would like Old Town to do is to put some bungee tie downs on the bow and the stern of this kayak. I will put them on myself to lash down extra decoys and/or grass to camo it up a bit more.

I got this kayak on sale for $692 which I thought was a great price. I recommend this kayak for larger frame hunters looking for a hunting kayak.

Submit your own review!

11-15-2004
Submitted by: KHRSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just got my K140...great boat. Stable, quick and comes stocked with all the extras. All I needed was a paddle and a $30 gear pack to rig it to the roof. I put my 7 year old in the back and he had a ball paddling me around as I fished. Will be a good addition to the Duck hunting season. Plenty of room to get in and out. Easy to paddle and quick. I recommend a 240 size paddle due to the width of the boat. Great Job Old Town!!
Submit your own review!

09-01-2004
Submitted by: Jim FreemanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great kayak! Tremendously stable and easy to maneuver- Itís a bit heavy at 65+ lbs., but still easy to get on and off the car rack. The build quality is great, and the little touches like the foam pad to hold your coffee cup and shells really make a difference. It tracks well, and I can really get it moving in open water. I can honesty say it is also the most comfortable fishing platform as well. The seatback is high enough to give plenty of support, and I have easily fished 5+ hours in it without discomfort. Finally, a kayak for fishermen, and not a redone recreational boat! Good job Old Town!
Submit your own review!

10-03-2003
Submitted by: R.S. RandallSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     14' long, 31" wide. Very stable craft on the twin otter platform, but set up for solo. Lots of extras and all set up for fishing and hunting. This kayak truly exceeded my very high expectations and is an excellent value.
Submit your own review!

09-30-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I tried this boat out over the weekend. It is based on the Twin Otter, only modified for one person. Comes fully equipped with all the extras. Very stable, good fishing platform, good hunting platform and can easily haul a whitetale deer back to camp. I am 6'3" 295lbs. Getting in and out was a breeze. I like everything about the boat execpt it does not turn as easily as a canoe. The open cockpit makes getting to my fishing poles easy. This boat is a sportsman dream come true.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





2-6 Day Kayaking Trips
San Juan Islands
Camping & Inns
www.crystalseas.com/KayakCamp

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.